We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what Nosara needs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Wildlife Rescue

Nosara Wildlife Rescue
APDO 39-5233, Nosara 00000, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Attractions in Nosara
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Nosara Wildlife Rescue rescues, rehabilitates and releases back into the wild injured or orphaned Howler Monkeys and other arboreal wildlife. We consist of two sister organizations: SIBU Sanctuary and the Refuge for Wildlife. Please visit our respective web sites for more information. We accept private tours on a RESERVATION ONLY basis. Please call at least 24 hours beforehand for reservations
Nosara, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just what Nosara needs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

They work tirelessly to save and rehabilitate orphaned and injured Howler monkeys. I support them with donations of cash and my artwork for their annual benefit. They are responsible for getting so many of the hot high power lines insulated, saving countless monkeys from death and unspeakable suffering!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is a very worthwhile cause.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's good to see some of the local animals and here about what's necessary to protect them. I recommend that if you have the time to check it out. The Wildlife Rescue program is very interesting and can use your assistance.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Highlight of our Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Wildlife Refuge was a highlight of our Nosara vacation (amongst many highlights). Truly unforgettable for both my husband and I and our daughter. Getting up close and personal with the monkeys - falling in love with them - was a gift. Brenda took her time to share with us the history of each animal and the extent of the work they are doing and still have to do. This is true passion and commitment in the flesh! Inspirational. We will definitely return when we are back in Nosara! (FYI - The Wildlife Refuge and SIBU Sanctuary are partner organizations. The Refuge is for more critical care of the animals when they first arrive, and the Sanctuary is more focused on getting the animals rehabilitated and ready to return to the wild).

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An eye-opening experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Sibu sanctuary was the highlight of my trip to Nosara, costa rica. Vicki and Steve are two of the most kind, welcoming people I've encountered. Thy welcomed us into their sanctuary as well their home with open arms. Steve took us on a tour of the sanctuary and all the exotic plants, birds, insects, etc.

Next we found Vicki in their one room house devoted to the Animals where she greeted us with the most refreshing fruit juice. We watched a video on how the monkeys of costa rica are electrocuted and burned due to the uninsulated power lines that are becoming more essential for tourism in the area. The sanctuary takes in the monkeys and nurses them back to health. Through a step-down program, they eventually are introduced back into the wild.

Before we knew it, we found ourselves surrounded by howler monkeys and animals of all sorts. Some have no fingers, some no tails. But they all seemed to be in good spirits on their journey back into the jungle. Watching a two-year-old monkey try intensely to figure out how my iPhone worked was amazing. It was great to see the progress they are making.

On the way out Vicki picked us various herbs off random trees and plants. The tastes were incredible. It was a perfect end to our visit at Sibu.

All in all, I would recommend this to everyone visiting Nosara, especially if you have the love for animals that I do. The $50 donation is well worth it, to say the least. I hope to make it back one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wildlife Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived at the Sanctuary not sure what to expect. $50 per person for a couple of hours might seem a lot to many people, I can assure you it's an experience worth double !
We were met at the gate by Steve and once parked had an informative and amusing walk up to Steve and Vicki's accommodation and the animal enclosures through beautiful forest. Steve is happy to chat on any subject, we covered politics, geography and of course wildlife. We learnt a little about the flora and fauna in the area and the story of how Steve and Vicki started the rescue centre and the problems uninsulated power lines cause to wildlife across Costa Rica.
Once at the family home we were introduced to Vicki and were served a refreshing fruit juice drink, then we sat down to watch a couple of brief video's about their work and how they are raising awareness with the power companies and local residents and trying to address the power line problems.
Finally the moment had come and we were introduced to the various wildlife that were in the process of being rehabilitated.The animals welfare was always at the forefront of concern, it was a wonderful experience, one we'll never forget.
Steve and Vicki were consummate hosts,and they work tirelessly for the animals, this was an extremely personal activity. Our family would thoroughly recommend a visit here, your entry fee is put to really good use and you'll leave with a warm glow.
Thank you Steve and Vicki for a wonderful visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosara Wildlife Rescue also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Canas, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Nosara Wildlife Rescue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosara Wildlife Rescue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.