We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Readers beware!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Giardino Tropicale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Giardino Tropicale to your Saves list
Giardino Tropicale
Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Nosara
Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Readers beware!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We recently spent one night here and it was awful. Those writing excellent reviews may travel much differently than we do. For example, there were scratchy bottom sheets on our beds and only one small scratchy odd cover thing. No top sheet. No blanket. Pillows were like balled up gym socks in a pillow case. The towels were all mismatched and also quite thin. Warnings posted all around about local crime, esp at the beach. I'm sure people go there and love it but after your early 20's I think everyone has a much different expectation for a vacation- not to mention that you have to drive for hours on dirt roads filled with potholes. In fact the entire drive was potholes. We all still feel like we are recovering from our visit there a few weeks later. The owners do seem lovely and we're very warm. But I think others should know what they are getting into. We learned the hard way that all trip advisor reviews are not equal. I would say this could be an excellent stay for very young travelers wishing to save money. Know we never saw a beach near this place either. Still a 10 min walk away. Went to another stretch of beach by driving. Walked through the reserve at Lagarta Lodge and much nicer for families. I'd hate for another family to have the same experience we did. Almost ruined our much needed vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    30
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
44
46
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have never stayed at the hotel, but in my search for the best pizza, was directed here. (Closed during off-season; we had to come back a year later!) Guests of the hotel say that it is very nice and it seemed; strolling through, like a summer-camp paradise!
Having only dined there, I can say the service is professional, the wine is very good, and the pizza is some of the best I have ever had. We were celebrating our honey moon in 2013, and our first anniversary in 2014. The Malbec was very good and the pizza was melt in your mouth lovely, with a shared first course of salad, with chicken. Built on a hillside, in the traditional open style, you can enjoy the tropical night air. If you are in Guiones, it will require a short walk, which can be a treat, if the fireflys are out; or a bit of a challenge, if it is raining. Totally worth it! Very good! Romantic and special.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

My daughter and I visited Giardino's and fell in love with this lovely place! The landscape with tropical plants and flowers was so lush, and, toward the evening, the lights come on just enough to make this an absolute magical experience! Words just can't describe it! The hosts, Marcel and Myriam are wonderful and welcoming, and we knew we were in good hands, as they are both very capable, well organised, and know what they're doing!! We hated to leave after only 3 days there...lucky for us, we live in Costa Rica, so make make the 3 hour drive there from time to time! The rooms were clean and inviting, and the food was quite good at the restaurant there..I hear the pizza is terrific, but did't try it! Coffee is hot, fresh and strong..perfection!
Thanks, Myriam and Marcel...we will be back!!!!

Room Tip: I recommend the second story..we stayed in "B" and enjoyed the beauty from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I was traveling alone, from Canada, with my 2 children for the first time. 8 and 11 years old. We stayed for 10 days at Giardino Tropicale and loved it. Myriam and Marcel were so welcoming and kind. We left feeling like family. Everyone associated with the hotel was kind and welcoming.
It was very hard to leave. The rooms are great, we had a kitchen and shopped at the local market as groceries were quite expensive in guiones.
We walked everywhere and felt completely safe at all times. The beach is very close.
We will return for another stay with Myriam and Marcel. They honestly took care of us like we were family. Our friends were staying at a (very expensive) yoga/healing resort near by and wished they would have stayed at Giardino Tropicale.
It was a tropical paradise and felt like home. We really did not want to leave and we are telling everyone to stay there. We miss waking up with our monkeys and all the birds !!! Thank you for making our first holiday perfect. Allison, Kelly and Andie

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excelent place, very beautiful and well organized. The room is great, with air conditioning, frigobar and good space. The garden has cataloged species of plants.
The owners, Marcel & Myriam are lovely human beings, friendly and attentive.
The costs are fair, and the beach is 5 minutes distance walking.
Excelent waves for surfing around...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We just came back from a holiday in CR. Staying at Gardinio was one of the amazing highlights.
Everyone theres was SOOOO lovely and kind. Myriam and Marcel are amazing hots. Thank you so much for recommending the turtle watching and for trying to accomodate our friends when we arrived. The place is so beautiuful and we will plan a trip to be back one day. You have build a life project that is so lovely to enjoy, this place is AMAZING !!! Clean, beautiful and everything you need in a lovely town of Nosara.
We miss it already,
with love, Monika, Toby and the girls.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

A little pricey compared to other beach towns in Costa Rica but this is a pricier area in general. Cute grounds and the owners are nice and helpful. Rooms are basic w AC and fan though AC costs 15 more. Clean though ants on the floor but that comes w being on the beach
Be prepared to be woken up by monkeys howling and leaves/branches hitting your door. Beach nearby is great

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Giardino Tropicale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giardino Tropicale

Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nosara
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Giardino Tropicale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giardino Tropicale Nosara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giardino Tropicale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.