We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Waldhaus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Waldhaus to your Saves list
Hotel Waldhaus
Waldweg 10, 63875 Mespelbrunn, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mespelbrunn
UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have visited the Waldhaus twice for an overnight stop while travelling through Germany. Both times the welcome was excellent, restaurant food, wine and beer all great. We 'upgraded' to rooms with balcony overlooking the garden and trout ponds, lovely. Super breakfasts, one time we were the only guests and our hostess laid out a huge 'buffet' on our own table!

Slightly off the beaten track but well worth finding.

Room Tip: The rooms on the garden side with shared balcony are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
the Netherlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spend one night at the Waldhaus Hotel. Our welcome was very ''cold''. Just a quick Gutentag, and we were given the key. No explaination of the hotel, room, restaurant. This realy cames as a cold shower. It made us not feel welcome. Sat down for a drink outside, overlooked the sign that the patio-area was selfservice (which on its own no problem), so waited a long time, even tough the chef-the-cuisine checked out the patio area, no help came, not even to say it was self-service.
The owner-couple to me looked in great need of a vacation to refresh for some basic hospitality.
Room was clean, very clean !!! Good beds. Free Wifi. Bathroom very basic, poor lightning and could a redecoration. Looked very '70's, but again also very clean. Not all was poor....and cold....and unwelcoming. During our meal the owner-couple seemed to blossem and we did forget some of the earlier dissapointments for a moment. What a meal, and how friendly it al was. What did happen? I just don't know, however we've enjoyed our diner very, very much. Good fresh food, tastefull, plentyfull. ''Ask and thou shall be given'' To end this review I would advise them to be ''at service'' at any moment and at any time when handling guests. If so this could have been a more pleasurable stay for us. Sadly it just didn't happen, and just having a good kitchen/restaurant is just not good enough to run a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Less than 40 minutes from Frankfurt and an easy find off the A3, this is where you come to relax and find serenity.

Hotel-Restaurant Waldhaus is located in the forested Spessart region of northern Bavaria, and has not been found by droves of tourists. The many small villages of half timbered houses offer where one comes to find the real Germany and the friendly German people.

The rooms were very comfortable, the food was "wunderbar", and the beer - Spessart Specht - was the best beer my wife and I have found .... in Germany or the States!

You will want to spend at least 2 nights at Hotel-Restaurant Waldhaus, but even then you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

We loved this place. Our first night in Germany after a long flight. Easy to locate off A-3 and less than an hour from Frankfurt. Very traditional German Gasthaus. Good food. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice, Clean rooms. Very cozy. Would recommend to friends. A great first impression. Oh, and did I mention that the beer was good too!
Barbara

  • Liked — Quaintness
  • Disliked — nothing... it was great
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

We were just looking for a place to spend our last night in Germany before our next-day departure from Frankfurt, and came across this listing on a web site. It looked good so we booked it. Now I wish we had booked a week there. This gasthaus is on a narrow lane on the outskirts of Mespelbrunn, a small town near Aschaffenburg, about six kilometers from the A-3 autobahn. It's in an especially beautiful and quiet location. There's a lovely brook on the property and it's surrounded by tall trees. The hosts are very friendly and the owner, Karin Christ, has been to the US many times and speaks English well. They have a restaurant and our one meal there was excellent. The house specialty is trout, which are as fresh as they can be. They're in the water when you order your meal and on your plate twenty minutes later. There was a bit of smoke in the air, as there tends to be in most German restaurants, but by next August there will be a ban on smoking in restaurants in Germany.

The room was very clean and neat, with luscious feder-deckers that just swallowed you up when you covered up with them. We had a double room that had a balcony overlooking the brook, the trees and a trout farm the owners tend. It was beautiful just hanging out on the balcony in the sun, listening to the brook, after all our harried travels through Munich and other busy places. The room had a TV, telephone and a roomy "schrank" (wardrobe) as well as a couple of padded chairs and a small table. Everything was well maintained except one outlet by the bathroom mirror which didn't work so my wife had a bit of trouble drying her hair.

The area offers lots of day hiking activities which we weren't able to take advantage of (this time) and is in the same town as the Schloss Mespelbrunn, a lovely, smallish but extremely well preserved moated castle that is well worth a visit. Tours in English are offered and we've been on a couple of them. There are many other small towns in the area which are also worth a visit, such as Wertheim, Amorsbach and Miltenberg, if you like quiet little German towns with well-preserved, half-timbered buildings, which haven't yet been discovered by hoards of camera carrying tourists.

Just about the only thing I didn't find absolutely delightful was that the main road into Mespelbrunn was about 300 yards away and at times some of the traffic sounds intruded on the peacefulness, but it is a small road, not an autobahn, so it wasn't a major issue.

The property is, I'd guess, about 50 kms from the Frankfurt airport, and we were checking our rental car back in about 45 minutes after we left the hotel, which made it a convenient place to stay despite not being in Frankfurt proper.

This property is very much out-of-the way, quiet and completely non-tourist in nature and we look forward to getting back to it for a longer stay.

  • Liked — Beautiful, peaceful location with exceptionally friendly hosts.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Waldhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Waldhaus

Address: Waldweg 10, 63875 Mespelbrunn, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Lower Franconia > Mespelbrunn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Mespelbrunn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Waldhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Waldhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.