We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu

Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu
Nosara, Costa Rica
+506 8413 8889
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at SIBU is located minutes from Playa Guiones, Nosara. We are a 50 acre jungle garden reserve, surrounded by thousands of acres of jungle and located between the Rio Nosara and Rio Montana. We are a care / rehabilitation and Step Down Release Center for the area's injured and orphaned wildlife, returning them back into the wild. Those who cannot be released, receive life term care. Our facilities include a non-primate / quarantine habitat, 70ft.X75ft habitats, three stories tall to encompass trees, with movable walls to adapt to any enclosure requirement. We also have an Open Canopy Habitat that is approximately 1/3 of an acre. Our new volunteer casita can house up to 4 volunteers to live on site during their stay at SIBU. We offer Up Close and Personal Educational visits by advance reservation only. Visit our web site to participate in our Adopt-A-Monkey Program or to inquire about becoming a volunteer at Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at SIBU
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Experience first hand the heartbreaking, selfless and passionate work that Steve and Vicki Coan have committed themselves to. Upon entering the gates of the rescue, you have no idea you are about to have a life changing experience. If you love animals and/or still have a little bit of hope for mankind.... arrange a visit and give a donation. I promise after your visit you will be thinking of ways of how to drop everything, pack up and move to Nosara. Or at least start with donating, or contacting anyone with the means or funds to donate to a fantastic non profit cause. Do it because you are a lover of the animal kingdom, or you just need to see that love and selflessness still does exist in mankind. They do not get government funding and rely solely on donations. If you do one thing in Nosara, make sure you visit Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We emailed to arrange a visit after reading about the rescue here on trip advisor. Vicki and Steve were quick in getting back to us and were able to fit us in even with short notice! The rescue was such an experience.....the work and passion these two have put into saving wildlife is truly commendable. And getting to see and hold the monkeys up close? This was indeed a once in a lifetime experience. Like so many others have said...this was also the highlight of our trip!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

There are lots of places to see monkeys in Costa Rica, but this is a place where your donation actually makes a difference. Vicki and Steve are great people doing great work and the monkeys are obviously adorable beyond belief. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R B, Owner at Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit to Sibu Sanctuary. Your review has been posted to the Refuge for Wildlife incorrectly. We have requested TripAdvisor relocate it to the correct listing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SIBU Sanctuary, Nosara, Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We certainly were hopeful about our pending visit to this wildlife sanctuary run by Vicki and Steve, but except for the drive, was more than we could have expected! As mentioned, the drive was tough. After leaving the paved roads of Nicoya we entered into what could only be described as the wildest ride of our lives. We were warned about the unpaved roads, but up to this point we had not experienced them...at this level. After about an hour of seriously bumpy roads we arrived at the SIBU Sanctuary. The others had already arrived and we were greeted by Steve, who took us up to the house. Upon entering we received a drink of juice and after watching a couple of short videos we went out to visit the rescues. The visit with the howlers was so much fun! We spent a few moments allowing the monkeys to "check us out" and then we proceeded into the enclosure where we got to spend about 30 minutes with the monkeys who were in the step down program. The monkeys, each with their own name clung to us, jumped on us, sucked our fingers and welcomed us as though we were family. One in particular, a capuchin named Toby, entertained us by jumping, climbing and otherwise showing us how smart and lively he could be. After that we visited with Steve and Vicki's cats, dog and raccoon, Raquel, who can open the door with her hind foot! We also got to meet a wayward porcupine named Rusty. Vicki and Steve are living a dream of sorts but are in dire need of assistance, financial and otherwise. This is an amazing couple who are doing amazing things on behalf of howlers and other orphaned and injured animals. Even though we were late, Vicki gave us a tour of the property in order for us to see the whole picture. This trip was well worth the drive (ouch!) and the time spent traveling to and from the sanctuary.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Highlight of Nosara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

An incredible chance to see what a committed rescue couple can do to save local animals! We were invited into their house, watched a film they made and then visited the wildlife. This is better than any zoo, even the San Diego zoo, you'll fall in love!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R B, Owner at Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu, responded to this review, November 26, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit to Sibu Sanctuary. Your review has been posted to the Refuge for Wildlife incorrectly. We have requested TripAdvisor relocate it to the correct listing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
El Guapote, Tamarindo
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary at Sibu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.