We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food on the beach...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lions Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lions Cafe
The Beach, Matala, Crete, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 21 restaurants in Matala
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Food on the beach...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Goiod basic fare on the edge of the beach. Usual menu, cooked well and wine beer etc all available at a good price. Service OK and food of a good standard. Good to have lunch there when sunbathing!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    14
    13
    4
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Poor food, awful service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We've visited this cafe as they offered lots of sea food. The crab salad had crab sticks in it for 8 euro, instead of seafood mix we got fish mix which costs 10 eur more and the waiter said that's our fault that we didn't make it clear what we want to order. Then in the bill we saw seafood mix, not fish mix, but with the higher price. And finally we heard the waiter saying "it's not my fault" for the same reason at the nearby table. They also forgot to bring another dish, but it was in the bill. Keep out of this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Windsor
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Matala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I have visited Matala a number of times and we always find ourselves drawn to the Lions Cafe. We have tried many of the restaurants in the village but have not found any that can match this one. The food is always very good and even with the extensive menu with numerous specials offered every night the chef Makis will cook you something special if you ask. the view is great and the prices very reasonable. take some time to get to know the staff they are top notch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Decent food, dubious wine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife & I had lunch here in late October after visiting Phaestos. It's right on the beach.

The food was OK, my Gyros plate was adequate. Wine was a bit funky though: we asked for a half-liter of red and got something that looked more like a rose. Dare I speculate that they were running low in the bottle and topped up with some equally-low house white? One of the few times we got less-than-good house wine in Crete.

The place was almost empty: the weather had turned and the whole town was obviously getting ready to shut down. Maybe things are better in season.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not worth the view”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We sought this cafe out due to a recommendation in a travel guide. The view of the beach and caves was great but sadly the food and service were appalling. It was lunchtime so my husband and I both ordered a salad. I had the special crab salad which consisted of crab sticks in mayonnaise, fizzy coleslaw (clearly out of date), shop bought potato salad and some tomato and cucumber. This poor offering cost 8 euros. My husband had a tuna salad that was much the same. The service was indifferent and it felt like they couldn't care whether we enjoyed our visit or not. Having read some of the other reviews I don't know whether we were unlucky with the staff and the food but based on my experience I would not recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lions Cafe also viewed

Matala, Heraklion Prefecture
Matala, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Matala, Heraklion Prefecture
Matala, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Lions Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lions Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.