We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Serivce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Dog Cafe

Beach Dog Cafe
Playa Guones, Nosara, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 43 Restaurants in Nosara
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Great beachfront spot. Smoothies and fish tacos are excelent! Needs to be on Tripadvisor. Breakfast/lunch - open to 3.
Newburgh, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Serivce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The service at the Beach Dog Cafe couldn't have been better. The owner was a great guy who was willing to help out whenever he could to make our experience great. All of the food was great , the table found the fresh chips, guacamole, and the bean dip amazing. Other hits were the mango chicken tacos and the fish tacos.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    43
    16
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

When you see a place called Beach Dog Cafe right next to the beach, you're naturally inclined to want to try it out. Who wouldn't? But what I didn't expect was that the food would be so incredible. We ate here 5 or 6 times in our stay in Nosara - and every single time we ordered different items and were amazed time and time again with how great the food was.

Our kids liked that they could order breakfast for lunch, enjoying pancakes with fruit and even chocolate chips. And one night, we came hoping for dessert for the kids, only to find out they only had one thing on the menu - a smore-like quesadilla. My kids are rather picky and I didn't think they'd like it, but I ordered it anyway, Turned out they loved it!

We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Open on Sunday, thank goodness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We didn't realize that they roll up the sidewalks of Nosara and Playa Guiones on Sundays, and we were starving! We were so glad to find that Beach Dawg was open! We were a family of 6, and we got five different smoothies plus a beer, an order of chips and salsa/guacamole, six entrees, and we split two desserts, for $116. Everyone enjoyed their food, and we all went away satisfied!

We loved the peach smoothie the best! The quesadilla portion was a little small, but the chicken sandwich and BBQ chicken sandwich portions were generous. We also liked the grande hombre gallo pinto chicken burrito and the stir fry chicken. We loved the dessert- peanut butter, banana, chocolate quesadilla with whipped cream!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner, Always a Winner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Veggie scramble for breakfast, and or smoothie, tacos for lunch with yummiest tap beer, and pad Thai for dinner you can't go wrong!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“go for the 3 dip dip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

easy laid back with ice cold drafts and some of the best salsa we ever had - short walk back to Paradise Rentals

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Dog Cafe also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Beach Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.