We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow this place got it right!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Hotel Nosara

Save Saved
You added Harmony Hotel Nosara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harmony Hotel Nosara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guiones Beach, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Nosara
chappaqua ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wow this place got it right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

I am a frequent traveler and read many reviews on trip advisor. Although I have never submitted a review I thought this was a good time to start. The Harmony hotel in nosara was booked by a friend and we were all heading out here for a week off. I was kind of skeptical because websites can be deceiving and this one was not overly detailed.

Following 2 flights and a long drive including a drive through an active river (the bridge was out) my concerns were growing that this would be a waste of time. I arrived at the hotel on Saturday afternoon and was quite surprised to see the hotel looked way better than was described. this place is an understated gem. hidden in the cove of nosara a primary surfing town with little to do in terms of nightlife at least but that is not the reason to come.

the pool is pristine, the grounds are amazing. the wildlife is incredible, the service is over the top. every waiter knew the drinks they already gave us and constantly were attending to every need. the rooms are great, alfresco showers, hammocks and super clean and neat. every amenity you need and took the ones you did not out (tv) . I was kind of concerned with being out of reach but it made the whole trip worth more (forced me to relax)

they have people on staff helping you do anything you want. the beach is a few min stroll away through a nice secluded trail. great feel and great resort. Although I usually opt for the 5 star hotel, (company pays) I would rather come here than any four seasons anywhere.

strongly recommend it and this is not coming from someone who writes reviews often

great job to the whole hotel and management....go harmony !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    46
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
61
107
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

This place was just what we needed! We had just gotten married and went to CR for our honeymoon! This is a small boutique hotel. We went in the rainy season, September, and it was perfect! The hotel was quiet and all the tours we took, it was just us! We went Kayaking with Phillipe (who is the hotel manager's husband - her name is Irene and she is wonderful!) We went horsriding, kayaking, surfing, and zip lining! All amazing! The outdoor showers are incredible-we never even used our indoor shower. The rooms are small, but I didn't find them too small. The food and hospitality can't be beat! We ended up meeting and getting to know most of the people there. We felt at home. This place is also a great value for money and also incredibly clean!
The pool area was amazing - so many days we hung out by the pool -watching the monkeys in the trees and ordered lunch! amazing!! There are also some amazing restaurants in the area! The yoga at the hotel was great and also in a beautiful place!!
The beach area outside the hotel was great too - you can walk there and we caught incredible sunsets!!
Overall, an amazing hotel and I will be back!! Go there if you want to relax but also partake in activities and feel at home!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmonyNosara, Manager at Harmony Hotel Nosara, responded to this review, September 17, 2010
Dear Meldiva25,
Thanks for your nice review on your recent stay. We loved having you at Harmony and hope you come back soon. Making you feel at home and connecting with you is what makes the experience at Harmony special. Of course, the beach, the monkeys by the pool, the fresh fish for dinner and kayaking are lots of fun, but we feel that the “vibe” that we have created at Harmony that combines simple barefoot luxury with sustainability is something that is highly valued in today’s turbulent times. 
See you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We stayed at the Harmony Hotel for 4 nights in August. We had two adjoining rooms for 2 adults and 3 kids. We had a fantastic vacation and would stay there again in a heartbeat. The road in was harrowing and exhausting, navigating around enormous potholes, cows, and construction trucks that were repairing the road while we waited. Immediately upon arrival we were greeted with fresh smoothies and someone to carry our luggage.

The staff was incredibly friendly, and seemed to love kids. The rooms were spotless. Outdoor showers were definitely a plus, though they could be more private.

The hotel grounds are basically a giant garden with all sorts of wildlife wandering or flying through. We felt it was so safe that our kids (ages 12, 10, and 8) could wander around and even hit the beach without an adult in tow. They have a security guard posted at the gate to the beach, which added to the sense of security.

The smoothie bar was a big hit with the kids and adults. And the prices were low (and ingredients so healthy ) that we didn't have to worry about our kids making repeat trips everyday. My daughter and I took the morning yoga, which was a great way to start the day. The food was some of the best we had in Costa Rica. In fact, we never ate anywhere else in Nosara (my husband and son did try the place across the road for lunch one day, but walked out without eating -- they did pay -- because the food was so disgusting).

The beach is beautiful and wide, with enough tide to surf, but not so much that the kids couldn't play. The hotel pool is small, but nice. Our kids played in it everyday.

The rooms had air conditioning which we used every night, but didn't need during the day. I will say, we were there during the rainy season and the rain on the metal roof was pretty loud. Ear plugs helped, but we did wake up early everyday.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away from it all and experience incredible nature without having to rough it. Truly a gem of a hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

We had read and heard various reports about Costa Rica and the Nosara area. We were nervous about the trip. When we arrived at the hotel we found this place to be just perfect, the reception staff were very welcoming and friendly. The accommodation was very clean, very comfortable and the food at the hotel could not be faulted. Hotel is eco friendly and has its own health spa. The beach was back to nature, no sunbeds, no umbrellas just miles of surf and sand. The sunsets were amazing. This is a place to have a perfect holiday. We will return Nosara end of 2010

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

Harmony Hotel is a fabulous place. The concept of the hotel is amazing. They do everything possible to have a small ecological footprint. They use mostly local foods, have their own biodegradable shampoo/conditioner, and even the bar straws are cut bamboo from the garden. The road to Nosara is TERRIBLE, so arriving at such a beautiful hotel with a fabulous relaxation center is ideal. The rooms are ample, the service is excellent, the grounds are full of wildlife, especially the halloween crabs. There is a bird there that will serenade you with the most beautiful song every morning. I had a facial and did yoga at the relaxation center, and both were outstanding, especially considering the remote location. This is the kind of place where you know everyone on the property by the time you leave. I suggest this hotel for longer stays, if you need to decompress. The surf is some of the most consistent in the country from what I understand. They also have laptops available for those who don't want to be too out of touch.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmonyNosara, Manager at Harmony Hotel Nosara, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
Dear luv2travel79_10,

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Harmony Hotel. We work hard to create the perfect environment to relax for our guests and feel the combination of beach, yoga, wellness and surf is the perfect setting to decompress. We are also happy that you enjoyed the food and that you liked out sustainability efforts. We would love to have more guests like you at Harmony. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Family and I spent 5 night at Harmony a few weeks ago. Could have spent more. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was the best, loved the Harmony Special. The grounds were impeccable. The boys loved trying to catch the Halloween Crabs that seemed to be everywhere. Playa Guiones was awesome. Only negative was the pushy beach vendors. They don't seem to understand the meaning of, "No". Hotel security did a very good job of keeping them at bay when requested. If there is a refuage from the day-to-day, this is it!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

We happened upon the Harmony Hotel and it is the beat place in town. We had every dessert on the menu. Super creative, fantastic food. Very reasonably priced. Must try the long island ice teas!!! Ps, you must ask for your check, but that is the standard in costa rica. Feed the cat.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harmony Hotel Nosara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hotel Nosara

Address: Guiones Beach, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 hotels in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Hotel Nosara 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Hotel is the perfect combination of low-key luxury, nature, wellness and sustainability. Situated on Guiones Beach in Nosara, Costa Rica, a spot well renowned for its beautiful surroundings and impressive surf, this is an excellent place to unwind, relax and get in tune with your natural rhythm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Harmony Hotel Nosara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony Hotel Nosara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.