We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar vs. Restsurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Olga's

Bar Olga's
Playa Pelada, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica
+506 2682 1116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 43 Restaurants in Nosara
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Description: Bar Olga's is one of the older and authentic Costa Rican restaurants in the Nosara area. Olga's is located on the beach with a wonderful ocean view. This is a fun, family beach and the favorite place to watch sunset for many locals. The food is good, the prices are very reasonable and there is free WIFI. Be sure to visit Olga's while you are in Nosara.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bar vs. Restsurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Olga's is a nice little bar and restaurant. At first sight it looks like a bar. But there is also a restaurant. The restaurant has very good food. Every thing from fried chicken, to nachos, to fist tacos. The fish tacos are very good. But be warned your server might as 1 or 2 tacos. By that they mean 1 or 2 plates if tacos with two tacos each. The one bad thing about this restaurant is the service is a little slow. But don't let this dissuade from going because the service is still pretty fast. The food there is great. The price range of the restaurant is medium.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I had just arrived in town and wanted some lunch. I remembered Olga's from my first visit to Nosara 6 years ago. The location is nice, on the water, and the food is sufficient.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxed and very casual hangout”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stopped in for a beer at Olga's a couple times on our visit to the Nosara area. It has a more local vibe compared to other places in the area and is a comfortable spot to grab a drink in the shade, with lovely views. It is one of only a couple bars/restaurants right on the beach, and you can walk over there from Playa Guiones. We hoped to order ceviche or fish on our second visit ( a Monday) but were told that they had run out of food after the weekend and only beverages were available. Will definitely check it out again on our next trip to the area!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Come for the food, stay for the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

No need to eat here more than once, but dang they have a good view of the sunset. Grab a beer and a tree trunk seat and watch the sky set itself on fire.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“away from the surfers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This part of Pelada Beach is hidden away from the main Nosara surf beach (Playa Guiones) down another bumpy road and Olga's is a great place to sit and enjoy a smoothy (batido) or a fish taco while checking out the action. Then at sunset head up the hill to the Lagarta Lodge bar for one of the greatest sunsets on the peninsula.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Olga's also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Bar Olga's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Olga's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.