We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Waste Your Time Unless You're a Surfer, or "Sun Worshipper"!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones)

Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones)
Nosara, Costa Rica
Update attraction details
Ranked #2 of 10 attractions in Nosara
Type: Beaches
Activities: Surfing
Attraction Details
London ON
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time Unless You're a Surfer, or "Sun Worshipper"!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We drove down to Playa Guiones today from Playa Junquillal. The drive was the "trip from hell," because of the terrible state the roads are in. If they're like this in the "dry season," I'd hate to see them in the "green". Not a relaxing journey at all!

We wouldn't even have minded as much had the town been worth the time and stress. There are a few shops for jewelry, bikinis, etc., but we were expecting much more! The only thing worth the drive was a wonderful lunch at Rosi's Soda Tica.

So . . . Don't waste your time, or take worthless risks, unless you are an avid surfer, a total sun worshipper, or staying in the area. There is nothing - and I mean nothing! - else there worth the hassle of getting there !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    33
    3
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“What a glorious beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed at the Blue Spirit and loved walking this beach every morning. Beautiful, peaceful place. There is lots of volcanic rock as it is part of a national preserve. Watch the tides, watch your footing. Simply glorious.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fabulous !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Spend 8 nights in Nosara at the Casa Del Sol. Dave at the Frog Pad was outstanding. He was a wealth of information and always very helpful. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Remote stunning beauty, nice surf, no crowds and very clean.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Picture tropical forest framing a long, soft, sandy beach with the warm pacific surf rolling in and you pretty much have the picture. Diligent stewardship by the local community has made this a very pristine and clean beach.The sand is soft and powdery, the locals say this is especially noticeable since the earthquake in 2012. (it supposedly sifted the beach up a bit.)
2-3 foot waves and long break make this an ideal body surfing spot. Very long shallows make for nice wading, but be aware the surf can make for some strong currents once you're waist deep. Keep a close eye on small children.

I have been to many beaches throughout the Carribean, the Mexican riviera, and the great lakes of Canada. Without exaggeration, this is the best beach I've visited in my entire life.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great waves!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great waves by George! I think he's got it!! The Costa Rica Yoga Spa provided lessons for individuals who wanted to learn to surf on this beach. It was clean, friendly and had some great waves!! You may want to bring an umbrella for the sun if you plan to spend alot of time down there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones) also viewed

Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosara Beach (Playa Guiones), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.