We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pizza this side of the Atlantic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Basilico

Il Basilico
Mail Road Through Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica
2682 1472
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 40 restaurants in Nosara
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best pizza this side of the Atlantic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Who would have thought that you would find the best little pizza joint in a beach city of Nosara, CR. Il Basilico served me the most delicious, tasteful, thin crust pizza I have ever had. The flavors of mozzarella, homemade doe and sauce, and pepperoni made my pizza most enjoyable. The food was phenomenal. The atmosphere was a little dead but I credit that to the rainy evening where most people wouldn't want to travel and the slowest night of the week, Sunday.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    32
    14
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Trattoria in the jungle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Il Basilico is difficult to spot off the main road. Glad I found it though. The thin crust pizza is excellent and all the ingredients are fresh. My pasta was al dente and the sauce had unique Italian flavors. The service was fast and efficient. The atmosphere lacked vitality though.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Penna
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“So good we came back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Had Spaghetti Carbonera first time, pizza the second. Our friend had seafood spaghetti in a bowl with a pastry shell over it..resembled a pie..full of shrimp, calamari, clams, mussels ect..
Great rustic setting and good service..not pricey.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“SEA FOOD and Pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had one of our best meals in the Nosara - Guiones area at Il Basilico. Fresh sea food was done just right. Pasta for my kids tell s it all when the plates are empty after a whole day at the beach. Good service, clean nice place for a meal.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love it when I'm there-dream about it when I'm not!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

There's just no pizza like it! Try the shrimp pizza and if you need a break from saucy, cheesy heaven, the grilled shrimp salad with avocados is positively addictive!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Basilico also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste

Been to Il Basilico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Basilico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.