We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georgeous retreat in rainforest above Nosara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AHKi B&B Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AHKi B&B Retreat
Save Saved
You added AHKi B&B Retreat to your Saves list
3 kilometers north of Playa Garza, Nosara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Nosara
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Georgeous retreat in rainforest above Nosara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This a special, secluded spot, far from the developed tourist areas. The calming, fung shui style buildings and surrounding rainforest gardens are punctuated by a luxurious infinity swimming pool and upper yoga studio with unbelievable views. Screened in showers make your morning shower a commune with the rainforest. The white sand beaches of Playa Guiones and Playa Pelada are a short 20-30 min drive. Lots of cute little shops, restaurants and yoga studios in Nosara itself--and friendly locals. The hosts Karen and Greg gave us a lot of good ideas for activities and great restaurants--we loved Experiece Nosara Adventures. I broke my camera while there and Karen and Greg even loaned me theirs for the remainder of the trip. Oh, and I haven't
mentioned the food yet, they have a charming local chef that prepares all your meals personally and brings fresh coconut to
you while your in the pool. And we were charmed by the families of howler monkey that make their home in the trees around
AHKI. I only wish that there had been more yoga classes available. Very reasonable for what you get!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
2
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Small and gorgeous... a place where you feel taken care of and not just in the middle of a lot of tourists surrounded by concrete. Beautiful natural scenery, sacred healing architecture with details that make you want to stay longer always. Can´t wait to learn more about their upcoming yoga retreats and healing arts.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

For my husband and I, AHKI was a place for peace and restoration. We had been traveling all year for business and needed to find balance again. We received that and much more than we expected in our 1 week stay. We were surrounded by beauty everywhere in the midst of Costa Rica views including rainbows, butterflies and monkeys. The sacred architecture of AHKI creates a healing environment. It is especially evidenced in the infinity pool (for mediation and swimming) in the elegantly natural cabinas and the yoga and healing room. We woke up to see magnificent sunrises over the mountains and ate dinner after viewing the ocean sunset. The people are fantastic. We fell in love with this place and the people and will surely return. Be sure to get a yoga or healing session while you are there.
This retreat is off the beaten path and is a wonderful journey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We recently stayed at Ahki for 3 nights and had what was probably the most restful and relaxing time we had on a vacation. The retreat is located on the hills above Playa Garza and Guiones in a very quiet and secluded setting. The beauty of the retreat and the surrounding area is just stunning.

Pros
- Beautiful buildings and surrounding area
- Beautiful pool and yoga studio
- Bungalows very clean, functional and private
- Healthy and delicious food
- Service
- Calm and serenity of the place

Cons
- A bit far from playa Guiones if it's what you are after

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Ahki last July while on a reconnaissance mission in search for a beautiful venue for yoga teacher trainings. My first impression upon arrival was that the space was very balanced, visually soothing yet stunning in it's simple elegance. The ambience is fabulous. The pool and adjoining gazebos are instantly both calming and inviting. The yoga shala boasts lovely views of the ocean and sits up among the treetops. The bedrooms are chic, charming and extremely comfortable....overall a feeling of real comfort and aesthetic satisfaction. The icing on the cake is the delightful company of owners Karen & Greg. They are relaxed, super attentive to their guests needs, warm, open, intelligent, sensitive beings....and a very important component to making the stay at Ahki so enjoyable. And the food! Divine! Muchos gracias Karen & Greg for being so gracious! Rose Baudin

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This place is a "Sanctuary for the Soul". Upon entering the property you will be greeted with the serene sounds of nature, and meditative music. We felt so relaxed after our 3 hour journey from San Jose. We enjoyed both the views and the FABULOUS retreat Karen and Greg have created. This should be a destination for anyone traveling to Costa Rica! There are many activities near by including Horseback riding, zip lining, surfing, or simply enjoying the infinity pool! The cabinas are well appointed with modern amenities. We had a supremely comfortable stay!
Thank you, Karen and Greg for your gracious hospitality!

Room Tip: They are all fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The owners, Greg and Karen Heil, are friendly, welcoming, entertaining, and just downright wonderful people! I love them, Ahki, and everything they have created together in the spectacular Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica. Ahki is one of the most unique and beautiful resorts I have ever visited, and as a Yoga instructor, I am in love with the amazing energy and architecture of this enchanting space. Only in Indian temples had I experienced Vastu Shastra inspired design until Ahki, yet here it is in all its beauty in Costa Rica. Everything in Ahki is alive and vibrant and reflects Greg and Karen’s intentions and personalities.

The cuisine is out of this world; the cabinas and guest rooms are gorgeous, with spa-like private indoor-outdoor showers. Yes, you can shower in the jungle! The views of the mountains, valleys, and Pacific Coast are breathtaking! And then there is the Yoga studio: no words can describe it—it has to be experienced. I cannot say enough good things about this wonderful place, but thank you, thank you, thank you for an amazing time and priceless experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms have wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AHKi B&B Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHKi B&B Retreat

Address: 3 kilometers north of Playa Garza, Nosara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Nosara
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AHKí Retreat is an intimate yet spacious facility, infused with simple elegance. A short hike from the main house, down a natural stone path are six guest rooms that accommodate up to 3 per room. Each room has a private bath and large unique, luxurious indoor/outdoor shower and patios that command stellar views of the mountains and valleys. Our main house offers grand views of the ocean, mountains and valleys. Enjoy good food, yoga, our mountain view pool and library for reading, films and games.Ahki is predominantly for group retreats. However, depending on availability, we may have special offers available for individual travelers if we are not booked with retreats. Please, email us through our website to inquire. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AHKi B&B Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.