We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place-- stay here--Green Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giardino Tropicale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Giardino Tropicale to your Saves list
Giardino Tropicale
Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Nosara
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved this place-- stay here--Green Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

The owners are a lovely couple. The hotel is surrounded with native plants that were planted by the owners. It is a certified green hotel and they are still making more improvements in waste disposal and reducing environmental impact.

The restaurant has the best carpaccio I've had in along time. The chef is amazing--let him create for you. The salad bar is always fresh and interesting.

It's nice to be away from the hustle of the beach but with in a short walk. It's paradise in paradise. And great rates. They have hammocks on the side of the rooms... Monkeys...its really sweet. I've stayed there twice in the past three months after checking out other hotels in Guiones.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    30
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
44
46
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

This place has 11 rooms I believe, so it must book up fast. We loved the garden and landscaping of it all. The lap pool was in a perfect location and there was shade and lounge chairs on the small lawn. The Italian Restaurant is owned by the hotel and it was delicious food. It is a short walk to other restaurants and the beach. The owner Myriam helped us to book a horseback ride with a local man that was a fun experience (and a much better price)

The only thing about nosara was that the waves were definitely for surfers and not swimmers. But it was a lovely and peaceful town

website: http://www.giardinotropicale.com/index.htm

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

This was a nice hotel; clean, nice rooms, good breakfast available. But one major complaint I had was that every morning the owners and early risers were talking loudly, dogs barking, and no one could sleep. It is a family run place, friendly, but you need to want to fit into the family (i.e.get up early). Since it's a surfer town that is the norm, I guess.
The attached restaurant/pizza place had good food, but a really snooty waiter. We ate other places in town that the liked better for price and ambiance.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Hotel was OK, but our experience with the hosts was so unsatisfactory that I would not recommend this place to anyone. We thought the hosts were so nice when we got there, but this turned out to be a bit of a facade.

My husband and I went fishing with a local guide and caught many fish. We gave half of them to our guide and brought half back to the hotel, where Myriam said the cook would prepare them. We brought at least 15 pounds of fish back. The fish was prepared beautifully and even fed at least 4 other guests at the hotel. The other guests paid for their meals full price. Upon leaving the hotel, we discovered that they charged us a fee for the preparation of our dinner. We were very upset, since they had MADE MONEY from our fish and had more in the kitchen for other meals. We thought this was rather cheap of them and they should have let us eat our fish for free, given that they sold the rest of it to other guests. We asked them to reconsider, but they would not. NOT NICE!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We first rented a house in Nosara for a week, but when we arrived there was an ant swarm that took over. Litterally a million black ants swarmed through the house right after we unpacked, and we had to leave at 9 pm on a Sunday night after driving all day from San Juan. We found Giardino Tropical, and as I always know everything happens for a reason. What a great little slice of heaven. Marcel, one of the husband/wife owners, keeps the landscaping of varied tropical trees and plant immaculent. The pool and restaurant are great, the room was beautiful and clean. Marcel and his wife are wonderful people, and very easy to talk with. They are interesting, and I really felt welcomed along with my wife and 6 year old boy. The beach is a short walk down the road, the surfing was great, the monkeys and iquanas were cool , the whole experience will always be fondly remembered.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

We were arrived in Playa Gouines in search of accommodations with a kitchen for less than $100/night. After a recommendation from another, more expensive, local hotel, we ended up at Giadarno Tropicale and immediately decided to stay there. It is owned by a very friendly and eco-conscious couple Marcel & Myriam, who have started a number of local green initiatives and host a weekend market on the property. We had the option of a standard or deluxe room when we arrived. We decided on the deluxe to be closer to the pool have have access to a sink to prep some meals.

The room was super comfortable, with three beds, a big bathroom and small kitchenette. The kids loved the pool - it was too hot to be on the beach all day without shade and we could watch them from the porch while enjoying a glass of wine or taking a break for lunch.

After two days we decided to extend our stay another three days and moved to the junior suite to have access to a full kitchen. The suite overlooks the pool from the other side and has a large wrap around veranda. The restaurant was right above and served fantastic flatbread pizza.

The location was great, for Playa Guoines (it's very spread out), less than 10 minutes to the beach, mini super or other restaurants and yoga.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Giardino Tropicale was absolute paradise!! My husband I visited Nosara for our one year anniversary and we could not have ever imagined what was in store for us. Myriam and Marcel, the owners of Giordino Tropicale , were unbelievable hosts and there hospitality was indescribable. From the moment that we arrived, we felt at home. Myriam and Marcel provided us with constant recommendations of the “best” places to visit in Nosara and never failed us! Our stay at the hotel was like no other possible experience we could have had anywhere else. The rooms are like living in your own personal tree house. The facilities are spotless, the service is outstanding, and the food is divine! ! It is within walking distance from beach walks, jungle paths, convenience stores, and restaurants. To top it all off, everything is organic, solar, and all sustainable energy. Who could ask for anything more! I would recommend this hotel to anyone of any age and guarantee that it will be the most blissful vacation you could ever have!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giardino Tropicale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardino Tropicale

Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nosara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Giardino Tropicale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardino Tropicale Nosara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giardino Tropicale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.