We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ate here daily” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gilded Iguana Restaurant

The Gilded Iguana Restaurant
50 M South of Mini Super Delicias Del Mundo | Playa Guiones, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
+506 2682 0259
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $17
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Seafood, International, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The restaurant at the Gilded Iguana will be up and running for Nov 2014. The new management brings the BEST food in the area and finally will get the spotlight they deserve. Look for more info to be released soon.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ate here daily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015 NEW

Blown away by the food here and everywhere we went in Costa Rica. Greta service and atmosphere. The drinkers in the group were happy withe prices and variety of liquors served.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious, healthy meals in the jungle.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

The red snapper was prepared perfectly. Nice salad on side. Salmon appetizer was great after a day of traveling. Beautiful outdoor atmosphere under glowing lanterns. Decent service.

Visited February 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great night life, not great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015 via mobile

We went here on our first night in Nosara because it was the happening place. The food was good but expensive. The vibe was very cool and the drinks outside with the band playing was cool.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Went back 3 times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

I had dinner here two nights in a row and then went back another day for breakfast. Went with 5 other people and tried almost everything off the specials menu. We also brought fresh caught fish in and they were so nice about cooking it for us! They made ceviche with some of it and tempura with the rest. So delicious. Strong margaritas. The smoothies at breakfast were also amazing. Easily my favorite restaurant in Nosara. Everyone should check it out.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

I had a very nice meal with my gf there. The tuna tartar was a bit overcooked. I had the fish filet with avocado sauce which was pretty good. The tiramisu is ok, but I wouldn't have it a second time. The waitress was very nice.

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gilded Iguana Restaurant also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to The Gilded Iguana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gilded Iguana Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.