We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surf and relax!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbor Reef Surf Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbor Reef Surf Resort
Save
You added Harbor Reef Surf Resort to your Saves list
Del Hotel Cafe De Paris 400 Suroeste y 150 al Este, Nosara, Costa Rica (Formerly Harbor Reef Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off LOW SEASON rates!
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manhasset, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Surf and relax!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We always have a great time when we stay at Harbor Reef. Walk down a jungle trail to get to the beach, so close you can go back to your room to get anything you forgot (I've done that several times)! Nice property with lots of jungle foliage and 2 pools. The restaurant/bar is a focal point for the "south end" of Playa Giones, has great food and is fun with live music from local and international performers several times a week (until 9pm). Quiet at night (not near any loud bars/music), all you hear are the waves breaking in the distance which makes for a peaceful relaxing night to rest up and surf more! If you want to surf and enjoy a peaceful relaxing vacation, stay here!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor-Reef-Lodge, Manager at Harbor Reef Surf Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your nice review. We are very happy you enjoy Harbor Reef as much as we do! We look forward to seeing you back in the near future. We are dedicated to making your experience the best possible! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    62
    9
    2
    8
See reviews for
64
44
30
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I use ¨complete relaxation¨ as my title because, well, I-we were able to relax. For me, this happens when all issues are addressed, or taken care of behind the scene. The staff at Harbor Reef Lodge are exceptional, friendly, sincere, caring and reliable. Nothing was a job for them, every was ¨a pleasure¨. Great place, wonderful location, clean, fun and friendly and priced perfectly!

Great experience! For the second year in a row and it keeps getting better!

Room Tip: The big one with the balcony.... sooooo worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor-Reef-Lodge, Manager at Harbor Reef Surf Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are delighted to hear you had a great time here at Harbor Reef two years in a row! We are under new ownership and management as of November 1st and we are dedicated to making your experience even better as we await your return! We hope you come visit us again very soon. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at the harbor reef for four nights. The location is great, especially if you don't have a vehicle. The location is close to the beach and coconut harry's for surf lessons/rentals etc. I read on trip advisor that other people had issues with break-ins to the rooms. The rooms do not have safes, but you can leave valuables at the front desk. its just an annoyance to take things back and forth. I may have been a little overly cautious on not leaving anything valuable in the room while we were away, but would have regretted it if our ipad etc stolen. I think it would have been better to get a second floor for that reason. We enjoyed the patio, but were ready to leave due to the security issues and uncomfortable mattresses.

The restaurant is overpriced and the service is horrible. Try waiting an hour after you order for the waiter tells you they are out of chicken then another 1.5 hours for your food to come that's not cooked. We ended up going to Beach Dog for the rest of the time in Nosara. Beach Dog is delicious and way better priced. We also went to Casa Tucan which has a little younger crowd than the Reef Restaurant (older men reminiscing about waves in the 70's, what?) I think people staying at the hotel are supposed to get a 20% discount. But the restaurant didn't tell us until we checked out after we paid a couple tabs as we went.

Room Tip: ask for a second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor-Reef-Lodge, Manager at Harbor Reef Surf Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are sorry to hear your stay at Harbor Reef was not up to par. As of November 1st, 2012 we are now under new ownership and new management. We are dedicated to making your experience better. We have installed safes in all of our suites and are in the process of installing safes in the rest of our jr. rooms. We have also brand new mattresses for all of our 22 rooms and they should be installed very shortly.

We are also sorry to hear you did not have a good experience in our restaurant. We also now have new management and a new menu that we will be launching for coming season.

We would love it you decided to give us another try and we would be happy give you 15% off your next stay at the Harbor Reef Surf Resort. We still have the same great location but will a lot more hospitality! Hope to see you again soon. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

In comparison to the other hotels in Nosara, just looking by photos since it was my first time in Nosara, Harbor Reef has everything you're looking for. It's super conveniently located to the beach! This is critical...you can walk to and from the beach in less than five minutes. It's right near Coconut Harry's, where you can rent all your surfing gear. Plus it's close to all the shops and cafes, you don't have too walk far to get to anywhere you need. The staff is so helpful and really friendly!! I felt very safe and happy at this place...there's a few hammocks and a pool surrounded by super lush greenery. It's a tropical get-away. Truth be told, the rooms need an update though--the beds are not that comfy and there are no amenity kits with the standard shower cap, shampoo and conditioner, etc. I think most places are like this-- very bare bones but clean. Overall, those things aren't as important as how SAFE and conveniently located this hotel is, you're never in your room anyways. I will only stay at this hotel in Nosara, no doubt. And be aware, those little monkeys in the trees will wake you up, no need for an alarm!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor-Reef-Lodge, Manager at Harbor Reef Surf Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for the nice review and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay here at Harbor Reef! As of November 1st we are under new ownership and new management and we are dedicated to making your stay here at Harbor Reef even more comfortable. We have ordered new mattresses for all of our 22 rooms and now have safes in all of our suites and have ordered safes for our remaining jr. rooms. We hope to see you again in the near future and we look forward to serving you! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Stayed at the Harbor Reef for a week in mid January, can't complain about the weather nor the surf, all amazing and so close, only thing had a few charges on my card I have no idea about and my credit card checked it out and they were removed, interesting?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor-Reef-Lodge, Manager at Harbor Reef Surf Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Hi and thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful location here in Nosara and super close proximity to Playa Guiones! We apologize for any mistake we have made with your bill. As of November 1st, 2012 we are now under new ownership and new management and we are dedicated to improving your experience here at the all new Harbor Reef Surf Resort. We would like to offer you a 15% discount on your next booking with us. We hope to see you again in the near future! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Our room was robbed . At first service and attention to the matter was indifferent and not accommodating. We then spoke to a nice Tica girl who works there and took care of the matter professionally. I would like to suggest the hotel to add iron guards to the window and let the guests know that you do have a safe to hold anything of value and also let them know about theft issues. Honesty brings customers back.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the second floor.... less risky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor-Reef-Lodge, Manager at Harbor Reef Surf Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are very sorry to hear you had this experience while staying with us. As of November 1st, 2012 we are now under new ownership and new management. We have recently installed safes in all of our suites and are in the process of installing safes in our jr. rooms as well. Further we are installing new mattresses in all of our 22 rooms. Our goal here at the new Harbor Reef Surf Resort is to make our guests feel welcome. We would like to offer you 15% off if you would like to return. Sorry for your inconvenience and we hope to see you again very soon! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

stayed here july 2011 for 10 days with my good friend and we loved it. we got a 2 bedroom little bungalow and it was the perfect price ($45 each/night) given its location (1 min walk to the beach and 4 min to the "center" of nosara) and cleanliness. the staff is amazing - bianca and her sister tiffany at the front desk are super friendly (and very hot) and wound up going out with us the entire time and took us to local parties. there is also an incredible massage therapist on site to stretch you out after hours of surfing. oh and did i mention the surf break? 10+ foot faces every day on a pristine beach. ugh, day dreaming right now about it!

Room Tip: the one bedroom is very tiny and we couldnt deal with sharing that space and cot-like bed with each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor-Reef-Lodge, Manager at Harbor Reef Surf Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for your great review! We are delighted you had a great time here at Harbor Reef. We are currently making even further improvements under new ownership and new management as of November 1st, 2012. We hope to see you again in the near future at the all new Harbor Reef Surf Resort! Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbor Reef Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Reef Surf Resort

Address: Del Hotel Cafe De Paris 400 Suroeste y 150 al Este, Nosara, Costa Rica (Formerly Harbor Reef Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nosara
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 22 room hotel nestled in the jungle by the sea. Our rooms are surrounded by lush gardens and offer a tranquil setting for our guests to relax after a fun day surfing and exploring the beautiful area of Nosara. Our restaurant offers a swim up pool bar, great music, delicious food and cold cervezas. It's a great place to kick back in the evenings and mingle with our friendly and hospitable staff. Paradise awaits you. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harbor Reef Hotel Nosara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbor Reef Surf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.