We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Tucan - stayed here many times and always loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Tucan

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Casa Tucan
Across from The Harmony, Nosara, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 40 Restaurants in Nosara
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
San Clemente, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Casa Tucan - stayed here many times and always loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

great hotel and restaurant. I have stayed here many times over the years as a single traveler or with a girlfriend and always loved it. My trip in 2012 was for 3 weeks and 2013 was for 5 weeks. The staff is great and always took care of me. Ceviche is great along with most of their other dishes. Unfortunately this hotel may be closed down. End of an era for Nosara, as I had stayed here on every trip I've taken to CR since 1990

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LaBelle, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

You are eating outside. A little warm in July. Food was very good. Karaoke on Thursday night was a trip, add a few shots of tequila, it was a hoot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place for beer, ceviche and good people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We didn't stay at Casa Tucan Hotel, but it proved to be our home-away-from home for three evenings for our post-surf beer and ceviche. Service here is just great - the ladies who run the bar are so friendly and fun to chat with. We also met a lot of great people at the bar, both locals and tourists alike. The most surprising thing here is the ceviche - probably the best we had out of the 10 or so that we tried in Costa Rica. It may look like a dive from the outside, but don't be intimidated - everyone is so warm and welcoming, the beer is ice cold and the atmosphere is great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Reallu really good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

WE brought them our fresh catch, twice! First night Mahi, second time Snapper. They prepared the fish 2 or 3 different ways and provided large bowls of veggies and rice as sides. Both nights were excellent! Sorry though, never ordered off the menu. The staff was very friendly and provided great service!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on our first night in playa guiones, the atmosphere was great as was the service. The food was good, not great and the prices are a bit high although everything in the area is.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Tucan also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Casa Tucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Tucan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.