We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meaningful Excursion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Wildlife Rescue

Nosara Wildlife Rescue
APDO 39-5233, Nosara 00000, Costa Rica
+506 2682 1474
Website
Update attraction details
Ranked #1 of 10 attractions in Nosara
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: NOSARA WILDLIFE RESCUE rescues, rehabilitates and releases back into the wild injured or orphaned Howler Monkeys and other arboreal wildlife. We consist of two sister organizations: SIBU Sanctuary and the Refuge for Wildlife. Please visit our respective web sites for more information. We accept private tours on a RESERVATION ONLY basis. Please call at least 24 hours beforehand for reservations
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Meaningful Excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I took my sometimes jaded teenage girls up to see Brenda and hear about the work that she has devoted her life to. Seeng the photos and meeting the animals was a moving experience for all of us. The cost is $50 cash per person, which goes directly to funding their work. It was money well spent. We left glad that the world has people like Brenda in it, and that she was willing to give us two hours of her time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arnold
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brenda Is a sweet heart.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Amazing tour of her facility . She has given her life to help rehab these animals and such a great advocate. Located high in the mountain the gentle welcome breeze was welcomed in the heat of the day. Thanks Brenda . Pura Vida !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nosara, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Just what Nosara needs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

They work tirelessly to save and rehabilitate orphaned and injured Howler monkeys. I support them with donations of cash and my artwork for their annual benefit. They are responsible for getting so many of the hot high power lines insulated, saving countless monkeys from death and unspeakable suffering!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is a very worthwhile cause.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's good to see some of the local animals and here about what's necessary to protect them. I recommend that if you have the time to check it out. The Wildlife Rescue program is very interesting and can use your assistance.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Highlight of our Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Wildlife Refuge was a highlight of our Nosara vacation (amongst many highlights). Truly unforgettable for both my husband and I and our daughter. Getting up close and personal with the monkeys - falling in love with them - was a gift. Brenda took her time to share with us the history of each animal and the extent of the work they are doing and still have to do. This is true passion and commitment in the flesh! Inspirational. We will definitely return when we are back in Nosara! (FYI - The Wildlife Refuge and SIBU Sanctuary are partner organizations. The Refuge is for more critical care of the animals when they first arrive, and the Sanctuary is more focused on getting the animals rehabilitated and ready to return to the wild).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosara Wildlife Rescue also viewed

Tenorio Volcano National Park, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Nosara Wildlife Rescue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosara Wildlife Rescue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.