We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Play Guiones, unbelievable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones)

Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones)
Nosara, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
8-Day Tour: Beach and Mountains in Guanacaste
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Nosara
Attraction details
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Play Guiones, unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I love Nosara Play Guiones. In December I was down on a two day business trip and I will walk tot he beach late at night and watch the shooting stars. I have been four times and I will be back many more. The beach has no boats on it, that is not allowed It is huge and wide and you can go down and start a little campfire and just hang out with family and friends. During the peak season of the day, it is perfect, just enough people you can go make new friends and not so many you can't be alone. Beach Dog cafe right off the beach has perfect smoothies and great lunches. It is not to be missed. If you like Costa Rica, you will love Guiones.

Visited December 2012
Thank DavidRPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Seek out Juan Surfo's shop near Playa Guillones”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Juan Surfo was an amazing instructor. He was extremely clear about what to do and how to do it, which is very helpful when you're trying to learn a new skill. He speaks fluent English and knew when to push us and when to tell us to relax. As I got better, he added on additional refinements into his instructions. Very encouraging without being cloying.

Playa Guillones has a range of waves. Other reviewers are right - there is no shade, though Juan told me he rents umbrellas for the beach.He also rents boards. Next time we'll take him up on both.
Highly recommended!

Visited January 2013
3 Thank deepblueseafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect Off the Grid Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Surfers, swimmers and sunset lovers will fall in love with this wide and wild expanse of sand and sea, but the faint hearted traveller in search of an all inclusive sun holiday will flee. That is what makes Nosara and Playa Guiones perfect. People from all over North America and Europe come here for the natural, unspoiled beauty. Oh, and the consistent waves. Great body surfing too or just loll around in the tidal pools. The sun is relentless - sun block and surf shirts a good idea. It's three to four hours out of Liberia by private transfer or bus and it's a cool, interesting journey. Sit back and enjoy a "Costa Rican" massage. Always a good idea to keep your sense of humour when travelling off the grid....Great seafood but too bad no one here has yet realized that blue and yellow fin are endangered. Don't order it - vote with your wallet to preserve and conserve!

Visited February 2013
1 Thank burtinshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This is the place to catch the sunset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went here a couple times and were not super impressed the first time. It was so hot and there are not facilities or trees for shade. It is very wide, deep and sandy and the time to come is sunset. We sat for about an hour and watched the beach just fill up at sunset and it was worth it. Bring food and water or go to one of the many restaurants nearby afterwards.

After sunset your car will get jammed in traffic trying to get out. Be patient, it's not too bad and you are in Costa Rica. Pura Vida and be careful of people walking.

Visited December 2012
Thank foodbliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time Unless You're a Surfer, or "Sun Worshipper"!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We drove down to Playa Guiones today from Playa Junquillal. The drive was the "trip from hell," because of the terrible state the roads are in. If they're like this in the "dry season," I'd hate to see them in the "green". Not a relaxing journey at all!

We wouldn't even have minded as much had the town been worth the time and stress. There are a few shops for jewelry, bikinis, etc., but we were expecting much more! The only thing worth the drive was a wonderful lunch at Rosi's Soda Tica.

So . . . Don't waste your time, or take worthless risks, unless you are an avid surfer, a total sun worshipper, or staying in the area. There is nothing - and I mean nothing! - else there worth the hassle of getting there !

Visited January 2013
3 Thank TerrierWhoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones) also viewed

Playa Conchal, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Avellanas, Tamarindo
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste

Been to Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing