We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and inspirational- must visit in Nosara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu

Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu
Nosara, Costa Rica
+506 8413 8889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at SIBU is located minutes from Playa Guiones, Nosara. We are a 50 acre jungle garden reserve, surrounded by thousands of acres of jungle and located between the Rio Nosara and Rio Montana. We are a care / rehabilitation and Step Down Release Center for the area's injured and orphaned wildlife, returning them back into the wild. Those who cannot be released, receive life term care. Our facilities include a non-primate / quarantine habitat, 70ft.X75ft habitats, three stories tall to encompass trees, with movable walls to adapt to any enclosure requirement. We also have an Open Canopy Habitat that is approximately 1/3 of an acre. Our new volunteer casita can house up to 4 volunteers to live on site during their stay at SIBU. We offer Up Close and Personal Educational visits by advance reservation only. Visit our web site to participate in our Adopt-A-Monkey Program or to inquire about becoming a volunteer at Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at SIBU
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing and inspirational- must visit in Nosara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

The couple that owns this sanctuary is amazing, the work they do is amazing, and visiting is one of the most special things I've done in my life. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Get close with the howler monkeys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

A visit to SIBU supports the mission of rescuing and rehabbing injured or orphaned monkeys for release back to the wild. The sanctuary is a beautiful place to visit, and a highly rewarding experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sibu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Very cool place. The owners have made it their life's mission to protect the monkeys through rehabilitation and education. Our whole family loved the tour.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

My husband and I were staying in playa Junquillal and made the difficult 1.5 hour drive south on really bad roads but what we found at sibu was worth every bump! These people are amazing and care so much for all the animals of Costa Rica! They are passionate and knowledgeable and make your visit worth every penny you donate. Don't miss this amazing experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gringos looking after Monkeys, big hearted place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

These guys really want to help, and not encourage wildlife as pets. Great Intentioned, making a difference, dedicated to making a change. Love the dedication. You get to see the Monkets , in the cage, but best not to touch.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
El Guapote, Tamarindo
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.