We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A morning not to be missed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Refuge for Wildlife - Private Visits

Nosara Refuge for Wildlife - Private Visits
Nosara, Costa Rica
+506 2682 5049
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Attractions in Nosara
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At Brenda Bombard's "Nosara Refuge for Wildlife" We rescue, rehabilitate and releases back into the jungle, injured and orphaned Howler Monkeys and other wildlife. Injured adult animals are treated at the Refuge Clinic and released as soon as they are healthy. The young orphaned or abandoned infant Howlers are raised at the Refuge Nursery until old enough to begin their journey back to the Jungle usually at about 2 years of age, We accept Private Visits on a RESERVATION ONLY basis. Please call or email the Refuge for more information or reservations.
Telluride
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A morning not to be missed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014 NEW via mobile

We have been coming to Nosara for 12 years. This year was our first time visiting Brenda and her staff at the refuge. Take the time and visit her and her family of monkeys. She has dedicated her personal money and her time to educating the community on protecting the monkeys along with rescuing wounded and orphaned monkeys. There still are a staggering amount of howler monkey electrocutions due to unprotected power lines. Guaranteed that you will meet and fall in love with these animals. All ages are present. She also has various other animals and birds who are under her care. The Refuge has solutions to help decrease the impact of development on the howler monkey population that are positive and already making a difference. I highly recommend taking the two hour tour.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    2
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nosara, Costa Rica
1 review
“Unforgettable Educational Experience for Our Students”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

Brenda Bombard is an extraordinary woman not only devoted to rehabilitating our precious wildlife but to teaching and inspiring those who visit how to help. Our students have been involved for the past 2 years learning and working with the Nosara Refuge for Wildlife. Brenda brings a deeper awareness and compassion directly to our students inspiring them to take action too. An up close experience with these beautiful creatures touched us all in a way that no documentary or website page could ever do. Our children will always remember this unforgettable experience. Guaranteed you will walk away with a whole different view and experience while staying in Nosara the next time you look up and see a monkey in the tree! Thank you Brenda for your continuous efforts and devotion to saving our wildlife.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R B, Owner at Nosara Refuge for Wildlife - Private Visits, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Paige

We very much enjoyed the visit to the Refuge by your students. They did seem very interested in learning about the animals here and what we can do to improve their environment and reduce our impact on them.

They have also been great supporters of the Refuge with their fundraising work in the community

Thank you for your great work with the children and the schools support of the Refuge.

Brenda Bombard
Nosara Refuge for Wildlife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“The best thing you can do in Nosara...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Our visit to the Refuge for Wildlife with Brenda Sue Bombard was totally amazing. Brenda is an amazing source of information about the howler monkeys and sensitively shares stories and facts about how these monkeys are suffering due to electrocution on powerlines and she is full of wonderful stories of hope and rescues. The refuge takes in injured wildlife and specializes in howler monkeys and on our visit there were around 20 orphaned baby monkeys. We got to see the tiny babies being fed by the volunteers and met monkeys of different ages. They are amazingly playful and characterful and it was a dream come true for me to be so close to these amazing creatures. What amazing work Brenda is doing with her team and it was a total highlight of my time in Nosara to visit the refuge. I would encourage anyone to visit, and both adults and children will really enjoy a private tour with Brenda and the baby monkeys. They will capture your hearts forever!

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Amazing Rescue/Rehabilitation Organization!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

I cannot say enough about the incredible efforts of the Nosara Refuge for Wildlife! My family and I have visited the refuge on two separate occasions and we are always impressed with their knowledge, compassion and continual efforts to educate the public.
The people of the refuge work tirelessly on a volunteer basis to rescue and rehabilitate wild animals that have been electrocuted, attacked by dogs, and kept illegally as pets. They dedicate themselves to releasing the animals back into the wild whenever humanly possible.
I have visited many rescue facilities in different areas of the world and Nosara Refuge for Wildlife gets an A+.
If you are visiting Nosara in the future, please consider checking out their list of needs and donating. If you aren't visiting Nosara and just want to help out a worthy cause and organization, monetary donations can help them to continue their fabulous efforts.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Up Close Educational Experience that should not be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

I have been to Nosara Refuge many times and have taken many visitors and everyone is in awe during and after the visit. This is such a wonderful experience for all family members. We all learn so much and I have seen these visits change people. Brenda Bombard teaches us and shows the love she has for all wildlife - the monkeys being her focus. It is one thing to see the monkeys in the trees here, but to get so close to them (they are in large living quarters ) and see Brenda's interaction with them is amazing. To really get a sense of this community one needs to visit, learn and help this amazing refuge. Do not miss this amazing refuge!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosara Refuge for Wildlife - Private Visits also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Tenorio Volcano National Park, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Nosara Refuge for Wildlife - Private Visits? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosara Refuge for Wildlife - Private Visits, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.