We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin Bill's

Marlin Bill's
Next to Coconut Harry's Surf Shop | Diagonally across from Cafe de Paris, Nosara, Costa Rica
2682 0458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 40 Restaurants in Nosara
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Continental, Contemporary, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: In business since 1994, Marlin Bill's offers guests of our open-air dining room panoramic views of Guiones, the ocean, and Costa Rica's world-famous sunsets, along with mouth-watering options from our eclectic menu of choice steaks, chops, fresh seafood, family fare, and dreamy desserts. Daily food and drink specials, and our ability to cater to large parties, make Marlin Bill's beloved by both visitors and locals.
isle of palms,sc
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Three of us had dinners of fresh grilled fish, Corvina and Mahi. Good service and fun environs. Great bar with darts! We ate there twice while in Nosara.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hola! We're so happy you and your party enjoyed your visits with us- and that your first time was so pleasant, you came back, again! We take pride in serving excellent food in an environment that makes guests feel at home, so we're always glad to learn we succeeded in that endeavor! We'll make sure to have the darts ready, so come back when you can! Until then, we wish you safe travels. Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
“Great Atmosphere and Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had the best burgers South of the Equator at Marlin Bills! So happy we had the good fortune to enjoy this restaurant during our amazing vacation in Nosara. Great bar with awesome people and fantastic service!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hola, Maggie! We're glad you had a great time during your stay in our little slice of paradise, and are so happy your experience at Marlin Bill's was such an enjoyable part of your visit! We pride ourselves on our burgers, which are a favorite of both locals and visitors, and although we've never heard them called "best burgers south of the Equator," we may have to rename them! Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit with us! Until next time we see you here in Guinones, we wish you safe travels! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juanillo, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best American Style Bugers and More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I live in the area and so know there are plenty of great food choices. For the best burgers and grilled fish sandwiches, stop here. They make their own onion rings too. Love it!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Hola, Christina! Thank you for your review! Since you live in the area and are familiar with Marlin Bill's, you know we take pride in everything we do, and that we are happy our burgers, fish sandwiches, and onion rings are a favorite with locals, as well as visitors to Guiones. Our goal is to give our guests a great experience, and great food, every time, and we love hearing that we've achieved that goal! We hope to see you soon! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Ate supper here twice. Service was great and so was the food. We ordered the same thing both times it was so good. Blackened Mahimahi. Very good but had some kick, jalapeño chicken omg so good! The dinner buns they serve with the meal are so fresh and the chimi churi ( sorry not sure on the spelling) was so so good.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Hola, Amber!

We love hearing that you enjoyed your experience at Marlin Bill's so much, you ate with us twice during your stay! We work hard to give our guests the best food and service possible, and are gratified when a guest lets us know we're getting things right! Also, we pride ourselves on our fresh seafood, so we're happy to know you loved our mahi mahi- enough to eat it twice! We hope to see you on your next visit to Nosara/Playa Guiones, and we promise the mahi mahi- and those dinner rolls you liked so much- will be just as fresh and delicious! Until then, safe travels! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good lunch place with ocean view & breeze”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

My kids needed a good burger after a week of vegan food at yoga spa! The service was friendly. The breeze was amazing as it was quite hot in March. And the owner's perrot was visiting patrons who were interested. Cute. Good salads for the vegans.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinBills, Guest Relations Manager at Marlin Bill's, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hola!

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and that we could make your kiddos happy! Our burgers are a favorite with both locals and visitors, and we happily take pride in them! Sometimes, you just need a good burger, and when you do, we're the place to go! We do have those great salads for vegans and non-vegans, though, so we have a little bit of something for everyone! We're also glad you enjoyed the breeze and views our location offers. As you noted, March can be quite warm in Guiones, but the breezes on our deck take the edge off. As for our owner's dog, Birdie, she's a "sometimes" visitor, but definitely a "fan favorite" when she comes to "work." Our bar cats are a beloved part of our ambiance, as well, but as you wrote, we only let them join our guests if they're welcomed and wanted. We look forward to seeing you when our local yoga spas call you back, and we'll definitely have burgers on the menu when your kids are ready for one! Until then, happy and safe travels! Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlin Bill's also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Marlin Bill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlin Bill's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.