We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu

Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu
Nosara, Costa Rica
+506 8413 8889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: SIBU Sanctuary is located in Santa Marta - 3.3 miles from the north entrance to Playas de Nosara and 15 + minutes from Playa Guiones. We are a 50 acre jungle garden reserve, surrounded by thousands of acres of jungle and located between the Rio Nosara and Rio Montana. We are a care / rehabilitation and Step Down Release Center for the area's injured and orphaned wildlife, returning them back into the wild. Those who cannot be released, receive life term care. Please note that we are NOT a petting zoo. These animals are all slated to be returned back into the wild. No interaction is allowed. Our facilities include a non-primate / quarantine habitat, two 70ft.X75ft habitats, three stories tall encompassing trees, with movable walls to adapt to any enclosure requirement and a new 2 1/2 story tall, Step Out Habitat with movable walls.. . We offer Up Close and Personal Educational visits by ADVANCE RESERVATION only.We cater to adults who wish to know more about the plight of Costa Rica's arboreal wildlife with the effect of man's encroachment into their habitat. Children are welcome but must be supervised. Visit our web site to learn more about our Educational Visits, participate in our Adopt-A-Monkey Program or to inquire about becoming a volunteer.
Wien
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2015 NEW

The sanctuary is run by 2 amazing people but if you are looking for a primate experience be prepared to be a little disappointed. Of the 3 hours you spend there only about 1/2 an hour is actually spent in the sanctuary. The rest is touring the property, which is beautiful but wasnt my purpose for visiting.

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
421default, Owner at Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Kathi,
We thank you for taking your time to come visit SIBU Sanctuary - "where the wild things are". We're sorry you did not receive the amount of time with the primates that you were anticipating. Our Educational Visits are designed to inform visitors of far more than being "up close and personal" to these magnificent beings.
The "visit us" tab on our web site goes into great detail about each phase of our visits from our personal exposure into the problem of man's encroachment into the habitats of Costa Rica's wildlife to a walking lecture though our 50 jungle garden acres discussing this country's biodiversity and the symbiotic relationships found in this small country. Additionally, we feel it is important to share with our visitorsi why there are so many orphaned and injured arboreal wildlife. Our educational programs, prevention programs as well as our work with the government electric providers are also main topics of discussion we feel are imperative to convey to our visitors so they may see "the whole picture".
While we strive to limit our program to two hours, invariably we continue much longer as we have so much to share with our visitors as well as answer the many questions our visitors have.
The very nature of a Step Down Release Facility is to have limited exposure to humans so these animals can renew their wild instincts as they are returned back into the wild. After all, it's all about them and not us. While we apologize for not affording you the time you felt you deserved with the primates, we hope you enjoyed the complete presentation and understand why we limit access to the primates. Thank you again for your support in helping these animals back into the wild.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

These people are passionate about what are they doing and also trying to work with the government to change there electrical poles . Costa Rica has more wildlife electrocuted from their grid system than probably any other country in the world. This is not a zoo or someone's random collection of monkeys. They are a true rescue and release program and they need donors badly. We have visited over 5 rescue centers in the country . So far this place has it down even on a shoe string budget . Since we have visited . All we can think of is how can we help more. Go !!!

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2015

Whether you are in Nosara for a surf trip or any other reason, please make sure to visit and support SIBU. This is a rare example of folks taking hands-on action to make the world a better place. I cannot recommend SIBU highly enough!

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Graciousness Personified ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2015

Steve and Vickie are amazing human beings. Their work is so important to maintaining the pura vida Costa Rica that we all come to see. Please make a point of stopping in for the tour (and being mindful of the donation). It is the sweet spirits like these that exit the earth knowing they did their part to leave us all a bit better off.

I visited today with others passing through the area. Steve and Vickie were kind enough to spend more than 2 hours explaining their mission to a multicultural group.

If you can make the time, visit. If not, please consider a donation.

Visited July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Sibu Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

muy bueno, muy lindo excelente, genial.
este lugar was Top Notch really recommended place, dont forget to visit this.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu also viewed

El Guapote, Tamarindo
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.