We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The heart of Matala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zafiria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zafiria to your Saves list
Hotel Zafiria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Matala, Crete 70200, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Matala
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The heart of Matala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is known for it's fantastic, helpful staff. The location is great, as it's centrally located and close to the beach. Many rooms have a view of Matala beach and the caves. A full size balcony is great to complement the simple rooms. The rooms come with internal radio. Don't forget to check out the pool in the back! In the morning the friendly staff at the Zafiria put out a nice array of Greek foods for breakfast. Bread delivered the same morning from just down the road in Pitsidia, thick Greek yogurt with thyme honey. Arguably the best coffee in town too. Ask for a fresh orange juice to get your day started right, as they will squeeze it right there in front of you! There is a restaurant across the street called "Zafiria Restaurant" where they serve many tasty local Cretan dishes. We got free wine because we stayed at the hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
9
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We changed to this hotel after viewing the one we had booked.(which was not very private, and was very closed in ,with no sea view).When you go to Matala, you want to see the sea and the fabulous cliffs.We had stayed in the Zafiria before. The hotel is on the main street.Although it could do with a bit of a face lift, it's rooms are clean and spacious, with good sea facing balconies ( you need to ask for a sea view). Since our last stay, a pool and snack bar have been added. The staff are very friendly.Breakfast is a cold buffet.This hotel has the best view in Matala.We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. The top floor has smaller balconies, but you get a fabulous view and get the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiloo, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in September 2010. I loved it: it's basic but that's something I like. The beds were good, a huge balcony, great to see the sunset, which I did every day.
Breakfast is good, especially the Greek yoghurt with honey: the best. Cheese, ham, boiled eggs, it's all there. The pool was great too although a bit cold to my taste. Matala is very small and very relaxed. You can eat really well at the beach restaurants and there are some places for late night drinks. Matala used to have quite a 'hippie and drugs' reputation. That's all long gone but the place certainly has a special vibe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Zafiria for one night with our kids age 12 and 15. They have no connecting rooms but we were able to get two rooms side-by-side. We were on the floor that had the very large balconies that looked at the beach and you could climb over to get from our room to our kids. That alone made the stay here worthwhile. We had stayed at this same hotel 18 years ago and rooms and bathrooms have not changed but they have since added a pool. Rooms are basic but comfortable. The bathrooms could really use a renovation but they were functional. We did not find the staff at the front desk very helpful or friendly. For one night, this hotel was suitalbe and very economical so we would recommend it. We would also recommend the restaurant that is considered part of the hotel. We thought the food and service was very good.

Room Tip: Make sure you request the rooms with the beach view that have the large balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chittenden, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We had a great stay at the Zafiria in May. The hotel is right across the street from the beach, and very close to several great restaurants. Our room was basic, but perfectly adequate (and clean). The pool is nice, and we enjoyed stopping there after a day on the beach. Free wi-fi is available in the lobby. The continental breakfast was on the light side, but decent. We arrived in a rental car and couldn't find the small hotel lot, but were able to park our car cheaply in the very large lot across the street. Overall, we would happily recommend the Zafiria as an excellent beach hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

A basic hotel, but very clean with comfortable beds and spectacular views and lovely pool, which is a rarity in Matala. We had a corner room facing the back with a wraparound balcony that was huge. Sat out till the wee hours drinking in the views of the mountain, beach, caves and stars. Matala is a laid back place at night-quiet and totally relaxing. Can't believe we had all this, and a lovely breakfast for 40E for the two of us. Two nights was perfect. The hotel is large by Matala standards, and geared to families, yet it is very quiet, and the pool was really wonderful after time at the beach.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maynooth, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed in zafiria for two weeks and loved it. We have stayed there in the past.
It's very clean and well located. The pool is good and safe for all ages.
Nice garden area onto street, relaxing is the key in matala.
Hotel will organize taxi for you at airport €50 approx. good value.
Staff are lovely and helpful.
It can be a bit noisy when people slam doors at night or talk loudly in corridors. Small price to pay for the value you receive.
No TV in rooms. (great)

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zafiria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zafiria

Address: Matala, Crete 70200, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Matala
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Matala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Zafiria 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Zafiria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zafiria Hotel Crete
Hotel Zafiria Matala, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zafiria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.