We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Beach Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nosara Beach Hostel to your Saves list
Nosara Beach Hostel
200 meters south of Harbor Reef Hotel | Punta Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Nosara
Venice, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This place is great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I just stayed here for four nights. It's a great spot to hang out when you're not surfing. There's a big kitchen, which you'll want to use once you realize how expensive the restaurants are in town. The staff is friendly, and the rooms are clean. Oh, and there are three awesome caramel-colored dogs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
6
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was at the hostel for a great week and a half. I met tons of fun people, the surf was just a few minutes away, and there is a big deck with lots of hammocks. The hostel staff were great, and everything was clean and safe. I definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I blindly booked this place after coming down to Nosara from noisy Tamarindo and instantly fell in love with the tranquility of this place. The hostel is just steps away from Guiones beach, so you may rent a surfboard for the length of your stay and go catch waves first thing in the morning without hustle and bustle of lineups in surfshops. Kitchen is very clean and inviting for cooking your own food; living room is great for socializing with other peeps or watching movies. Diria and Gerardo are such lovely folks who will answer your every question and take care of booking transportation if you decide to escape from the hostel for a bit. My overall experience at Nosara Beach was superb, and I highly recommend to book your accommodations there. Oh, and while you are there, make sure to check out Gerardo's green house and ask tons of questions about the amazing Costas Verdes project!!! I will definitely be back :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la playa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

The hostel is only a few steps away from the beach and the waves making surfing very convinient. The atmosphere is super relaxing with plenty of hammoks around the large garden. Super friendly staff, as soon as we walked in Dee welcomed us with hugs and good vibes and through our stay everyone was super friendly. Really nice large kitchen with everything you need to make your meals. I will be back as soon as possible. Pura vida.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

It is just the place you want to stay. Near the beach, the most friendly peoplo and the best vibes. I stayed there for a week looking for good surfing and a relaxing and chill enviroment. I did found it in the Beach Hostel. It is only you with the nature. Only you with the animal singing, the sea sounds. It is fully recomended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was my first time staying in a hostel and I must say it was the best experience yet! It's literally in walking distance to the beach, shops/markets and bars. Nosora Beach Hostel's staff was amazing..D is the sweetest host! The rooms, kitchen and common area remained cleaned at all times.... no complaints! Love the back yard, cool and relaxing scene with ample amounts of hammocks to chill. I met so many cool people while staying here. I definitely recommend to anyone who's looking for a family/friend environment. Also, the place is very reasonably priced!

- we miss you D (930/DC crew) !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Nosara Beach Hostel is the way to go if you are travelling alone and also trying to save money! You get the most bang for your buck. The staff is beyond awesome (especially Dinia aka D)!!!! The staff made sure my friend and I were comfortable and always were willing to fix any problems we had with our rooms or just simple trouble shooting with any of the amenities. The location is perfect right by the beach and exactly where you want to be!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nosara Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nosara Beach Hostel

Address: 200 meters south of Harbor Reef Hotel | Punta Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located in the thick of the jungle just 100 meters from the gorgeous Playa Guiones in Nosara, Costa Rica. Guiones is well known for it’s consistent surf break, which attracts surfers and beach lovers young and old from all over the world.When you’re taking a break from the beach, relax in one of the many hammocks on the breezy wrap around patio and listen to the soothing sea. Make a new friend and play foosball, ping-pong, or volleyball in the huge yard. In the common room there are board games, Play Station 3, free wireless Internet and plenty of comfy chairs and couches to lounge around on. Totally necessary if you take full advantage of all that Nosara has to offer:Horseback riding from mountains to beachZip lining high above the jungleKayaking and stand up paddling on the river4 wheel drive quad toursTurtle watching in Ostional, or if you’re lucky maybe you’ll see one in Guiones!Bonfires on the beach under the starsPlenty of options for yoga and Pilates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Nosara Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosara Beach Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.