We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good, but.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolce la Hulpe Brussels

Save Saved
You added Dolce la Hulpe Brussels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dolce la Hulpe Brussels
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   135 Chaussee de Bruxelles, La Hulpe 1310, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in La Hulpe
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“very good, but.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our room was really nice and had this corporate, relaxing atmosphere in the whole hotel, it also feels like an extension of an Airport that you really need after a long flight. I will suggest driving, the cab fare seems to be extremely expensive and with a good sat nav. the location is easy to find and a large car park. There is nothing much for kids to do in the sorrounding areas, that's why the car will come in handy. I will give the food three star, we had the buffet for both nights(Expensive, be ready) there were a selection of foods to choice but missed the wow factor in comparison to the what the hotel other services were offering. Staffing were helpful, they start the conversation in French and convert to english as soon as the realise you can't( You get the feeling i need to learn French soon!). There were two staffs that went the extra length, one in the Spa treathment room that was extremely rude in her dealing with us and the other in the restaurant that was really nice and genuinely care and works from the heart. So i can't give 5 stars, but overall, very good... you will leave with a thinner wallet, but with a big smile on your face.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erik j, General Manager at Dolce la Hulpe Brussels, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Jide,

Thank you for sharing such detailed feedback on your stay with us.

I am really pleased to read that you had an overall very good stay in our establishment. Please know that all your comments are carefully read by our department heads who make it a point to take action when need be.

I was however struck by one point you mentioned concerning one of our Spa staff members, please do not hesitate to contact my assistant if you wish to further explain this to us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Erik Jansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    317
    75
    28
    14
See reviews for
87
427
10
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Service: first impression was not that good for a hotel of that standard since, only one receptionist was here and had to deal with the phone and 2 couples in front of us. Thus, we had to wait 10mn before being able to check-in. Besides that, the staff is very nice and helpful.

Value: normal price is 310€ / night. Check-in is from 3pm, check-out is at 12PM. Room access cards are needed to access to the swimming pool. Thus, you cannot go there after you check out (no mention of it and we did not ask), which is a pity.

Location: perfect, only 20 mn away from Brussels. Very calm environment, since the hotel is surrounded by woods

Spa: by booking a room, you can access the swimming pool, a sauna and a Turkish bath. Locker rooms are confortable and clean. However, nobody was at the spa reception, so we could not get a locker key. Moreover, no clean towels were available

Breakfast is expensive (23€), but is definitely worth the value: whatever you like eating in the morning, you will find it there...

Room Tip: We booked on booking.com, and could book a room for half price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erik j, General Manager at Dolce la Hulpe Brussels, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Will,

Thank you very much for posting your comments about your recent stay with us.

I am very happy to ready that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please rest assured that a follow-up will be made concerning the lack of towels.

Thank you once again for helping us to better meet our clients’ expectations.

Best regards,

Erik Jansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely weekend at this hotel but just hadn't realised how far out of Brussels it is. Spent 150€ on taxis in one day so spent the following days at the hotel. The spa is lovely but not really a hotel to visit with children. Would go back but with a car next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erik j, General Manager at Dolce la Hulpe Brussels, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Pandora,

Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am very happy to read that you will return to visit soon.

Regards,

Erik Jansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights for a business trip. The hotel location was a good distance & 50euro cab ride from the train station but located in a large green forest.

Staff were friendly and spoke English very well. Room was very well designed and a real pleasure to be in. Food buffet was average and very expensive at 39euros. Bar drinks also expensive but to be fair inline with the quality of the overall hotel.

Is certainly stay here again although probably not if i was paying for it!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erik j, General Manager at Dolce la Hulpe Brussels, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Nick,

Thank you very much for your precious feedback.

I’m glad to read that you find our rates in accordance with the quality we offer. We do our upmost to satisfy our clients and it is such a pleasure to hear that, in your case and that of others, we have succeeded. I wish to recommend to you that you try our Brasserie 135 during your next visit to Brussels. I trust you will find great interest in our Menu Découverte at thirty-five euros per person.

Hoping to see you again very soon.

Erik Jansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel with fantastic facilities (spa, in the grounds of a forest, small nightclub) and it is very spacious. True, it is mainly a conference centre, but for a nice weekend it would be suitable. Only issue was some of the food was a little poorly put together (lunchtime buffet mainly), but there were other options.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erik j, General Manager at Dolce la Hulpe Brussels, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is precious to us as we strive to meet our guests’ expectations. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and I truly hope to welcome you back soon again.
I am however sorry to hear that our lunch buffet did not please you.
You have mentioned our Spa, Oak Bar and forest but did you know that we have our very own, recently renovated, health trail right through the forest? I hope you will have the opportunity to try it out next time.

Kind regards,

Erik Jansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

As noted in other reviews, this hotel is in a quiet, forest setting removed from the urban center of Brussels. It is primarily a conference center, but I had business in the Walloon region and this made a great base. It is a short drive to Brussels but I would not want to fight the traffic at the peak hours.

The breakfast buffet is the same every day, but there are a lot of options. Dinner in the restaurant was not bad, a good thing since it is a fair drive to any other establishment.

The grounds are beautiful, the fitness center is pretty well equipped and the staff are great. It is a "green" hotel so the lights go out in the hallway after a few minutes and there are loads of flickering compact fluorescent bulbs around. The property is well kept but showing a bit of wear around the edges, it could use a refurbishment soon.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erik j, General Manager at Dolce la Hulpe Brussels, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Ken,

Thank you for your positive reviews. I am delighted to hear that our hotel met your expectations and served during your business trip.

We here at the Dolce La Hulpe wish to have you over again sometime soon and maybe even for a leisure break.

Erik Jansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ville D'Avray, France
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I'd like to start with the positives - large, well appointed room, quiet, in the woods. I didn't try the facilities. Food was buffet style, but edible with quite nice desserts and cheese choices. Staff was nice and efficient check in/check out.

The bad - it is really far away from everything. From Brussels Midi, it's a 40 minute, 45 Euro cab ride. In morning rush hour traffic, it took me an hour - almost missed my train!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erik j, General Manager at Dolce la Hulpe Brussels, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Kalisa,

Thank you for your sincere feedback. Your positive comments are more than welcome and I am thrilled to hear that we were able to meet your expectations.

With regards to the distance. We are indeed situated 12km from the city center/train station and are undeniably further away from the center than some hotels. However it is this very distance that permits us to deliver our guests with service and excellence whilst remaining in a green and peaceful environment.

In the future, I wish to recommend that you ask our staff for travel delays in order for you not to be caught in traffic.

Once again, thank you for your positive comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Erik Jansen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dolce la Hulpe Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolce la Hulpe Brussels

Address: 135 Chaussee de Bruxelles, La Hulpe 1310, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Walloon Brabant Province > La Hulpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in La Hulpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolce la Hulpe Brussels 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolce La Hulpe Brussels is located in the heart of the ancient Sonian forest creating a tranquil and verdant sanctuary only minutes from the Brussels City Centre and Brussels International Airport. This premier resort and conference hotel is dedicated to inspiring its business and leisure guests—especially with its indoor pool and fitness center, a lavish CINQ MONDES Spa, two superb restaurants and lounges, and a selection of 264 guest rooms and suites newly appointed with ultra-modern conveniences and sleek, contemporary decor. Featuring 4,500 m² (47,900 sq. ft) of IACC certified meeting space that includes 2 auditoriums, 35 meeting rooms and the most cutting-edge technology, Dolce La Hulpe Brussels balances work with play by offering exceptional sports, recreational and leisure opportunities onsite and in the breathtaking natural beauty of the surroundings. Every aspect of one's stay nourishes the mind, body and spirit, in the tradition of Dolce Hotels and Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Dolce la Hulpe Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolce La Hulpe Brussels Hotel La Hulpe
Dolce Hotel La Hulpe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolce la Hulpe Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.