We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fairy Tale Chateau” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Les Charmettes

Save Saved
You added Chateau Les Charmettes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau Les Charmettes
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Route De Duran, 32000 Auch, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Auch
Covington, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Fairy Tale Chateau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I, along with another couple, had the pleasure of spending five days at this wonderful Chateau in April. Cazou, the owner and manager, arranged for us to be picked up at no charge from Toulouse, an hour away, which is the nearest airport. Lucien, her husband picked us up at our hotel promptly and drove us to Auch. The magic began when we entered the gated drive, lined with beautiful trees and flora. It continued when we spotted the house, a pink beauty that looked like it came from Disney World. We were greeted warmly and offered us a drink and snack. There is a beautiful living room and breakfast area. The grounds are beautiful.

It just got better and better. Our room was lovely, with an adjoining glassed-in porch furnished in blue and white french settee, easy chairs, and a desk. It was larger than most hotel rooms. The room and bath were also beautifully furnished.

Cazou was available 24/7, as was Lucien. They were spot on with recommendations for sightseeing, restaurants, and anything else in the area. Cazou was born in Auch, and returned after many years in the States. Best of both worlds. She knows American customs, and French culture.

As you may have guessed, I highly recommend this experience.

Room Tip: There are four suites, including a honeymoon suite, and 3 rooms, which are also very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Proprietors Cazou and Lucien anticipate your every need in this lovingly restored chateau. Breakfast is a feast, and the decor sophisticated, eclectic, and very comfortable. You will not be disappointed

Room Tip: Price says it all, but I don't think there is a bad room. No elevator but there is help with lu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I arrived without a booking but received a fabulous welcome, unlikely to be repeated anywhere, and it just kick started our amazing adventure into Armagnac country. Cazou and Lucien - the proprietors - are unique in their warm hospitality and run a very elegant, beautiful and affordable Chateau. They go out of their way to enhance your holiday experience and are superbly situated in beautiful countryside, yet only a couple of minutes from Auch and its gastronomic and cultural delights. Breakfast is superb......as is the Armagnac (though maybe not at breakfast!) so If you fancy visiting I have no hesitation in recommending this Chateau and we can't wait to return.......

Room Tip: The Blues room on the ground floor was spacious and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vannes, Bretagne, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Château les Charmettes hosted by Cazou and Lucien is a fabulous place.
It's very well equipped, charming, excellent location, calm ...
Gers is also a fabulous place to stay few days discovering good wines, Armagnac and Foie Gras.
Cazou and Lucien are very welcoming and great people.
I highly recommend this place

Room Tip: All rooms are great, we has the DUO suite which is charming with a very nice patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The other reviews are so correct. My wife and I stayed there for two nights in October, 2012. Loved everything about it --particularly the owners Cazou and Lucien. It is a small manor house done beautifully, with excellent finishing touches in the rooms and the public spaces. Felt like living in someone's home. Breakfast was a treat and served so well. Owners are helpful and fun to chat with. Weather was too cool for the pool but summer must be fun there. Understand they serve breakfast by the pool in the summer. Easy short drive into town. We really liked Auch and the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: book early because there aren't many rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of Staying at Chateau Chamettes for 2 short night after attending my Daughter Wedding in the area.
The whole experience was out of this word. The Chateau it's self is furnished to the highest level of luxury. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners Lucien and Cazou. They were particularly kind and considerate to my Mother who was unwell during our stay. They served breakfast and other meals in our suite so that she didn't have to negotiate stairs etc. I can 100% recommend this location to anyone who wants that extra special experience. I will most certainly find another reason to return to this little gem .

Room Tip: The rooms are all individually decorated to the highest standard . Choose the one that suits your pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Château les Charmettes for a few nights while I attended wedding festivities in and around Auch. The hotel is located up a hill just on the outskirts of Auch; it's too far to walk, but an absolutely reasonable 3 minute drive up the hill.

I was immediately impressed by the welcome I received by the owner who allowed me to park my car in front of the hotel as opposed to the parking lot down the drive. I was shown to my room which was in immaculate condition. The owners have really paid attention to every detail and I immediately felt at home. The bedding was comfortable and I slept like a baby. The shower is great and the bathrooms are large. In short, the room is more than adequate.

The common areas are also very nice. The "lobby" is very tastefully decorated and the grounds are well-maintained. The pool is a nice, relaxing area in the back and it is easy to lounge around in the sun and forget about the time passing by.

The breakfast may seem overpriced at 20 euros, but the amount of food you receive and the quality of the products is well worth the money. I was stuffed by the end and really had no choice but to lounge by the pool!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau Les Charmettes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Les Charmettes

Address: 21 Route De Duran, 32000 Auch, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Gers > Auch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Auch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Les Charmettes 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chateau Les Charmettes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau Les Charmettes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.