We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family trip in Nosara, Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Hotel Nosara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Harmony Hotel Nosara to your Saves list
Harmony Hotel Nosara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guiones Beach, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Nosara
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Family trip in Nosara, Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We LOVED this hotel. Great location, great service, great pool, our room had a very large terrace with hamac and deck chairs. The hotel is 1 min walking distance to the beach. It is rustic but high end well done rustic, very comfortable. Within 2 min. walking distance to surf shop, restaurants and limited stores. No TV, but good wifi. My kids were happy. You can walk the beach for miles & miles, Beach is wide, hard pack, so very conducive for running & playing frisbee. Surfing is great. Swimming too, water temperature is like most people's hot tub! The hotel restaurant is extremely good and breakfast is included in price of stay. My entire family wants to go back. My kids age 13-15. They were never bored. The yoga room & massage rooms are very beautiful. No american style gym facilities. But I did not miss it, we ran the beach & did yoga. Massages were excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    50
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
67
114
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this place. Most of the reviews are spot on. It is a boutique hotel that offers great food and a great location. If you wish to surf, deep sea fish, spearfish or go on a yoga retreat, this is the place to be. If you are looking for clubbing and casino do not come here. This is not the place. You are forced to unwind and enjoy nature.
The staff is very friendly and after a few days you get to know pretty much everyone. The food at the resort is outstanding. Pretty much all of it is caught or grown locally. Maybe even in your bungalow area. The rooms are adequate and clean. Not the Four Seasons. No TV, if that is important. There is free Wifi but terrible to no cell phone service. You can call internationally from your room and I believe a number of calls are complimentary.

We went zip lining, spearfishing, and took a yoga class that was offered at the hotel. .

-Zip Lining was great. About 1/2 hour total from hotel: Miss Sky Canopy Tours. It is safe and fun. Hotel will book it for you. http://www.missskycanopytour.com

Spearfishing was great: Visibility is always a question mark when spearfishing. You will see and catch plenty of fish with this crew if the conditions are right. They know the area and really like what they do. www.spearfishingcostarica.com

The trip from Liberia is a solid 2 to 2.5 hours but once you arrive it is worth it for the serenity. That is the catch 22 for this place. If it were easy to get to, it may be more commercialized thus taking away from its charm.

Go with couples and friends. Not much for kids here.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow by itself. Some are attached to another bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I did not stay at Harmony Hotel on a recent trip to Nosara, but took several yoga classes at the Wellness Center that is part of the property. The facility was gorgeous, and every teacher was top notch. The drop in rate was reasonable, especially considering the quality of our experience. We loved the juice bar as well - such a beautiful, relaxing vibe and the smoothies and juices we tried were absolutely delicious, if a tad expensive. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston SC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

This place really is an incredible spot located very far away from any other main roads or other tourist attractions. my wife and I recently spent three nights there having just got married and we loved the serenity of the resort as well as everything around it

At first glance this hotel does not seem like much but after spending a night or two there you begin to fall in love with the place, the town and everything about it


I will say that even though we did fall in love with the place including the staff,the pool,the organic shampoos and everything else I did feel a bit like the rooms were overpriced at over $300 a night

At this price range you expect incredible luxury as well as really nice rooms with a lot of space to spread out. If the hotel rate was more like $200 a night that would feel a lot more reasonable

But overall my wife and I give this place two thumbs up and we definitely plan to return

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Located in a pretty remote area of Nicoya on Playa Guilones, The Harmony Hotel is not the easiest property to get to, however the level of service, amenities and food make up for this.
This is a real "get away from it all" place, rooms do not have television and instead offer great comfort and relaxation. We had a bungalow with its own terrace and garden with outdoor shower. The toiletries are all organic and locally made and onsite is a cute book shop selling some very interesting things.
The pool was lovely (and with a young kid was where we spent most of our time) and the restaurant and juice bar served lovely food and cocktails. The hotel is a short walk to the beach, where the surfing is good but not great and also a short walk to 'town' where you can enjoy nice ice cream and do a bit of shopping.
For me the hotel staff really set this place apart, always smiling, happy to help and attentive. Probably not for everyone but this place is just perfect for those looking for something a little different.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The private bungalows are incredible. You have your own private garden with outdoor shower. The garden is beautiful, has a hammock and chairs as well. The rooms are nice, roomy and clean. The grounds are beautiful. The whole resort is very environmentally friendly. The yoga hut and juice bar are incredible. 4 yoga classes a day, which were awesome. Couples massage was very nice. Quick walk to the beach, towels are provided. No chairs or umbrellas. Beach is beautiful. Most impressive was the food. We ate a few meals in the hotel which were incredible. Than we tried other restaurants i the area, and none of them compared. The hotel restaurant is probably the most memorable hotel restaurant I've ever eaten at. The staff was phenomenal, so pleasant ad accommodating. Also the pool are was really nice.

Room Tip: Any of the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Harmony Hotel Nosara, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear GrodN,
greetings from the Harmony Hotel and the beaches of Nosara. Wow, what a great review. You said it all. We are sure that this review will be very helpful for other couples that are trying to make a decision on where to stay on their vacation in Costa Rica. Thanks for the very special comments on the food in the restaurant, our environmental efforts and the yoga classes at the Healing Center. We try to provide for a healthy and conscious lifestyle for our guests while at Harmony. We hope to have you back with us again real soon. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We spent six nights at Harmony in December. It was an amazing property, with wonderful, professional, friendly staff, a gorgeous pool to relax and read at book at, and a great location right off beach for easy access (and a security guard to watch your things while you are there). Harmony is one of those properties where they truly have thought of every little thing, from amazing, all-natural bath products and wonderful smoothies, to discreet housekeeping and gorgeous, lush grounds specifically designed to accommodate local wildlife like Howler Monkeys, Iguana, birds, and butterflies. We like to travel and I have worked in hospitality, and I have to say that Harmony was one of the few properties I have stayed at where I was hard-pressed to find a flaw. I was particularly impressed by the staff's ability to be casual and laid-back, yet still professional, and never intrusive (harder than it looks). I wish I could remember everyone's names, but off the top of my head, I would say a special thank you to Henry for arranging our accommodation, Darin (sp?) in the dining room for his warm service and attention, and Alina in the gift shop for her great book recommendations and conversation.

If I had to look for things that could be improved, I would say that when there were a lot of families around the pool, it could get a bit noisy (we don't have kids), but the majority of parents were respectful and kept the cannonballing to a minimum. But we knew this was a family-friendly hotel, so that was our choice, and I would still return because of all the other factors. But in an ideal world, a separate pool for kids and families would be great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harmony Hotel Nosara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hotel Nosara

Address: Guiones Beach, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Hotel Nosara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Hotel is the perfect combination of low-key luxury, nature, wellness and sustainability. Situated on Guiones Beach in Nosara, Costa Rica, a spot well renowned for its beautiful surroundings and impressive surf, this is an excellent place to unwind, relax and get in tune with your natural rhythm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harmony Hotel Nosara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony Hotel Nosara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.