We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de France to your Saves list
Hotel de France
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place de la Liberation, 32003 Auch, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Auch
Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I only stayed one night and that was enough. Interesting layout of the room with beams dividing the room. The property is in need of renovations and I believe these are planned at some point. Rooms are a warn and dated. However, this is one of the most accommodating hotels, with friendly and welcoming staff going beyond expectations. I believe I would return once the renovations have been made.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    46
    14
    14
    11
See reviews for
7
54
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Excellent location - right in the centre. Parking was fine
Extremely helpful and friendly staff.
Room was spotlessly clean
Ate in the Brasserie and food was pretty good - and not too pricy
Will be going back

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed one night in oct 2011 under renovation will be lovely when finished.Room clean and very large break fast good private parking for small number of cars.
Owner very nice and helpful fantastic restaurant food advice on wine and the area.
Step outside and you are in the dogs mess capital of france the whole population seems to want to pull around dogs shiting everywhere for that reason shall not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Hotel currently undergoing renovation. Our room was fairly basic and in need of updating. Hotel offered free breakfast as compensation for inconvenience of renovation works. Staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful.

Location central and very convenient for seeing the town and surrounding areas. Limited parking - in a place where parking seems to be quite difficult - but we were able to reserve ahead of time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed at this hotel because we were attending a wedding nearby. In advance of our arrival we were told that renovations were taking place at the hotel and that accordingly there would be no charge made for breakfast. This was not only a sensitive approach to clients enjoying their stay, but it also ensured that we were aware of what was going to take place at the hotel whilst we were there. The exterior and interior of the hotel are traditional. There is a great deal to do in Auch and the surrounding area. This hotel is run by three brothers and Bruno is front of house. Bruno and all the staff were very helpful and personable. Great care was taken to ensure that our visit was enjoyable. The exterior of the hotel was restored beautifully last year. The corridors are currently being renovated (and the rooms in due course) and it is being done in such a delicate and considerate manner, that the was no disturbance. Despite no charge being made for the breakfast, it was good and served in pleasant surroundings. The rooms are being renovated and ours was rather tired and the bed head needed cleaning etc. However, linen and housekeeping were immaculate bearing in mind the building works were taking place and staff must must be under strain. We did not eat in the main restaurant but in the attached brasserie which had good food and charming service. To its credit it also offers an excellent free Wi-Fi. If you wish to visit a hotel in the locality that is absolutely immaculate with no work going on, then this is not the place for you but you should go when it is completed. However, it is a credit to the hotel that despite the renovations our stay was undisturbed. We very much look forward to reviewing this hotel and revisiting it after it has been renovated. If this is what the hotel can achieve when works are going on, it will be absolutely brilliant when everything is completed. They deserve to succeed. Because the staff are so charming and our stay was so enjoyable, we would have to rate it as very good good and soon it will deserve an even higher rating.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

My wife and I took a group of 19 friends for a reunion weekend in Auch. We chose the Hotel because of its superb location. Auch is a wonderful historic city and everything is on the doorstep if the hotel.
Bruno is one of the three brothers/owners and what a star he was unmaking sure we had a memorable stay. The three brothers (Vincent, Bruno and Fabien), helped by their wives, acquired a hotel which was clearly in need of some updating and are working hard to improve the standards. The rooms are clean and comfortable and breakfast in the brasserie is excellent. Vincent (the brother who cooks) served up memorable dinner for us.
Bruno (who works at the front of house) did a fantastic job in looking after our group. What a star!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Hotel is ideally located near magnificant cathedral & is close to town centre for shopping etc. It has a variety of rooms to suit all tastes & budgets. Due to refurbishment works on upstairs corridors the management waived the cost of breakfast for our entire stay. Bruno and his hand picked staff could'nt have been more helpful to us. His generosity and friendship to our family & friends is unlikely to be ever surpassed.

Room Tip: Variety of rooms to suit all tastes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: Place de la Liberation, 32003 Auch, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Gers > Auch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Auch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De France Auch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.