We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tacos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KayaSol Restaurant

KayaSol Restaurant
Playa Guiones, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica
011-506-2682-1459
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 43 Restaurants in Nosara
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
france
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Defo a place to recommend! The tacos are fabulous and every single item on the plate is home made!

I wish I took a pic to show that but it was really yummy!

The staff is really smiley!

Go for the banano fresco jugo too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    32
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carbondale, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This is an easy place to come straight off the beach. This is an open restaurant that allows you to come out of the sun and still be outside. The food is really good and the wait staff makes your eating experience enjoyable. Some nights live music is offered. An all around great place.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great restaurant, sweet environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The interior of the open air restaurant is just cool. Great place to see music when they do. Diverse menu. Its a good place to eat. I stayed there once and liked it. No ac and ordinary beds, small room, good price, great location. We rented house this time and appreciated the restaurant more when we went back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent portions and flavor--my wife and I love Kaya Sol”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Of the many options in Playa Guiones, my favorite is Kaya Sol, and so you should note that opinion, which could make my review biased. In 2011, during my first trip to Guiones, Kaya Sol was called Rising Sun, and it was fantastic. When I returned in 2012, Kaya Sol had taken the spot, but the menu was the same, and I was so pleased to have some of my favorites again. (Note: apparently, the original owners sold the restaurant to the folks who named it Rising Sun, but the original owners reacquired the restaurant and named it Kaya Sol.)

I am not going to rate any specific dishes in this review; instead, I will just offer some general thoughts about Kaya Sol. The portions are ample for the prices, and the fish is superb.

The half order of fish nachos is huge and sells for about $7 USD, a really fantastic value, considering the amount of fresh local fish. The curry dishes are really tasty. The burritos are excellent: huge and flavorful.

My only suggestion for improvement is service--like many places in town. When the restaurant gets busy--and sometimes even if it is slow--the service can be slow.

* * * *

Overall, Kaya Sol is great: for its value and its excellent seafood. Try the specials on the board or order from the menu: it's all good.

Enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is casual. Portions are generally on the large size. There are little inconsistencies; probably the result of remote location of Guiones... (Take what is available, when the distributer truck arrives.) A certain type of fries one night, different the next. I love the fish taco plate, as it totally satisfies, and generally provides me with two meals. (Leftover for lunch the next day.) My husband had the Mahi mahi special one night and it was amazing! The fish was fresh and tender and as good as it gets, with vegies and mashed potatoes, and a delicious sauce (coconut?) that complimented, rather than over powered. They are always open; breakfast, lunch and dinner and there is always something good on the menu. Situated in North Guines, very reliable and accessible, if you are in that area. Staff is smiling and fun.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KayaSol Restaurant also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to KayaSol Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KayaSol Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.