We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bully Boy Owner!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Polychrono, Polichrono 63085, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Polichrono
Southend on Sea
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bully Boy Owner!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Well where to start? The hotel itself is well kept and clean (except for the pool). As usual we had read the previous reviews about the hotel and were quite pleased with what we had read. Family run hotel for families, clean, good resort etc. BUT....

Firstly the pool is too small for the number of apartments that are there. The kids called it the postage stamp. It had scum from sun cream and sweat around it and was not cleaned properly. Old Man Kostas 'cleaned' this with a broom himself every few days using some sort of cleaning mixture which he then threw into the pool.

The gym equipment was mostly in need of repair or was broken.

We arrived on Monday 12th August 2013, shown straight to our room, had the air conditioning etc. all explained. Nice touch that being included in the price. We travelled as a family of four. Our two kids soon made friends with a number of other British kids staying there. Nice bunch, usual stuff ,skylarking in the pool, no conflicts or arguments. All got on really well. Kids in pools splash right? Our 14 year old son decided to jump/dive into the pool. This caused a splash, there was no-one likely to have been hit when he did so, but he splashed water on the side of the pool. Old man Kostas - must be in his late 60's early 70's - ran from the bar area, where he presides, screaming at our son. We let it go as we thought it was to do with the fact that he deemed it to be dangerous. However, later the same evening a bunch of Italian kids including a couple of adults were skylarking amongst themselves. Bombing, splashing pushing and shoving and so on. Old Man Kostas was tidying up the pool area and just watched them. My wife also watched this for 20mins & noticed that they weren't told off at all.

The following day after a bit of a late night our son came down to the pool at about 11 a.m. Kostas immediately ran from the bar again and screamed at him, telling him not to splash water. This time we didn't let it go. I (Dad) confronted Kostas on the poolside. An argument ensued. Sarah, the Thomson rep who is really good, happened to arrive at the hotel just as this was happening. I had checked to see what time she was due, but Old Man Kostas went straight to her and it was clear to see that he was asking her to speak to me. As I wanted to make a complaint to her about him anyway, I went over. My wife had just come down to the poolside to be told that the row was on going and that Kostas had berated our son even though he had not been in the water yet. She was furious and also then became involved. The Hotel manager (possibly Christos) became involved due to the language barrier. When it was pointed out what had happened on both days, we did insinuate that Kostas did not like the English, both he and Christos suggested that we were lying yet there were a number of people who had seen both incidents which we mentioned and agreed to tell Sarah our rep.
Although Kostas realised then that he had been wrong and apologised profusely, it put a whole downer on the holiday. The other children that had been in the pool and were friends with our two, got out & they all went to play table tennis instead.Our 9 yr old daughter had to be persuaded to go in the pool afterwards as she was scared to do so for fear of being told off..

During the rest of the holiday, Kostas did tell other children to stop certain things, but never an adult, who may have been doing the same.

Ok rant over.

The resort is very small, but most of the restaurants serve good food. Cockney Café definitely a must. Because Polichrono is part of the Greek mainland the resort is easily reached by road by people from bordering Nations. Lots of Eastern Europeans now travel there and the resort seems to have lost the traditional Greek feel to it that seemed to be prevalent in previous reviews. Signs in the souvenir shops informing customers not to steal. The atmosphere was a bit intimidating to be honest.

Also didn't like the fact that cars could drive along the seafront promenade at all times regardless of how busy it was. So much so that one restaurant which had seats outside had to move guests that were eating to let a car get by.

I would not recommend this hotel to those travelling with children between the ages of 8yrs -17yrs. The staff generally were very friendly and the hotel, as mentioned is cleaned regularly, but there is no entertainment and children could become bored very easily if they don't make friends there. There is also the Kostas element.

Be wary that the Hotel and Thompson are, apparently, parting company from next year. The Hotel wants people to book it directly through them and, yes, even we were asked to come back.

The beach in Polichrono is very small and busy. There are other, far nicer, beaches in other resorts and bays that are close by.

Room Tip: We were in room 209, two bedroom apartment on 2nd floor, which did over look the pool area. Each of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
As Manager of the hotel i would like to express my opinion about this review.

the last 15 years we hade thousands of guests from uk and the majority of them say the best about the hotel and the staff.

A good relationship between customer and business CAN BE SUCCEDED only by respecting the rules.

I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding with the ''OLD KOSTAS'
but also him as also all the staff want all the customers to be satisfied.
So if anyone cause problem we observe him staight away.

For summer 2014 we will not cooperate with thomson, so we would like the customer from UK who are satisfied with the hotel to have the opportunity to come here again and again, as we believe that they are very good customers and many of them are for us more friends than customers!!

Anyway we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your holidays and we are glad to see you again..

Kind Regards,

Christos Kapoulas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    62
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
83
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for just a week in August 2013. Lovely hotel. The staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful, the rooms spotlessly clean, although basic. The hotel is in a good position, far enough from the shops etc to be quiet but not too far when walking out to the beach or for meals and drinks in the evening.
The resort itself is very quiet and therefore not very suitable for teenagers or for families with older children. We ate in a different restaurant each night of our stay and had a fantastic meal every night. We would highly recommend Nefeli (you need to try their version of Klefiko) and the Tulip restaurant which is located in a side street. We also ate in the family-run Meze restaurant on the sea front which was lovely. We visited the Cockney Café which had a wide variety or English dishes with enormous portions but really prefer to eat local cuisine when we holiday.
The drinks in the bars in Polichrono are not cheap. You are looking at around 6 euros for a spirit and mixer. However we feel that food is good value for money.
On our last evening we took a short cab ride into Hanioti. More choice of places to drink here with livelier bars and a bit more holiday atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Nice rooms with sufficient appliances and furniture. Good hotel location, allowing you to be close to the Polichrono shops and beach, while being very quite at nights for a good nights sleep. Breakfast is sufficient. Stuff is very helpful and polite. Rooms are cleaned regularly and sheets and towels are changed once every two days or so. Hotel includes a mini golf course, table tennis table, giant chessboard and swimming pool. You cannot expect more from a 3 star hotel. We will go there again.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room away from the hotel bar, to be in the most quite area. If you like pools book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the royal and were shown immediately to our room 209 which was a two bedroom apartment. It was bright, exceptionally clean and large! The facilities were basic, but the free air con was a blessing. The beds are a little hard but that's personal preference and we had no problem getting extra pillows. The cleaners are brilliant, they work hard and even mopped the floors daily. As for the staff, well they can't do enough to help.. Try a little greek and they will be happy! The pool is a good size and never too crowded around it. I went with my husband and three young teenage girls and we all agreed we would return in a flash. The town is just down a hill and the beach is wonderful. Go with an open mind and you are sure to have a brilliant holiday. Thank you everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from a great weeks holiday. Small friendly family run hotel.Staff and cleaners are all friendly. BBQ/Quiz night was good, with plenty of food. Continental breakfast was also of reasonable value also with plenty of food available. Room was a good size with plenty of storage space. Only 10 mins from the beach across the main road. This is easy to cross, as it is not that busy a road and there are lights and a crossing point. More dangerous in our opinion is the junction outside the bakers as no one seems to know which way they are going. Beach is small and very busy, need to arrive early for best spots. Most beds are free if drinks etc are bought at bar. Nefalis restaurant has a lovely garden at the back and was reasonably priced. Kapetanios was good value and nice meals. All in all we went for a quite break and it was just what we needed, would heartily recommend the Hotel Royal Kostas to anyone.

Room Tip: We had room 113 which was on ground floor only a few steps from the pool. This was great if you didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Returned yesterday from two wonderful weeks at the Royal Hotel. The hotel is so, so clean everywhere. A nice family run hotel, some people were there for their 7th stay so they have got to be doing something very right. Polychrono is a great place to eat out too, also very affordable . The beach gets very crowded so if you want to be by the sea you need to get out early. By and large we stayed by the pool as the weather was really hot so you could stay in the shade and able to get wonderful cold beers in chilled glasses. Our first week was nice and quiet but the second week was when the U.K schools were out for summer so it was busier. It would have been nice if the family that were encouraging their children to act like human rockets into the pool could have realised that the pool was / is for everyone!! I would recommend this holiday very highly, yes there is a busy road to negotiate but everything is within walking distance of the accommodation. Give it a go!!

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 312 although it is on the top floor (there are not lifts) you get lovely view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My partner and I travelled to the Royal Kostas/ Hotal Royal on the 8th July for 2 weeks. We had a lovely stay and were located in the new block after we requested it at the travel agents having heard some negatives about the old block. We were very satisfied with our room which was very spacious (we paid extra for a 1 bed apartment). The cleaners come in every day to empty bins, sweep and mop the floors and bed linen and towels were changed every 2 or 3 days.

The air conditioning is FREE! Which was a huge bonus and was quiet. The safety deposit boxes are 10euros a week however, they are not located in your room. They are located in an office and when you want to access it you need to ask a member of staff as you need their key aswell as yours to get into it. We like to check our money and get it out day by day so this wasn't ideal but better than nothing.

We walked up to the turtle lake one morning which took around 40 minutes. It is a long and tiring walk so best to leave early in the morning and wear sensible shoes if you have any. Its right behind the hotel and there are signs every now and then telling you where you need to go. Also it goes without saying to take some water with you.

Having been to many Greek islands before we were quite disappointed with the lack of tavernas. There tends to be many bars along the beach front which are mainly empty. We ate at Nefeli garden restaurant on the first nice which was nice, but was more expensive than most of the other restaurants. We were a bit reluctant to try to cockney cafe as it kind of defeats the object of being in Greece. However, we had numerous breakfasts there and ate our evening meal there a few times too. Portion sizes are VERY big, good value for money and lovely staff. A definite must if you fancy a full English breakfast! Overall we were not overly impressed at the restaurants Polichrono had to offer.

We went to the neighbouring towns Hanioti to the right and Kriopigi to the left. Neither of these towns are walking distance (in our opinion) which was disappointing. They are between 7 and 8 euros each way in a taxi. Staff at the hotel are more than happy to order a taxi for you though. We went to a Greek night in Kriopigi on a Saturday (you must ask the rep to book you a table as it gets very busy) I think the restaurant was called Akropolis. There is a set menu of 4 meals to choose from. They do plate smashing and greek dancing and is overall a fun night out.

We booked a trip with Thompson - Market and mountains. I would not recommend this trip, well at least not the market part. We were expecting a market with greek trinkets/ pretty bits and bobs etc but it was literally just fruit/meat/chicken/fish and some clothes stalls, all of which sold the same thing. It is very busy as the Greek people travel themselves to get their food. The town is not very touristy and therefore there was not much in terms of other shops/cafes to go to. The mountain part was nice, took around 2 hours from the market to get up the mountains. Once we were up there we had some nice food a greek salad, chips, bread, and a pork chop. The tour guide was very nice and informative and probably the best part of the excursion. There was also some entertainment put on (singing and dancing).

Overall we had a lovely time and would recommend this hotel, we personally couldn't fault the hotel or the staff!

Room Tip: We stayed in the new block in a 1 bed apartment with the kitchen in a separate room. We found the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Polychrono, Polichrono 63085, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Polichrono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Polichrono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like your home... and more!In a beautiful village of Chalkidiki in Polychrono, the peninsula of Kassandra, awaits a modern complex three-star hotel to offer a very relaxing and beautiful moments. The Hotel Royal - Apartments combines natural beauty, located between green hills and close to the turquoise waters of the Gulf Toroneos, with all the amenities a traveler wishes for a memorable vacation. If you wish to swim in the crystal clear turquoise sea of the region, the distance to the beach is not more than 3 minutes. If you want to stroll or shop, the village center is just 2 minutes from the hotel. The Hotel Royal - Apartments is the ideal destination for family vacations and promises to provide you with everything you have in your home and ... much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartments Royal
The Kostas Hotel Polichrono
Kostas Hotel Polichrono
Royal Hotel Polichrono, Greece - Halkidiki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.