We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has its merits” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Centre - A CLC World Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alpine Centre - A CLC World Resort to your Saves list
Alpine Centre - A CLC World Resort
Harham 46, Saalfelden am Steinernen Meer 5760, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Has its merits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

In the middle of nowhere so you need a car absolutely to get to the various many interesting places round about. A long way from an airport if you don't have a car and the transfer would cost a bomb. On a main road but we weren't aware of any great noise. The rooms we had were of reasonable size but were beginning to show their age and could do with a refurbishment. The on-site restaurant was on the dull and unadventurous side. The kitchen fittings were tired and some of the furniture quite shabby. Plus points were the really pleasant pool and the staff who were very knowledgeable and helpful – and really comfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincs
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for a week with a family group of 10 adults and 2 small children. Many thanks must go to the excellent staff on reception who made things so easy for us. In particular the three rooms we were allocated were all together which made the logistics of eating together and baby-sitting so easy. Things to remember:
1) Hire a car for ease of travelling around the area. We used EuropCar from Salzburg Airport booked via CarTrawler and had no problems at all. (For peace of mind get additional insurance to cover the excess, but do this before you leave using the MoneySavingExpert website for a much cheaper and better deal than using EuropCar's own version.)
2) Take earplugs for a better night's sleep! (The main road is quite noisy)
3) The kitchens are superbly equipped (but no potato masher!) and we found self-catering very straight-forward. There are excellent supermarkets in Saalfelden 10 minutes away.
4) We kept our 2 year old happy with a safe grassy area outside complete with a slide and see-saws. Also there is a nice inside playroom with a selection of toys (Though why does everything in this corridor smell smoky?)
5) Wifi reception is patchy but "Hunt the signal" is a great game to play.
6) The meal we had in the restaurant was nicely cooked and excellent value.
7) The fold-down beds are comfortable and easy to clear away.
8) Getting to the skiing at Kaprun takes about 25 minutes.
9) The area around the hotel is becoming more developed and is not exactly pretty. However, lift your eyes up a little to the mountains and the views are breathtaking!
All in all everything was exactly what we wanted and we all had a thoroughly enjoyable time.
Many thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing South. It's lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Alpine Centre - A CLC World Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am glad that you were happy with your accommodation and that it suited your party and it was good to see that you had an enjoyable time. I have passed on your kind remarks about the reception team. We do our best to make our guests feel very welcome and to help in whatever way we can and it is always nice when their efforts are recognised!
Resort Manager, Alpine Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed for the whole of Easter week in this breathtaking place and had the most unforgettable experience ever. Drove all the way from England with my 8-year old son and my partner and we just can't believe how beautiful the town is.

The view from our front room is to die for and since we were lucky to have two balconies in one of the corner rooms (top tip : ask for Room 226), the experience made it more amazing with the type of accommodation we had.

Staff? Excellent. Location? Breath-taking. Quality? What you expect from Club La Costa.

Highly recommended and will definitely be back for more years to come.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Essex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We returned to Zell am See this year after having gone to Bad Gastein last year. And we were so pleased to be back! Although the rooms do need some updating, the staff make up for it. The girls on reception couldn't be more helpful, even bringing us ice and a chopping board when we arrived and needed them. We ate in the restaurant one night and had the meat cook-it-yourself meal which at €18 each was real value for money and Levu, the restaurant manager couldn't have been nicer and seemed to be happy to keep company with my son and his friend, whilst they drank too much most nights! If you want luxury, then Alpine Centre isn't for you but if you go for skiing (or I suppose walking in the summer) then this hotel provides good, clean, basic accommodation with lost of facilities and, for us being Club la Costa members, an annual way to spend our points. And the skiing for us olden's was just great.

Room Tip: 219 is on the top floor, at the end of the building. Sunsets over the mountains are beautiful and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Alpine Centre - A CLC World Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was delighted to see that you were pleased to be back at the resort and enjoyed your time with us. it is always helpful to get feedback from our guests and good to hear that we are meeting the expectations of our members. Thank you for your kind comments about the staff and I was pleased to see that your son and his friend had a good time! We look forward to welcoming you back.
Resort Manager, Alpine Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is the second Club La Costa property I have stayed at and although it is a lot smaller than some others the one constant is the fantastic clean, well appointed rooms and the helpful staff who can never to too much for you.

The rooms have everything you could need, and the shower is hot and powerful. A lovely clean swimming pool and sauna, games room and gym are also on site for use as well as a laundry room.

We used their ski shuttle service each morning and evening - perfect door to door service. You could get the public bus which is cheaper but this is much more convenient. The taxi drivers are really friendly.

There is a ski shop on site where you can hire equipment and book lessons; it's only open for 30 minutes in the evening most days but we were back from the slopes by then each day so worked fine for us.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere with no shops nearby so you would need to get a bus or taxi (about 15 euros) to get food if you want to cook yourself. Lots of guests had hired a car whilst we were there so a good option if you don't mind driving in other countries. We wanted a quiet relaxing holiday after days on the slopes so it suited u perfectly; if you want some night life though be prepared to fork out for cabs each day, or stay somewhere else in town!

There are two supermarkets near the Areitbahn cable car at Schüttdorf so we grabbed some food here after skiing one day before we got the Club La Costa taxi bus back. As mentioned by other reviewers the hotel restaurant is closed on Weds so you do need to be prepared for this! On arrival you are provided with eggs, jam, butter, bread, milk and orange juice so you won't starve if you can't get to the shop for a day.

We went half board and although the food was mostly good it wasn't fantastic so try it out for a day maybe before you commit to a week of it! All in all though after a full day skiing we didn't want to cook for ourself (have enough of that at home!) so it was nice to go to the restaurant to have our meals.

Overall, I love staying at Club La Costa and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLCWorld, Guest Relations Manager at Alpine Centre - A CLC World Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We believe that a warm welcome is important and I have passed on your kind comments to our hard-working staff. Our restaurant team aims to provide good food often drawing on traditional Austrian recipes and the chefs are very willing to accommodate any special requests whenever it is possible. Your feedback is very important to us to help us maintain our standards and services and I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Resort Manager, Alpine Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for a week, it wasn't bad but it wasn't great. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was closed for 2 days during the week so you had to either cook or find somewhere else to eat. The menu wasn't great for fish eaters or vegetarians, not a lot of variety. Staff recommended a great restaurant not too far away!!! The gym equipment was very dated, no cross trainer. The apartment had a kitchen area which we were told to keep the extractor fan on whenever we were cooking as the smoke detector was very sensitive - who puts a smoke detector over the cooker? The bed was really low, it was more like a mattress on the floor and not comfortable at all. The views of the mountains were great!!! The hotel was centrally located for site seeing but we found that a car is very useful when staying there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFORD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Have been here before and the resort never fails to please. The rooms are clean, well equipped and the staff on reception are always friendly and helpful. The restaurant is wonderful and always manages to provide food to meet dietary requirements, although it is a pity it is now closed on wednesday and Thursday evenings. The pool is warm and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpine Centre - A CLC World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Centre - A CLC World Resort

Address: Harham 46, Saalfelden am Steinernen Meer 5760, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Saalfelden am Steinernen Meer
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saalfelden am Steinernen Meer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alpine Centre - A CLC World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club La Costa Alpine Centre Hotel Saalfelden Am Steinernen Meer
Alpine Centre - A CLC World Resort Austria/Saalfelden Am Steinernen Meer

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Centre - A CLC World Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.