We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday in friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Polychrono, Polichrono 63085, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday in friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We arrived at the royal and were shown immediately to our room 209 which was a two bedroom apartment. It was bright, exceptionally clean and large! The facilities were basic, but the free air con was a blessing. The beds are a little hard but that's personal preference and we had no problem getting extra pillows. The cleaners are brilliant, they work hard and even mopped the floors daily. As for the staff, well they can't do enough to help.. Try a little greek and they will be happy! The pool is a good size and never too crowded around it. I went with my husband and three young teenage girls and we all agreed we would return in a flash. The town is just down a hill and the beach is wonderful. Go with an open mind and you are sure to have a brilliant holiday. Thank you everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    63
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
64
83
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just returned from a great weeks holiday. Small friendly family run hotel.Staff and cleaners are all friendly. BBQ/Quiz night was good, with plenty of food. Continental breakfast was also of reasonable value also with plenty of food available. Room was a good size with plenty of storage space. Only 10 mins from the beach across the main road. This is easy to cross, as it is not that busy a road and there are lights and a crossing point. More dangerous in our opinion is the junction outside the bakers as no one seems to know which way they are going. Beach is small and very busy, need to arrive early for best spots. Most beds are free if drinks etc are bought at bar. Nefalis restaurant has a lovely garden at the back and was reasonably priced. Kapetanios was good value and nice meals. All in all we went for a quite break and it was just what we needed, would heartily recommend the Hotel Royal Kostas to anyone.

Room Tip: We had room 113 which was on ground floor only a few steps from the pool. This was great if you didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennal
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Returned yesterday from two wonderful weeks at the Royal Hotel. The hotel is so, so clean everywhere. A nice family run hotel, some people were there for their 7th stay so they have got to be doing something very right. Polychrono is a great place to eat out too, also very affordable . The beach gets very crowded so if you want to be by the sea you need to get out early. By and large we stayed by the pool as the weather was really hot so you could stay in the shade and able to get wonderful cold beers in chilled glasses. Our first week was nice and quiet but the second week was when the U.K schools were out for summer so it was busier. It would have been nice if the family that were encouraging their children to act like human rockets into the pool could have realised that the pool was / is for everyone!! I would recommend this holiday very highly, yes there is a busy road to negotiate but everything is within walking distance of the accommodation. Give it a go!!

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 312 although it is on the top floor (there are not lifts) you get lovely view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My partner and I travelled to the Royal Kostas/ Hotal Royal on the 8th July for 2 weeks. We had a lovely stay and were located in the new block after we requested it at the travel agents having heard some negatives about the old block. We were very satisfied with our room which was very spacious (we paid extra for a 1 bed apartment). The cleaners come in every day to empty bins, sweep and mop the floors and bed linen and towels were changed every 2 or 3 days.

The air conditioning is FREE! Which was a huge bonus and was quiet. The safety deposit boxes are 10euros a week however, they are not located in your room. They are located in an office and when you want to access it you need to ask a member of staff as you need their key aswell as yours to get into it. We like to check our money and get it out day by day so this wasn't ideal but better than nothing.

We walked up to the turtle lake one morning which took around 40 minutes. It is a long and tiring walk so best to leave early in the morning and wear sensible shoes if you have any. Its right behind the hotel and there are signs every now and then telling you where you need to go. Also it goes without saying to take some water with you.

Having been to many Greek islands before we were quite disappointed with the lack of tavernas. There tends to be many bars along the beach front which are mainly empty. We ate at Nefeli garden restaurant on the first nice which was nice, but was more expensive than most of the other restaurants. We were a bit reluctant to try to cockney cafe as it kind of defeats the object of being in Greece. However, we had numerous breakfasts there and ate our evening meal there a few times too. Portion sizes are VERY big, good value for money and lovely staff. A definite must if you fancy a full English breakfast! Overall we were not overly impressed at the restaurants Polichrono had to offer.

We went to the neighbouring towns Hanioti to the right and Kriopigi to the left. Neither of these towns are walking distance (in our opinion) which was disappointing. They are between 7 and 8 euros each way in a taxi. Staff at the hotel are more than happy to order a taxi for you though. We went to a Greek night in Kriopigi on a Saturday (you must ask the rep to book you a table as it gets very busy) I think the restaurant was called Akropolis. There is a set menu of 4 meals to choose from. They do plate smashing and greek dancing and is overall a fun night out.

We booked a trip with Thompson - Market and mountains. I would not recommend this trip, well at least not the market part. We were expecting a market with greek trinkets/ pretty bits and bobs etc but it was literally just fruit/meat/chicken/fish and some clothes stalls, all of which sold the same thing. It is very busy as the Greek people travel themselves to get their food. The town is not very touristy and therefore there was not much in terms of other shops/cafes to go to. The mountain part was nice, took around 2 hours from the market to get up the mountains. Once we were up there we had some nice food a greek salad, chips, bread, and a pork chop. The tour guide was very nice and informative and probably the best part of the excursion. There was also some entertainment put on (singing and dancing).

Overall we had a lovely time and would recommend this hotel, we personally couldn't fault the hotel or the staff!

Room Tip: We stayed in the new block in a 1 bed apartment with the kitchen in a separate room. We found the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Polichrono before as it is a lovely town with plenty of taverners offering authentic Greek food, staying for two weeks you would not be able to eat at them all. There was a lot of talk about new blocks and old blocks of the hotel and I'm sure we stayed in the old block which was absolutely fine! The cooking facilities were fine, we cooked plenty of lunches at a very low cost with veg from the veg shop (on the right as you walk down to the beach) and meat from the butchers :)
The hotel staff are very friendly throughout- cleaners included, we left some washing up in the sink and each time this was cleaned for us. As for eating, if you go up the side roads the taverners are the same quality but cheaper... Would highly recommend finding George's restaurant! The hotel itself is very good for Greece! As things are usually broken etc.
would 100% return to this resort! Thank you Royal Hotel!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was the first holiday abroad for me and my partner. The hotel was in an ideal location with mainly young families and couples. The pool area was usually quite busy, as was the beach - but we spent most of our time out and about. There was always somewhere to sit in the bar for a drink, but we didn't eat at the hotel.

The beach front is 5 minutes walk (if that) but you do have to cross a main road - there is a crossing just next to the hotel. There are plenty of lovely bars and restaurants to choose from catering from Greek classics to a Cockney Cafe if you are in need of a good full English.

There is a lot to do if you are wanting to get out and about - we took to bus to Nea Moudania and Hanioti - both lovely and worth a visit. The bus is quite cheap but never on time.

Lastly we would stay in Halkidiki again but maybe nearer to Hanioti and Pefkahori which are a little quieter. It is definitely a resort I shall be visiting again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Had two great weeks at the Royal Kostas Apartments in June. Ideal location in a quiet area just off the main road and 5 minutes walk to shops, tavernas and beach. Very well run apartments clean and basic with regular changes of towels & bed linen. Owners very friendly and more than willing to sort out any problems.
Polichrono is a lovely resort with some nice walks and good bus service to other resorts on the peninsula. We walked to the next resort of Hanioti which took us an hour & a quarter along a nice lane which ran parallel to the beach. Also a good market in Thessaloniki once a week.
We have been to Greece many times and this is one of the best apartments we have ever had.

Room Tip: Had a room on the 1st floor away from the pool area which was quieter and had the afternoon and even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Polychrono, Polichrono 63085, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Polichrono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like your home... and more!In a beautiful village of Chalkidiki in Polychrono, the peninsula of Kassandra, awaits a modern complex three-star hotel to offer a very relaxing and beautiful moments. The Hotel Royal - Apartments combines natural beauty, located between green hills and close to the turquoise waters of the Gulf Toroneos, with all the amenities a traveler wishes for a memorable vacation. If you wish to swim in the crystal clear turquoise sea of the region, the distance to the beach is not more than 3 minutes. If you want to stroll or shop, the village center is just 2 minutes from the hotel. The Hotel Royal - Apartments is the ideal destination for family vacations and promises to provide you with everything you have in your home and ... much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartments Royal
The Kostas Hotel Polichrono
Kostas Hotel Polichrono
Royal Hotel Polichrono, Greece - Halkidiki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.