We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility and Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AHKi B&B Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AHKi B&B Retreat
Save
You added AHKi B&B Retreat to your Saves list
3 kilometers north of Playa Garza, Nosara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Nosara
Fleetwood, North Carolina
1 review
“Tranquility and Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A wonderful place where you can relax and be taken care of with healing meals, places to take in the beauty while you rock gently on a bed hammock, float in the serenity pool, listen to the monkeys as they pass by in the tall trees and drink in the peace of nature. Great excursions coordinated to meet my desires..........off to the beach for snorkeling/paddle boarding and awesome horseback riding into the mountains. I loved every minute of my week long stay and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: I shared a 3 person spacious upper level end room that faced the sunrise and a beautiful view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
2
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a fantastic place, stayed ten days and it was high class all the way. Beautiful views, lovely breezes, amazing pool, and Karen and Greg (who own and personally run it) are fantastic. We held a retreat here and it had the most amazing food--truly a delicious and healthy treat to eat here every single day. The view from our open air meeting space was perfect to be in Pura Vida! Bravo!

Room Tip: Best room is #6 at the end (we stayed here three nights) and loved the balcony, but for even more pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you are looking for a serene space in which to plant yourself for a few days or a week, look no farther than AHKI. This beautifully designed retreat is perched on a hilltop, with stunning views to both the ocean and mountains. Not only will your senses be nourished by the birdsong, howler monkey greetings, refreshing salt water pool, and glorious sunrises and sunsets, you will also be nourished by the incredibly tasty food and authentically kind presence of the owners, Karen and Greg. A short drive from Playa Garza (great for swimming, especially at low tide) and about 20 minutes from Guiones, AHKI is a nicely situated hideaway that truly revives mind, body, and spirit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This a special, secluded spot, far from the developed tourist areas. The calming, fung shui style buildings and surrounding rainforest gardens are punctuated by a luxurious infinity swimming pool and upper yoga studio with unbelievable views. Screened in showers make your morning shower a commune with the rainforest. The white sand beaches of Playa Guiones and Playa Pelada are a short 20-30 min drive. Lots of cute little shops, restaurants and yoga studios in Nosara itself--and friendly locals. The hosts Karen and Greg gave us a lot of good ideas for activities and great restaurants--we loved Experiece Nosara Adventures. I broke my camera while there and Karen and Greg even loaned me theirs for the remainder of the trip. Oh, and I haven't
mentioned the food yet, they have a charming local chef that prepares all your meals personally and brings fresh coconut to
you while your in the pool. And we were charmed by the families of howler monkey that make their home in the trees around
AHKI. I only wish that there had been more yoga classes available. Very reasonable for what you get!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Small and gorgeous... a place where you feel taken care of and not just in the middle of a lot of tourists surrounded by concrete. Beautiful natural scenery, sacred healing architecture with details that make you want to stay longer always. Can´t wait to learn more about their upcoming yoga retreats and healing arts.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

For my husband and I, AHKI was a place for peace and restoration. We had been traveling all year for business and needed to find balance again. We received that and much more than we expected in our 1 week stay. We were surrounded by beauty everywhere in the midst of Costa Rica views including rainbows, butterflies and monkeys. The sacred architecture of AHKI creates a healing environment. It is especially evidenced in the infinity pool (for mediation and swimming) in the elegantly natural cabinas and the yoga and healing room. We woke up to see magnificent sunrises over the mountains and ate dinner after viewing the ocean sunset. The people are fantastic. We fell in love with this place and the people and will surely return. Be sure to get a yoga or healing session while you are there.
This retreat is off the beaten path and is a wonderful journey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently stayed at Ahki for 3 nights and had what was probably the most restful and relaxing time we had on a vacation. The retreat is located on the hills above Playa Garza and Guiones in a very quiet and secluded setting. The beauty of the retreat and the surrounding area is just stunning.

Pros
- Beautiful buildings and surrounding area
- Beautiful pool and yoga studio
- Bungalows very clean, functional and private
- Healthy and delicious food
- Service
- Calm and serenity of the place

Cons
- A bit far from playa Guiones if it's what you are after

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AHKi B&B Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHKi B&B Retreat

Address: 3 kilometers north of Playa Garza, Nosara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Nosara
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AHKí Retreat is an intimate yet spacious facility, infused with simple elegance. A short hike from the main house, down a natural stone path are six guest rooms that accommodate up to 3 per room. Each room has a private bath and large unique, luxurious indoor/outdoor shower and patios that command stellar views of the mountains and valleys. Our main house offers grand views of the ocean, mountains and valleys. Enjoy good food, yoga, our mountain view pool and library for reading, films and games.Ahki is predominantly for group retreats. However, depending on availability, we may have special offers available for individual travelers if we are not booked with retreats. Please, email us through our website to inquire. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AHKi B&B Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.