We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Tico” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Olga's

Bar Olga's
Playa Pelada, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica
+506 2682 1116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 43 Restaurants in Nosara
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Costa Rican, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Description: Bar Olga's is one of the older and authentic Costa Rican restaurants in the Nosara area. Olga's is located on the beach with a wonderful ocean view. This is a fun, family beach and the favorite place to watch sunset for many locals. The food is good, the prices are very reasonable and there is free WIFI. Be sure to visit Olga's while you are in Nosara.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Classic Tico”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Local vibe and flavor, we asked for a whole fish I think they went down and caught it and cooked it up for us 20 dollars awesome!!!Laid back and mellow don't go if in a hurry your on vacation.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ceviche and TV”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We walked here from playa Guiones. It's a cute little cove with Olga's bar. There were a few locals there and a jewelery maker. We had a couple beers, watched bull fighting on the TV and had the fish dinner. The food was pretty good. It was fun to watch the kids play on the beach and just relax here. Very casual!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Pizza Man is the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

If you go here you HAVE to try the pizza....he made us one for lunch and we fell in love. SO DELICIOUS! The atmosphere is amazing also. Right by the beach with lots of great people watching.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sunsets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Grab dinner and a drink and watch the sun set. Great local beach to walk and enjoy the family. Service is slow but worth it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Just ceviche, please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Olga's was completely overrun during the holiday period so we generally stayed away. We love ceviche, however, and were told their's is fantastic. We ventured down the beach around 2 on Monday afternoon. The kind but clearly fatigued proprietor told us that they were practically out of food after the big rush and the kitchen was closed until 6 PM. When we told him that all we wanted was ceviche, he said he would check and then ordered it for us. What came to us looked more like something in an upscale French restaurant than a beachside hangout. Layered and molded with tomatoes on the bottom, fish in the middle, chopped avocado on top--all with a luscious sauce. Not a bargain at 4000 colones but well worth it. Who would have thought?

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Olga's also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Bar Olga's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Olga's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.