We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most relaxing vacation, will defintely be coming back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Hotel Nosara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Harmony Hotel Nosara to your Saves list
Harmony Hotel Nosara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guiones Beach, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Nosara
NYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most relaxing vacation, will defintely be coming back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Everything about this hotel was wonderful. I went with my mom the first week of June. It was a great time to visit. It rained sometimes at night but was sunny during the day and everything was so green and lush. From what we heard about the "high season" it is very dry and brown. I think the foliage was the relaxing atmosphere. The food was amazing and that is coming from a foodie from NYC. We went to a few other restaurants, but nothing compared the restaurant and juice bar at the Harmony. The outdoor shower and hammock was great and utilized a lot through our trip. The staff were helpful and all of the waiters and servers were great. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. We used the Nosara gypsy cab to get there and back from the Liberia airport. Also, I highly recommend Tico Massage across the street. Franny was great. I took a few yoga classes at the hotel as well and they were well tailored to those in the class. All of the teachers were well trained and made adjustments. I intend on coming back ASAP!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a bungalow and it was a little bigger room and had a small couch and table. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    50
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
67
114
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Although not staying at hotel had great facial and amazing massage! Irie and Sharon highly recommend. Continued to stay and have sushi which was also very good. I know a tad pricey but worth the splurge:) great afternoon!!!! Hope to try dinner at later date.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We've stayed here two years in a row and the hotel and staff are fantastic. Can't say enough about the entire staff. So nice and helpful. Perfect beach for surfing. Pool is very relaxing and the food is outstanding. Breakfast is awesome. Massages were so good.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Wonderful experience at the harmony, upgrading to a bungalow is a must as the cocos rooms are by the pool area and people walk past but the bungalows are perfect. Really private. Wonderful private deck area with outdoor shower. Great air con really cold means a good night sleep and less bugs. Wonderful food especially the sushi. Get a cocktail from the bat and Walk on to the beach at 530 to sit watching the sunset with your piña colada! Just perfect!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bungalow it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Harmony Hotel Nosara, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear 5Star-LottieLou,
greetings from Guiones beach and the Harmony Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We were very happy to see your recommendation about the 5:30 pm sunset with a cocktail. Yes, a great time. But also the 5:30 am sitting with a hot cup of organic Costa Rican coffee at the beach should not be missed. We agree that an upgrade to a bungalow is great for couples as you will have more privacy and space. It is hard to beat the outdoor shower experience. Come back soon. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We up graded to the one bedroom bungalow and it feels like your own private beach shack. The outdoor shower is great nothing better when you are done surfing at the beach that is just a short walk away with warm water and great waves. This place has fun wild life we saw iguanas, crabs and monkeys. The pool is relaxing and the water is perfect temp. The breakfast is so good and you will love the juice bar and poolside service. Wear lots of bug spray since you are in the jungle. The yoga studio is all out doors and the wood work gives a nice setting. The hotel is very nicely done. The staff is helpful and everyone is courtesy. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. We used the complementary bikes to go to markets and a nearby restaurant. Walk across the street for a fabulous massage at good prices. You won't be disappointed with this boutique hotel it exceeds expectations.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very expensive, but quite possibly the best experience I've ever had at any hotel, anywhere.

Definitely the best hotel near the beach in Nosara. 2 min walk from the hotel to Playa Guiones through a jungle path.

On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of delicious freshly made lemongrass iced tea at reception, and checked in efficiently, and made to feel very welcome.

The service and staff are excellent - they are all genuinely warm, make an effort to remember your name, helpful with suggestions, arranging activities, looking after room keys if you're going to the beach, etc. We particularly enjoyed sitting at the bar chatting to Tony the bartender one night while he mixed up a couple of custom drinks for us. Denis who served us by the pool and in the restaurant on several occasions was also especially warm and friendly, and Esteban found a hat we left lying around lost and made an effort to bring it to our room for us. Although a special mention is deserved by all the staff at Harmony, as everyone was exceptional and made the stay special.

The sustainability ethos of Harmony is also genuinely inspiring and enhances your stay - from the delicious food, much of which is grown naturally on their own hydroponic farm on site, to use of all natural products - e.g. in the amazing smelling shower gel, shampoo, conditioner they provide, use of bamboo straws instead of plastic, etc.

And on the subject of food - all the food and drink is delicious, natural, and beautifully presented - we usually make more of an effort to explore and try a larger variety of local restaurants and have never eaten at our hotel so frequently, just because everything was so fresh and delicious! Although we do recommend you tear yourself away to try Taco Tuesdays at Harbour Reef a short walk up the road - lively atmosphere with a young crowd, and delicious tacos!

Due to the Jalousie windows (glass slats like venetian blinds) you can hear people outside the room quite clearly & it can at first feel not very private, although we got used to it quickly and Harmony don't attract an especially noisy clientele. You can always request a room a bit further away from the restaurant/pool area.

There are some reviews here from people whose expectations were of a glossy/polished 5 star resort, and while e.g. the bed was more comfortable and functional rather than luxurious, we felt the harmony feels less polished and more authentic in a good way.

The best thing about Harmony overall, is an intangible thing that's difficult to describe, but I guess it's all the little details that make it unique and different to even the best five star hotels I've stayed at elsewhere - they all add up to a unique and memorable experience.

I could go on to describe many more positive experiences at the harmony, from the free yoga lesson, the outdoor patio and shower to every room, the evening visit to our patio by a curious coatimundi, to the dawn chorus of howler monkeys, but it can all be summed up by simply saying we will definitely be back, and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Nosara.

Thanks to all the staff at Harmony, from Sophie and Gurpreet!

Room Tip: Due to the Jalousie windows (glass slats like venetian blinds) it can at times feel not very private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC metro
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This property has rooms and separate bungalows. We stayed in a bungalow, which was perfect for 3 adults (king bed and a twin bed) - had an outdoor shower and hammock.
Very clean, housekeeping staff was excellent. The hotel staff were helpful and attentive.
Nice clean pool in the center, a short walk on a private path to the beach. Yoga classes available 4 times per day, excellent spa services. I had a great deep tissue massage and facial.
The yoga studio looks out into the jungle. All instructors were very good.
Hotel restaurant was consistently good. I was less impressed with the juice bar, but a neighboring property (Living Hotel) had a superb juice bar. Alcoholic drinks tended to be weak - this seemed the case everywhere we went.
Staff helped set up a good paddleboard adventure for us in the mangroves. We were also able to take bikes out to peruse the neighborhood.
Internet is spotty, which was good for the relaxation part of the trip.
A few young families, mostly couples and groups of friends. Really well enjoyed by all of us.

Room Tip: I would request a room away from the front desk area if you prefer to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harmony Hotel Nosara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hotel Nosara

Address: Guiones Beach, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Hotel Nosara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Hotel is the perfect combination of low-key luxury, nature, wellness and sustainability. Situated on Guiones Beach in Nosara, Costa Rica, a spot well renowned for its beautiful surroundings and impressive surf, this is an excellent place to unwind, relax and get in tune with your natural rhythm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harmony Hotel Nosara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony Hotel Nosara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.