We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in Harmony with your heart in this fine Nosara hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Hotel Nosara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Harmony Hotel Nosara to your Saves list
Harmony Hotel Nosara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Guiones Beach, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Nosara
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay in Harmony with your heart in this fine Nosara hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Harmony Hotel last week while in Nosara, CR. The staff is excellent! They attend to every need you have and every want you didn't even realize you had. Rooms are spacious yet cozy, with breezy patios in back complete with hammock and outdoor shower. These are the best pillows I've used in CR so far, and I'm always on the lookout for good pillows. The staff is constantly cleaning your room while you're out - we counted twice a day each day we were there. If you forget something or need something extra they usually have it, or can find it for you. Wi-fi signals are great in the rooms, a little less so in public areas.
Breakfasts are free and very generous at Harmony Restaurant. No toaster waffle and muffin in this restaurant! You get fruit, jugo mixto (mixed fruit smoothie) or juice if you'd like, coffee or tea, and any breakfast dish on the menu. Delicious way to start your energy in the mornings. Dinners are also beyond adequate. We went during end of rainy season, so on the evenings it was pouring out (two of them) we ended up in the Harmony Restaurant. Steer toward the many seafood dishes. They're all worth it.
Also have to mention that the Juice Bar is a phenomenal way to get smoothies, salads and sandwiches for a quick, nutritious lunch. My favorite smoothie is the banana, nut butter, cacao beans and date smoothie. Wow. Perfection in a glass.
When you're ready for the beach, you'll find towels on your way out of the hotel, and someone stationed at the beach entrance to watch your stuff while you swim or surf. As I said, they're very attentive.
Highly recommend this hotel! We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Bungalows are worth the extra cost for privacy over cocos
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    50
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
67
113
20
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This quickly became one of my favourite hotels that i have ever stayed in. We stayed here on honeymoon, and couldnt have made a better choice. There are some questions on other reviews that say that the rooms are not good value for money and there are no tvs.... But there is a lot more to the hotel than the rooms (which are still very nice), and if you want a tv, then you should probably look at going to tamarindo ;).

The rooms are very nice. We stayed in one of the regular Cocos rooms (number 4, which is far away from the bar/restaurant, which I would recommend), which may not be the size or grandeur of other hotels in the price range in other countries, but the quality of bed/sheets & bathroom (excellent shampoos & shower gels!) was excellent. And an exceptional private wooden balcony with outdoor shower and hammock.

Next, the staff - the best I have experienced. A lot of the staff remember your name, extremely friendly, v useful and will organise bookings for other restaurants/surf school/activities. I kept coming back with more questions or tales of surf school and they would always entertain me! A particular mention for Eva and Sebastian at front desk, who were particularly great.

Next - the sustainability is truly inspiring. It is obvious that the hotel makes quite an effort, but you really don't grasp how much work and effort the harmony makes, (not just in making the hotel environmentally sustainable but the local area and community) until you take the free sustainability tour. I would highly recommend this, you really do learn a lot about the hotel and the history of the whole of Nosara. You can even arrange to take part in the sustainability efforts through planting trees in the local reforestation effort.

The restaurant is excellent as well. All local produce (and most of the fruit and veg grown by the hotel) with a fantastic breakfast - fruit, smoothie, coffee, main course - and great fish main courses for dinner. The hotel also has a juice bar, that offers great salads and drinks.

The yoga/spa area is very picturesque (outside by a beautiful pond and garden) with great yoga classes and very relaxing massages.

Finally, the beach..... With its own private & beautiful path through to the beach, you are surrounded by wildlife (tonnes of crabs and lizards!!) and at the beach in 2 mins. Guiones beach is picture perfect: no buildings in site, miles of beach, fantastic surf & very quiet. Dramatic scenery when the clouds close in and the skies open!

We really did have a fantastic time, and I was genuinely sad to leave - perfect. Thanks to all the team! You made our honeymoon very special!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Smoothie Bar was fantastic. I really enjoyed the Yoga. The accommodations were fantastic. Place was clean and pool was great. Very private setting. Housekeeping staff were excellent. They attended to your room, twice a day.
I really enjoyed the outside showers and it was great to see Sustainability in action.
Plenty of activities to choose from.
Even was priviledged to take in the national surf contest on the beautiful Pacific Beach.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the beach have more greenery and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Harmony is beautiful, the rooms were great and the staff were awesome. The beach is a 2 minute walk and there is an awesome pool in the middle of the resort. The food was delicious - especially breakfast. Highly recommend staying at this resort

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at Harmony Hotel and would recommend it for its beautiful beach, pool, accommodations, garden, sustainability...this hotel is a tropical paradise. Harmony has maintained the natural environment on its grounds and therefore you can see wildlife as if you were in a nature preserve. The food is also wonderful, and the staff conscious of the needs of their guests and will make your stay relaxing and fun!

Room Tip: Go for the bungalow, it gives you the true experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Harmony Hotel Nosara, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Allison,
greetings from Playa Guiones in Costa Rica. Thank you for taking the time to review the Harmony Hotel on Tripadvisor. Reviews like yours really motivate us to try to get even better. We agree that the Harmony is a Tropical Paradise and are excited to see that due to the planting of native plants and trees in the past 8 years, many animals have made the gardens of Harmony their home again. Thanks for pointing out your positive experience with the food and the service by our staff. We know how important that is for a great vacation experience. Hopefully you will become one of our many repeat guests that come back to Harmony over and over. We promise to keep the special vibe going. Thanks again and all the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel has it all. Short walk to Playa Guiones which has great waves, beautiful pool, lovely staff and great food. We stayed in one of the rooms which have a private backyard with outdoor shower. The only downside is that they are quite dark since you need to close the curtains on one side as other guests walk past your room, however, it didn't bother us too much. You can always book a bungalow. The included breakfast was delicious and you could choose one additional item each morning on top of the fruit plate, juice, tea/coffee. They have an amazing wellness area where you can take part in yoga sessions or enjoy a large selection of treatments. We stayed the last three days of our honeymoon and it was the perfect end to a great Costa Rica trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place is beautiful. The place I stayed in housed 8 very comfortably, had great amenaties, including a beautful bathroom. It was about a 2 minute walk from the Pacific Ocean, with staff to give you towels along the way. It had the perfect mix of luxery and nature. Great food, especially their breakfast items, and great cocktails. Staff was eager to help in anyway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harmony Hotel Nosara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Hotel Nosara

Address: Guiones Beach, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harmony Hotel Nosara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Hotel is the perfect combination of low-key luxury, nature, wellness and sustainability. Situated on Guiones Beach in Nosara, Costa Rica, a spot well renowned for its beautiful surroundings and impressive surf, this is an excellent place to unwind, relax and get in tune with your natural rhythm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Harmony Hotel Nosara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony Hotel Nosara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.