We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa Romantica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa Romantica
Save
You added Hotel Casa Romantica to your Saves list
Apdo. 134 | Casa Romantica, Playa Guiones, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Nosara
Sta. Rosa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We spent 13 nights at Casa Romantica. It was restful, clean and friendly. Silvia and Remo (the owners/managers) took great care of us. We felt right at home and our kids (ages 9 and 4) really enjoyed the pool, the beach and the hotel gardens. The hotel restaurant is a bit of a splurge, but very nice. Breakfast was ample- fresh coffee, juice, plenty of fresh fruit, toast and eggs. I recommend this place for families. Nosara is a surfers beach and the surfer culture is all around you. My husband and son both surfed, but I can see why some travelers might not like the whole "surf scene" in Nosara. One interesting thing about Nosara is that most restaurants have menus in US Dollars and prefer the US currency to Costa Rican Colones. It would have been entirely possible for us to have visited Nosara and not once used a Costa Rican Colon.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    26
    6
    10
    4
See reviews for
20
51
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

The hotel has a good location if you're interested in going to the beach and you don't have a car. The food in the restaurant was very good. The staff and owner ( Raymond ) are friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean although I must say that I was annoyed with the use of two top sheets as opposed to a fitted bottom one.Turning in bed leads to ending up on the mattress. Don't let that keep you from the place though. I'll be happy to give you some insight on the area if you like.

  • Liked — It's location in relation to the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing worth mentioning
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNW
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

My brother and his wife visited it twice the week before and so when we showed up we had to give this place a try. The owner Ray took great care of us, he loaned us a map for a day trip in the hills of Nosara. We were on a motorcycle trip http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=376909 . This would be a great place for families and couples. It is not the Party place but that doesn't mean there isn't great bars to party a short walk down the road. This hotel is a romantic , relax, read a book, lay by the pool type place.

The rooms were well air conditioned and the beds comfortable. The best thing about Casa Romantica is the food. Talk about fine dining at a reasonable price. We really enjoyed the meals and looked forward to the specials all day. They served some Tuna that was caught that day and it was the best fish I have ever had. The service is attentive and they make a good margarita. I found the prices of the accommodation , food and honor bar to be very reasonable.

I can't wait to return and take my wife and hopefully my kids to this hotel. They have a room with 3 beds and a separate bedroom with Queen bed which was very reasonably priced.

We had very good weather for August, it rained at night but was beautiful during the day.

Wonderful beach down the path, great for surfing and just playing in the waves. Clean pool and they have wireless Internet for those that want to call home on Skype if they have a laptop with them.
Sit in the lobby, drink a cold imperial out of the honor bar , savor the delicious meal you just had and call the family back home and tell them how much you miss them! Ray will also let you call the US from his cell phone for a reasonable charge.

  • Liked — The location, food and comfort
  • Disliked — My wife wasn't there to enjoy it with me
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2008

I visited this same hotel when it was called Casa Romantica.
My parents and I arrived and they had totally messed up our reservation. This turned out to be a huge blessing! We had originally planned to stay there for 2 weeks, but they could only fit us in for a few days of that period. The recommended another hotel up the road a few miles near Ostional which was AMAZING.
Upon returning the only room they had was above the kitchen. We were hot and miserable. On top of that my sunglasses and several of my mom's swim suits were stolen.
I had to head back for college, but my parents decided to go back to the great hotel in Ostional for another week. The owner of Casa Romantica showed up at that establishment for dinner wearing one of my Mom's suits and then acted like nothing was wrong.
This place has a history of questionable business practices to say the least!

  • Liked — Beach access
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed March 2005, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

We enjoyed our vist to Casa Romantica. It is located right on a beautiful beach and also has a nice pool and garden area. It was pretty centrally located so you could walk to other restaurants and shops in the area. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed interacting with the other guests who were staying there. The room was good value at $75 per night including breakfast. The room was spacious and we had plenty room for storing suitcases etc. The cleanliness could have been better. The policy of not flushing toilet paper combined with the heat and no fan in the bathroom made for some unpleasant smells!

In general I would say it was good value for money in a great beach location.

I enjoyed Norsara and would visit the area again.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — No flush policy
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

We got a strange feeling about this place already on the phone listening to the emplyees insulting each other in the reception. It also seemed to be difficult to give any answers about availability and prices without the owner standing by. This is below our expectations as guests. But we gave it a chance.

The location is the main attraction of this place, very close to the beach. The room was however infested with ants. The breakfast was a big disappointment and not according to what was promised. Our check-in was five hours delayed due to management errors, so we spent most of the first day waiting, without any offers for compensation or even a cup of coffee.

We felt we were generally being ignored by the management and the service level was very low. They hassled us when we wanted to pay with credit card, even though this was announced as ok when we checked in, and they add to the charge when using credit cards. We recommend looking for other options as the value for money is not so good, and the management seems arrogant.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2008

We stayed there for two nights and chose it based on the trip advisor reviews, but were kinda underwhelmed. Here's our pros and cons.

Pros:It's 50 meters from the beach, the pool was clean, there is wireless internet, it's affordable ($58/night), the shower was hot

Cons:Our room (#4), was along the main corridor so we constantly heard noise from outside and had to keep our curtains drawn for privacy, we had quite a few bugs (including an ant that bit my wife's eye while she slept), our double bed was two twin beds pushed together, they shut off the water without letting us know, the owner's wife ignored us (for over 10 minutes) while we stood at the front desk to try to check out, our email requests were never answered so we had to call to book our room

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.2 mi away
Harmony Hotel Nosara
Harmony Hotel Nosara
#4 of 21 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 stars 305 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
1.0 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#11 of 21 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#6 of 21 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
1.0 mi away
Teak Pacific Hotel
Teak Pacific Hotel
#14 of 21 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#8 of 21 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Romantica

Address: Apdo. 134 | Casa Romantica, Playa Guiones, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful beachside retreat for surfers, yogis, couples and families Our moderately-sized hotel is located at one of the most beautiful beaches in all Costa Rica; however, our mission is to offer you more than just the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Romantica Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa Romantica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.