We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and inspirational - two people being the change they want to see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu

Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu
Nosara, Costa Rica
+506 8413 8889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at SIBU is located minutes from Playa Guiones, Nosara. We are a 50 acre jungle garden reserve, surrounded by thousands of acres of jungle and located between the Rio Nosara and Rio Montana. We are a care / rehabilitation and Step Down Release Center for the area's injured and orphaned wildlife, returning them back into the wild. Those who cannot be released, receive life term care. Our facilities include a non-primate / quarantine habitat, 70ft.X75ft habitats, three stories tall to encompass trees, with movable walls to adapt to any enclosure requirement. We also have an Open Canopy Habitat that is approximately 1/3 of an acre. Our new volunteer casita can house up to 4 volunteers to live on site during their stay at SIBU. We offer Up Close and Personal Educational visits by advance reservation only. Visit our web site to participate in our Adopt-A-Monkey Program or to inquire about becoming a volunteer at Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at SIBU
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing and inspirational - two people being the change they want to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015 NEW

This was quite possibly my favorite experience in Nosara. The tour starts with some information about the land, the flora and fauna and how the sanctuary was started and while you may be impatient to get to the monkeys, this part of the tour is interesting and important. Steve and Vicki are two people who saw something terrible happening - monkeys getting electrocuted by uncovered electrical wires in the jungle - and instead of saying "This is terrible, someone should do something about it" they said "This is terrible, let's do something about it" and do something they did. It's clear that this work is a labor of love but man, is it labor. It's just the two of them, one or two staff and a few volunteers caring for all of these monkeys and the 50 acres of land the sancturary sits on. Vicki has to feed the babies by hand every few hours, every day and night and when we were there she was talking to us while feeding one and then another. I feel cannot do this experience justice and would encourage anyone and everyone to go. The $65 for the tour goes to the expenses of running the sanctuary, in fact Vicki was taking the money from our tour and going to the hardware store right after we left, talk about grassroots! If you can, give them a little more, they are living very modestly up there in the jungle, almost everything goes to the monkeys. Go, go, go!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Inspirational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015 NEW

It's hard to know what to say to adequately convey the scope of what these two people have done and are doing, the only way to really appreciate it is to go. I'm going to be honest when we first got there, I was anxious to just kind of get to the point, i.e. the monkeys, and not journey all over the sanctuary learning about the flora, fauna, environment etc. It was a hot, hot day and I started out feeling like, "I don't need to know this stuff, show me the monkeys!" But you simply can't appreciate the effort Steve and Vicki are making without seeing the property and once I calmed down it was actually very interesting. It's amazing to see what a difference two dedicated people can make (I'm getting weepy just writing this review) when they decide they are going to and just keep putting one foot in front of the other. Here's a summary of what they're doing (essentially by themselves with a couple of volunteers): building, maintaining (tons of maintenance required) and expanding a huge enclosure for the monkeys, acquiring and overseeing veterinary care for the animals, bottle feeding and hand raising the orphaned baby monkeys, constantly planting trees and other vegetation to create suitable and sustainable 50 acre area for the rehabbed monkeys to live in as they transition to the wild, growing (and buying) food for the animals, working with the local, regional, and national government and utilities to solve the problem of un-insulated power lines that are killing and maiming hundreds of monkeys throughout costa rica (this effort alone is huge and involved doing an overflight of the peninsula to create a map of the power lines, updating that map as the lines get insulated, finding a company to make the silicone insulation, etc --and by etc, I mean too many things for me to even type and steve and vicki are actually doing them), wrestling an occasional boa constrictor that preys on the monkeys, and MORE. I can't over-emphasize the magnitude of the effort they are putting in. AND IT'S ALL FUNDED BY THE FEW VISITORS THEY CAN ACCOMMODATE AT THE SANCTUARY (although they didn't say so, it's clear they have spent whatever personal savings they once had on this project). So just go. And if you can afford it, throw them some extra in addition to the $60. They literally use your donations the same day, it's that grass-roots. Bonus: They are really interesting to talk to, our driver was late picking us up and steve hung out with us waiting for him, he was super interesting and fun to chat with.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Hergott Clan from Ontario Canada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015 via mobile

Our thanks to Vicki and Steve for providing the opportunity to visit the sanctuary. We love Nosara and everything in it and the love of nature and dedication to the preservation of the health of the Howler Monkeys in need shown through the tireless work of these wonderful people exemplify the core beauty of this area. Our tour of the grounds and the visit to the protected temporary home keeping the animals safe show this energy to the visitor although there is no expectation of reward other than the affordable fee to experience the passion. We were three generations together enjoying this memorable tour and we are already planning a return with hopeful donations of items needed at SIBU Sanctuary. Our sincere gratitude once again to Vicki and Steve for this day and for their dedication and work. The Howler Monkeys are a key ingredient to our visits to the area and we appreciate the love and respect they are able to find during their times of need.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Cal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Kind people, big mission, barebones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

These folks are angels, working hard to help orphaned howler monkeys. Don't expect a slick facility though - they'll show you a video in their living room, serve you drinks in their tiny kitchen and talk a lot about their interrupted dreams for a carefree retirement. But their dedication to the animals shines through and is heart warming. A great way to spend an afternoon and learn something about the howler monkeys of Costa Rica!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a beautiful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

What can I say. This was an amazing experience, not only because of the monkeys who couldn't be any cuter but also to witness such love, dedication, passion and full time commitment from Vicki and Steve. It was a beautiful thing and I hope people go to support their cause because they need it and the monkeys need it. Together we can make a difference. Beautiful.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.