We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of paradise in Playa Guiones!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilded Iguana Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gilded Iguana Hotel
Save
You added Gilded Iguana Hotel to your Saves list
Playa Guiones, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Nosara
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise in Playa Guiones!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Gilded Iguana is an adorable little hotel, and we thoroughly enjoyed the 3 nights we stayed there. It looks even better in person than it does on the website! Our room was cozy, clean, and perfect for us. It was such a friendly atmosphere - Joellen and her staff really seem to do their best to make everyone feel at home. Matt and Nick were especially helpful. The location can't be beat - it's a very short walk to a beautiful beach. The restaurant's food was tasty and fairly priced, especially considering its remote location. The hammocks in the backyard are a nice touch, and the little waterfall in the pool is also nice. You can rent bikes for $10 next door to the hotel for 24 hours. Don't miss the live music on Tuesdays and Fridays - when we were there on a Tuesday night, it was so much fun! Keep up the good work, Gilded Iguana!

Room Tip: Air conditioning came in handy! Choose one with a/c if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    28
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
41
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in an AC room It was nice no problems really aside from our fridge being unplugged while we were gone for the day.. but they do try to conserve as much energy here as possible eco friendly aka.. turn off your fan, ac, and lights when you leave or the room service will while youre gone.. They have night time security guards and the grounds were well kept. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My fiancee and I stayed at the Gilded Iguana for one night. The rooms were decent, and our room had AC. There's a pool and a smoothie bar at the hotel, as well as a restaurant. There's live music there twice per week (Tues and Fri, I think); we weren't there for the live music, but I imagine that it would be quite noisy. The food at the bar is very Americanized (hamburgers, french fries, etc.), and the service wasn't that great (tried in both English and Spanish; didn't really seem to matter). When the food finally came, it wasn't very good. There are a lot of better places in Nosara/Guiones to stay. Check out Kaya Sol right across the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GildedIguanaNosara, Owner at Gilded Iguana Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate everyone's opinions and can only improve ourselves if we listen to what people have to say. I'm finding it difficult though to understand the rating you gave us given your comments. You describe the amenities we offer, and make a speculative comment on our music nights that you were not here for, but the only actual criticism of anything seems to be our restaurant service and food. Our menu is carefully structured to meet the satisfaction of both visitors to Nosara and locals alike. It is changed frequently when items fail to meet standards, but most everyone compliments us on the variety we offer. As we are a restaurant in a resort town that caters to locals as well as tourists from around the world, we offer a variety of dishes. Some of what we have is considered "local" as well as Asian dishes, pastas, Mexican, vegetarian and gluten free dishes. I'd have to disagree that offering a hamburger makes the menu "Americanized", there's a restaurant just down the road that only offers burgers, and is Costa Rican owned. I'm surprised you had difficulty communicating with the staff, being bilingual is a requisite for employment, so it seems odd that they would not understand you, I'm sorry you had less than a great experience here, we'll try to improve on that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The Iguana is at the center of all the 'action' in Nosara. I go with a group of 6 friends and we rent one of the suites above the bar/restaurant. It's a great value, I believe for a week we each end up paying $50-75 each in the fall season. The food is what you'd expect, and everything is fresh and delivered with a smile.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This is a very cool a nice hotel/restaurang 5 minutes by foot from the surf beach in Playa Guiones. We stayed here with twi Children (8 and 11 yrs) and they loved both the pool and the food.
The price was also affordable, eventhough peak season.
We also appreciated the environmental friendly approach.
We will come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here after booking by phone the day before. Our first night was spent in a room above the bar area - the room was huge for the two of us but was the only one available so we decided to take it. Unfortunately if you stay above the bar you can hear noise all night which wasn't great. Our second two nights were spent in a much better room which was quiet and in a great location. This hotel was one of the more expensive ones we stayed at without breakfast. The hotel is in a great location by the beach and we hired a surf board from the shop just behind the hotel which was very useful. The pool area was very nice and we even had a game of boules on the pitch by the pool!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed in the non-AC rooms and with plenty of breeze there's really no worry about it being too warm. The service here was top notch. Better yet, the proximity to the beach and other bars/restaurants makes this a great place to stay on budget. We opted to eat mostly at other places to explore the area, and we found really great food and better selection elsewhere for our tastes, but the food here is definitely accessible for a North American diet. The only complaint we had might be the cleanliness of our washroom every day - could have been better but for $60/night you get what you pay for ;-)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gilded Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilded Iguana Hotel

Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark at the beaches of Nosara, Costa Rica, The Gilded Iguana Hotel brings casual relaxation, comfort and excellent service to the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. One of the most famous and well loved vacation destination hotels in Nosara for surfers, expats, families and adventure holidayers. **NEWS** - Gilded Iguana has been sold to new owners - but is sure to be better than ever for open Nov 2014. All reservations still valid! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilded Iguana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.