We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Nosara!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nomad - CLOSED

Nomad
R section, past waterboard building, Nosara, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Description: http://www.surfingnosara.com/nosara-restaurants/nomad-restaurant-fresh-new-taste-nosara. This is where I found them on line. We did visit them and feel they deserve recognition as a new restaurant in the area.
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.surfingnosara.com/nosara-restaurants/nomad-restaurant-fresh-new-taste-nosara. This is where I found them on line. We did visit them and feel they deserve recognition as a new restaurant in the area.
Nosara, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best of Nosara!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nomad is our favorite place to spend a special night ! We have been regulars ever since they opened and have never been disappointed! The food and the service are exemplary! Yes, the menu is limited, changes daily and ensures top quality with locally fresh produce, meats and seafood! I can not say enough good things about Nomad!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    3
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“It's the atmosphere that takes this 3 star food to a 4 star experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A french restaurant is as rare here as good wine. This place is a beautiful building with smooth arches, a water feature built into a bench and an interesting yard to look onto surrounded by trees. The lighting is done well and it's pleasant to sit here while waiting for your food.

The wine list is very limited, if I remember correctly they select a few (a couple) bottles from nearby and offer those. Fine. The menu changes daily and is limited. We had the savory crepe and the fish and they were fine. I was satisfied but not impressed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Quiet and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nomad was suggested to us by our B&B and we were very satisfied. It was in a very secluded location and by the time we made it to Nomad we knew we had escaped from our lives back in the U.S. It was a beautiful and quiet location. The food didn't disappoint. But be sure to bring cash because they don't take credit cards.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful & very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Sophie & Gilles, the architect/chef co-owners, are delightful people, & dinner at Nomad always feels like a special evening at someone's elegant home. The menu is not broad, but everything we've had here has been delicious. Sometimes they feature Moroccan food, sometimes French. This trip, we had Christmas Eve dinner at Nomad, a fixed-price menu featuring seafood & a vegetable curry. It was heavenly!

They are not open year-round, so check before going. But if they are open, & you want special & romantic meal, we think this is the best place in Nosara for one.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Romantic and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you love atmosphere and ambiance Nomad is for you. We came here after dark and split a salad, galette, and fish entree. Every morsel was delicious.

It's a bit odd that they don't take credit cards considering that it's more upscale than what you normally find in Nosara, but they nicely pointed to us to a bank and held our check until we returned.

That said, I'd highly recommend it to anyone looking for an elegant evening out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nomad also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.