We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“your heart will melt!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu

Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu
Nosara, Costa Rica
+506 8413 8889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Type: Nature & wildlife areas, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at SIBU is located minutes from Playa Guiones, Nosara. We are a 50 acre jungle garden reserve, surrounded by thousands of acres of jungle and located between the Rio Nosara and Rio Montana. We are a care / rehabilitation and Step Down Release Center for the area's injured and orphaned wildlife, returning them back into the wild. Those who cannot be released, receive life term care. Our facilities include a non-primate / quarantine habitat, 70ft.X75ft habitats, three stories tall to encompass trees, with movable walls to adapt to any enclosure requirement. We also have an Open Canopy Habitat that is approximately 1/3 of an acre. Our new volunteer casita can house up to 4 volunteers to live on site during their stay at SIBU. We offer Up Close and Personal Educational visits by advance reservation only. Visit our web site to participate in our Adopt-A-Monkey Program or to inquire about becoming a volunteer at Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at SIBU
2 reviews
“your heart will melt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015 NEW

The work that Steve and Vicki are doing is absolutely amazing. They have the biggest hearts and the world needs more people like this and more people (like us) so support them. These poor orphans will have a chance, thanks to them. The tour of the facility and the educational lecture is really fascinating but it is the time that you spend observing these adorable little monkeys in their temporary home is absolutely the highlight. They are ADORABLE. I read the howler monkey population has decreased by 50% in the last 12 years or something, so really Steve and Vicki's work is sooo important, to be able to release the orphans when they are ready. If I ever make it back to this part of C.R. I will definitely visit again.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Again a wonderful visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

We visited Sibu for the second and again we really enjoyed it. Steve, Vicky and all the other people do a wonderful job. It is a must visit if you go to Nosara and support all the good work they do!

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“no words can express....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

... how amazing this visit was! Steve is quite a character and your visit starts with a small hike of the property, during which he will talk about the flora and fauna and the work the two of them (!) have done planting and maintaining it. Vicki is a sweet lady who is truly passionate about her work. She gives a short presentation about the way the monkey come to them and there is a 4 minute video that will break your heart; the heartache will ease somewhat as the tour continues and you meet the monkeys! You will meet them face to face, with no barrier, but you are asked not to touch them. They don't mind you being there and just get on with their monkey business -- playing, eating and lounging. Two little capuchins rule the roost and keep Steve and Vicki on their toes, as they are so smart they have been known to break in to the monkey pantry and host a party.

These people work so hard and when we were done it seemed like the $50 per person donation was very little to ask.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

A highlight of our trip, this wonderful sanctuary is a must see. You cannot help but be spellbound by this place. A huge amount of admiration for what Steve and Vicki have achieved and their tireless efforts. Thank God for people like this! They are both so knowledgeable and facinating to listen to. Their work to raise awareness and protect the wildlife of Costa Rica is inspring. They offer you a very special experience which is suitable for any age. We took our 1 year who had a wonderful time. I only hope that we get a chance to return in the future!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

I can't say enough about this sanctuary. Vikki and Steve are unbelievable in their dedication and love of Howler monkeys. Not only did we get up close and personal with the monkeys, but we learned so much about their special needs. it is a shame that Costa Rican officials are not supporting this sanctuary. Howler monkeys are getting electrocuted by the high electrical wires that crisscross the country side. Vikki and Steve take in these injured monkeys, especially the orphaned babies and do an amazing job rehabilitating them so they can go back to the wild. They need all the support they can get. An excellent visit! A donation is expected and well worth it.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu also viewed

Tenorio Volcano National Park, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.