We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally refreshing experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Playa Garza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Nosara Playa Garza Hotel to your Saves list
Nosara Playa Garza Hotel
Playa Garza, Nosara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Nosara
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Totally refreshing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

After a long days drive, we were welcomed in good spirits by Uri, Guido and Nacho, the resident staff. They made this stay most enjoyable. Uri definitely promoted a relaxed, familiar vibe in the place, and ran it well. He helped us out with horseback riding on the quiet beach, though the horses could've been better selected. Guido is a master of pizza (coming from a couple of New Yorkers) and his fish dishes are not to be missed. Nacho is friendly, most helpful, and plays a mean guitar. Their candor was welcoming and their knowledge of the surrounding area gave us plenty to do. The grounds were a perfect fit to a beach side hotel, being only a minutes walk to the beach and gave plenty of space to relax. The sounds of the closeby waves could be heard, and although the decor was not "romantic", it gave us the means to unwind and be secluded. The loveable dogs Minnie and Brownie were fun to play with, especially beside the pool. Overall, the guys were great and the location was perfect. We will be visiting again and for a much longer time. Pura vida chicos!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
28
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Playa Garza itself is very small and with few people, which is often just what I'm looking for. It comes complete with a nice beach for walking and swimming, and occasionally surfing.

I called Playa Garza Hotel home for a few weeks, and am so happy that I did. The service feels more like friendship, which is just what I like in a place. Great food, great people, great animals.

Do it!

Room Tip: The room in the upper right has a kitchen, and is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I would suggest this place to anybody! The hotel is very nice and clean, really close (50 meters!) to the wonderful beach of Playa Garza. The food was great and the pizza amazing (I'm Italian, you can trust me!). The bathroom was very comfortable and the shower was the best one I found on Costa Rica (with hot water!). But what made this place unique was the athmosphere: Juri and his stuff treated me as family, they were kind and sooo funny! Best holiday ever!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I just got back from a study abroad program traveling around and exploring Costa Rica. Honestly, when our group was heading here I was not expecting much from this small hotel. I was totally wrong and staying here for only two days was one of the best experiences I have had traveling internationally. Playa Garza Hotel is the perfect place to have a relaxing and beautiful stay while paying the cheap price! Whether you want to walk to the beach, sleep in the several hammocks they have, or swim in their crystal blue pool...you will never be bored while staying here! I am so glad that this place was on our itinerary. Staying here you get to personally know the owner Juri and his other helpers because they interact with their guests. I will never forget the first night where we got a chance to listen to them sing and play guitar all night long. It felt like home but also as if I was in paradise! I absolutely love this place and wish I could have stayed longer! I will definitely be coming back here when I visit Costa Rica again. P.S the beach is in walkable distance which makes this place even more amazing! PURA VIDA!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Hotel Playa Garza is an oasis hidden on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica. For those who wish to hold up in an expensive resort and never see the real Costa Rica, stop reading now. You others with the adventuring heart well love the step back in time to what it was like when only surfers traveled the coast line in search of the perfect wave.

The Hotel Garza will take you down that road of sand, sea, and surf, without the need to sleep on the beach. The rooms are clean and comfortable but nothing fancy; however, the price makes up for not having a flat screen and there is hot water and free Wi Fi. There are rooms with AC and without, and depending in which season you come as to needing an AC or not. April is the end of the dry season and it gets very humid at this time so we went for the AC.

Our host Juri and his staff speak English and within minutes of your arrival you will feel like you are part of the family. They offer surfboards for surfing or paddling. Up the street you can rent horses and go for a ride. Get a massage, or take yoga classes. The days are Pura Vida and the nights are heavenly. Juri was born in Rome and a better Italian meal would be hard to find. Everything is homemade and fresh. We had a pizza with fresh Italian sausage made from a family recipe. It was the best sausage I ever put in my mouth.

Take a night walk along the beach or have a cold drink or hot coffee around the pool, while the sounds of waves crashing against the shore fill the air. We took a night dip in the pool and it sounded like the waves were on the other side of the trees. For more information you can reach Juri at:

Room Tip: After April go with the AC but during the dry season save a few bucks and go with just the ceiling f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We've travelled a lot and normally stay in places that have a higher price tag and a bit more luxury but wanted to start our trip in a less touristy area than Samara Beach and we were lured in by all the positive trip advisor reviews. We had to see what all the hype was about.
We were greeted by name with a huge smile by Yuri who runs the place. He showed us to our second floor room with 2 queen beds and bathroom. The room is spacious and has a great fan- no need for A/C. Nothing luxury about it. Room is totally bare bones - in all honesty more of a hostel vibe than a hotel so adjust your expectations but very clean and not a bug in site. The pool is refreshing and kept very clean and the hotel is a 2 mins walk across the street from the expansive and unpopulated beach.
The best thing about the place is Yuri and his staff- they're personable friendly funny and can really cook. Had a great breakfast and dinner here. The little bar and restaurant is a great place to chill and enjoy good conversation with your travel companions or the staff. They have a great atmosphere and play concert DVD's during dinner and keep the drinks flowing. It's a small town with not much to do but perfect place to relax for a few nights. Very chill laid back spot but if you're looking for a proper hotel with reception or stuffy staff you may be disappointed - that said, we loved it. My only regret is that we miscommunicated on who left the tip and accidentally didn't leave one at all-but they really deserved one! Top notch service. We'll be sure to tip twice on our next visit! Thanks guys!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

These guys might have been best hosts in Costa Rica. Super friendly, love what they do. The hotel was clean and welcoming, the pool was excellent, and its right next to the beach. The only downside is Playa Garza is a small town (very small). If you're looking for a nice calm tranquil place, this is it. Great spot for fishers. We however were just a touch bored with the town, so for us, the restaurant was nice to have attached the hotel. Overall a great place to come for a few nights of relaxation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nosara Playa Garza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nosara Playa Garza Hotel

Address: Playa Garza, Nosara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa Garza is a nice, quiet and clean hotel at only 50 m from the beach. There are 4 standard room with a/c, private bathroom, and hot water, 2 apartments with kitchen, private bathroom and hot water. There is one nice swimming pool, Italian restaurant with all kinds of pasta and pizza. The room and apartment can be rented for long term with better price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Nosara Playa Garza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosara Playa Garza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.