We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gramvousa Fortress

Gramvousa Fortress
Gramvousa, Crete 73400, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Gramvousa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The way up can be quite hard if you are not fit. And the way down can be very slippery because of the rocks. But it's not that bad and it really worth because the view from there is breathtaking!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lud147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We visited here as part of a boat tour. So we did t get much time but liked what we saw. The hike up is not very hard if your reasonably fit. We did it in sandals and didn't have an issue. Do take water with you, it was almost 90 during our visit and there are no facilities at the top. Wish we had more time to explore, but still enjoyed what we did see!wonderful photo ops!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

with good shoes you can walk up on the castle and feel the magic...its worth going,although you need 30 minutes of walking...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank eva2-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Challenge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Arrived after boat trip to Balos Hot scramble up to fortress but worth it .... Don't wear flip flops and take water and your camera!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Take the time to see this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was a very impressive place. The views from the fortress are spectacular. It is quite high up and one must climb. It is a ruins but the views and just thinking about this once was made it worth seeing for me and my GF.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ed72oc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gramvousa Fortress also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 
Akrotiri, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Gramvousa Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing