We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and great surf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones)

Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones)
Nosara, Costa Rica
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 10 attractions in Nosara
Type: Beaches
Activities: Surfing
Attraction Details
Reedley, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful and great surf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Loved the beach at sunset, warm and inviting. Snorkeling in the morning was awesome and saw a lot of fish in very shallow pools. Easy for all. Would avoid in afternoon due to heat. This is a natural string, if you want food, restrooms, etc go to a resort.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    33
    3
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sechelt, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Isolated with no facilities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Had to walk through a natural reserve to reach the beach, no shade, no facilities such as restaurants, bars, no chair rental,
Just a barren isolated beach. nothing of appeal unless you just wanted to walk the beach. Tide was so far out you had to walk a block to get to the edge of the water , let alone have enough water to swim in.Not our favorite beach, after seeing many in the world

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Sands are close to white, water is pretty much crystal clear. The only issue might be finding a place to hide away from the sun. The beach is huge, and there are lots of surfers and tourists. Watch out for the 25km of dirt road that might take a toll on your car... :(

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Play Guiones, unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I love Nosara Play Guiones. In December I was down on a two day business trip and I will walk tot he beach late at night and watch the shooting stars. I have been four times and I will be back many more. The beach has no boats on it, that is not allowed It is huge and wide and you can go down and start a little campfire and just hang out with family and friends. During the peak season of the day, it is perfect, just enough people you can go make new friends and not so many you can't be alone. Beach Dog cafe right off the beach has perfect smoothies and great lunches. It is not to be missed. If you like Costa Rica, you will love Guiones.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Seek out Juan Surfo's shop near Playa Guillones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Juan Surfo was an amazing instructor. He was extremely clear about what to do and how to do it, which is very helpful when you're trying to learn a new skill. He speaks fluent English and knew when to push us and when to tell us to relax. As I got better, he added on additional refinements into his instructions. Very encouraging without being cloying.

Playa Guillones has a range of waves. Other reviewers are right - there is no shade, though Juan told me he rents umbrellas for the beach.He also rents boards. Next time we'll take him up on both.
Highly recommended!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones) also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.