We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joddwallgate-Just Superb! And a little bit special to us!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joddwallgate

Joddwallgate
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kerfourn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joddwallgate
Save
You added Joddwallgate to your Saves list
5 Impasse du Four, 56920 Kerfourn, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kerfourn B&B and Inns
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Joddwallgate-Just Superb! And a little bit special to us!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We recently returned from a week stay in the Shelleth. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so at home by Ian and Jane, the ultimate hosts! They truly went to such lengths to make our stay both an enjoyable and memorable one. Dinnertimes at Joddwallgate were definitely the highlight of our stay in Brittany - those Gourmet Dinners are just to die for!! and lots of really good wine which we shared with some fabulous company - a lovely couple from Yorkshire in England. There is nothing you could want or need for while here, if you are looking for a relaxing holiday like we were then Joddwallgate ticks all the boxes. We couldn't recommend this special little place highly enough. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return again next year, for us it was simply superb!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We chose this gite based on the gourmet meals on offer and were not disappointed. Superb with wine to match and presented in such a professional but homely manner. What more could one want. We stayed in Shelleth which was well equiped and very cosy, which it needed to be as the weather was cold and showery but the warm hospitality and helpfulness shown by Ian and Jane and the wonderful area of this part of Brittany more than made up for it. The breadshop was close by but the yummy cakes are only on sale on the weekend, a bar next door which was never noisy and a supermarket is 10 minutes away by car.

Chris and Judy NSW Australia

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This was our 4th consecutive visit to Joddwallgate,and once again we received a genuinely warm welcome from Ian and Jane.Their hospitality knows no bounds whether it was information on new places to visit.or just using the local shops they were always on hand to help you.We stayed in the gite Joan which was very well equipped with everything you needed for a comfortable stay.Ian and Janes 5 course meals are by now legendary and we were'nt dissapointed.The food is simply sublime.Food to die for.Ian and Jane are the perfect hosts,and we are already in the process of planning our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Many Thanks to Ian and Jane for their wonderful hospitality during our week's stay at Gite Shelleth. Thanks to Ian for his consideration of my likes and dislikes re food and for converting me to try other dishes which I have enjoyed. The village and local peope are very welcoming and the surrounding area has many places of interest to visit. We will miss our leisurely breakfasts with different types of bread from the local shop. It was also lovely to share our time outside and dinners chatting with another english couple who live not a million miles away from us at home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazarron, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We last visited Joddwallgate 10 years ago in August 2002. This was our first opportunity to return and if anything this visit was better than the last one. The food and accommodation were excellent and of course Ian and Jane were superb hosts. The only downside was the awful unseasonable weather, but that did not spoil our stay. Last time we were here we stayed in the gite 'Joan', this time we were in Shelleth. This gite had everything needed for a comfortable stay and was perfect for a couple. We most certainly will not wait 10 years before we visit Ian and Jane again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We have just spend a week with Ian and Jane in their gite 'Shelleth'. The gite itself was spotlessly clean and very well equipped and we arrived to find that Ian and Jane had even provided some basic essentials (wine, milk, juice etc) to ensure that we had what we needed.

We really liked the location of 'Shelleth'. It is situated in the centre of the village and the bakery, which provides wonderful fresh croissants and pastries each day, is a matter of yards from the gite. The village itself is located in central Brittany, making coastal locations and beautiful medieval villages and towns all within easy reach.

Whilst we were staying at Joddwallgate we were lucking enough to sample some of Ian's amazing cooking. I had exchanged emails with Ian before when I had booked our trip and discussed our food likes and dislikes. Ian had used this information to create stunning meals that catered to our individual tastes. They had even gone out of their way to provide a variety of different non alcoholic drinks for my teetotal husband, whilst I enjoyed a variety of wines.

What makes Joddwallgate so outstanding is Ian and Jane's hospitality. Nothing is too much trouble for them, and the effort they put into making sure their guests have a wonderful stay is exceptional. We will certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontivy, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Unwind and enjoy the comforts of Shelleth. We did, during September and October at Joddwallgate, brilliant... Thank you Ian and Jane for your warm welcome, your help and advice and..........your delicious meals during our stay with you. Shelleth is a very comfortable cosy gite ideal for two and Kerfourn is the perfect location to explore the beautiful countryside and coasts of Brittany.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Joddwallgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joddwallgate

Address: 5 Impasse du Four, 56920 Kerfourn, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Kerfourn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kerfourn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joddwallgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.