We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nosara Wildlife Rescue

Nosara Wildlife Rescue
APDO 39-5233, Nosara 00000, Costa Rica
+506 8866 4652
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 attractions in Nosara
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Nosara Wildlife Rescue rescues, rehabilitates and releases back into the wild injured or orphaned Howler Monkeys and other arboreal wildlife. We consist of two sister organizations: SIBU Sanctuary and the Refuge for Wildlife. Please visit our respective web sites for more information. We accept private tours on a RESERVATION ONLY basis. Please call at least 24 hours beforehand for reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Experience first hand the heartbreaking, selfless and passionate work that Steve and Vicki Coan have committed themselves to. Upon entering the gates of the rescue, you have no idea you are about to have a life changing experience. If you love animals and/or still have a little bit of hope for mankind.... arrange a visit and give a donation. I promise after your visit you will be thinking of ways of how to drop everything, pack up and move to Nosara. Or at least start with donating, or contacting anyone with the means or funds to donate to a fantastic non profit cause. Do it because you are a lover of the animal kingdom, or you just need to see that love and selflessness still does exist in mankind. They do not get government funding and rely solely on donations. If you do one thing in Nosara, make sure you visit Nosara Wildlife Sanctuary.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We emailed to arrange a visit after reading about the rescue here on trip advisor. Vicki and Steve were quick in getting back to us and were able to fit us in even with short notice! The rescue was such an experience.....the work and passion these two have put into saving wildlife is truly commendable. And getting to see and hold the monkeys up close? This was indeed a once in a lifetime experience. Like so many others have said...this was also the highlight of our trip!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Highlight of our trip! Brenda is wonderful and an amazing person for all her selfless, hard work!
Go visit to support the great cause!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

There are lots of places to see monkeys in Costa Rica, but this is a place where your donation actually makes a difference. Vicki and Steve are great people doing great work and the monkeys are obviously adorable beyond belief. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“We can all learn something from these two!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Vicki's passion for these animals is undeniable. She has truly found her calling. If everyone lived to their full potential Vicki and Steve would be exceptional examples to follow. I was so touched by their story the journey of how they came to be in the canopy with theses amazing animals. If you are in Costa Rica the Nosara Wildlife Rescue is a MUST. My next visit will definitely include plenty of time to help these two, as the job they have before them is HUGE. If you can't visit the sanctuary and have a few extra bucks donate. These animals need our help.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosara Wildlife Rescue also viewed

Area de Conservacion Guanacaste, Province of Guanacaste
Tenorio Volcano National Park, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Nosara Wildlife Rescue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosara Wildlife Rescue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Nosara Wildlife Rescue to your Saves list