We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fresh catch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacifico Azul

Pacifico Azul
| Playa Guiones - Hotel Gilded Iguana, Nosara, Costa Rica
+506 2682 5456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 50 Restaurants in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
San Juanillo, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best fresh catch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The owners are fisherman and chef wife. What a combo! definitely a must try when in the area. Some of the best fresh fish, caught locally,beautifully presented and and with good value

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    25
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Order the blackened tuna!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were a large group and tried to order one of each of the specials, but at the end of the day the blackened tuna and seared tuna was ordered by 4 of the 6 diners! The blackened tuna was hands down the MOST delicious I've had. Someone also ordered the octopus and it was nicely done (not rubbery at all). The portions were large and the meal came to us quickly. We were seated outside, but it was pretty dark... making it difficult to see across/around the table. We ordered beers and two bottles of white wine (which came chilled and bucketed with ice.. which was a nice touch since its so hot in Costa Rica this time of year). Our server was knowledgeable and coudl easily speak to our group in spanish and english. My only complaint would be that she was a bit abrupt and made us feel a little like we were interrupting her. We were all traveling from Toronto, so service like this isn't eyebrow raising to us, but others out there in the TripAdvisor world might get annoyed by that sort of thing.

Overall a wonderful experience and one of my personal favs in Nosara.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best! Pura Vida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

By far our favorite restaurant! Sue is wonderful, the ceviche was the best as well as all the other dishes we ordered. We went back 3 times! We are looking forward to returning June 2014.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great meal, great price in Nosara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I had the tuna tartar to start. She had shrimp and mahi mahi with an avocado cream sauce and I had the seafood pasta. We thoroughly enjoyed our entire meal and the price was more than fair. There was so much seafood in my pasta it's as if I was eating cioppino.

They have pretty good live music Sunday nights. We sat at 6:15 pm and by 7:00 pm there was a wait. I would recommend this restaurant as a must in Nosara especially if you're looking for a nicer but casual sit down meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food, service, atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We enjoyed our experience here. The service was good, the fish fresh and well portioned. We especially loved the avocado sauce that covered mahi mahi.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pacifico Azul also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Pacifico Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacifico Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.