We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning retreat center in Costa Rica!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Spirit

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Spirit
Save
You added Blue Spirit to your Saves list
Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Nosara
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
“Stunning retreat center in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have been leading yoga retreats at Blue Spirit for several years. Blue Spirit uniquely combines a beautiful natural setting, amazing healthy food with gluten free options at every meal, yoga rooms that are set within the beautiful landscape, breathtaking views of the ocean and a staff is friendly and knowledgable. Not to mention the massage therapists who are truly healing. Cant wait for my retreat next year.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    9
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
11
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from leading a yoga retreat at Blue Spirit and have already booked for next year!

Blue Spirit is an amazing retreat center and the perfect place to deepen your yoga practice.

Blue Spirit's stunning natural environment, delicious healthy food, beautifully designed facilities and warm supportive staff made for an unforgettable week with new and old friends.

Blue Spirit is situated on a peak, with an amazing view of surrounding mountains, jungle, and ocean. The emphasis here is on living in harmony with the nature around us.
An Eco resort, Blue Spirit takes great responsibility to ensure that everything from shampoo to disposing of garbage is done in a way to promote the safety and wellbeing of the environment.

Food is local, fresh, thoughtful and most importantly delicious. My group looked forward to every meal! (And this coffee-drinking yogi loved the morning brew!)

The beautiful salt-water pool is a true oasis near the top of Blue Spirit's property and offers more incredible views to enjoy while you relax.

The beach was wild and natural, meeting the warm Pacific Ocean. It is a privilege to enjoy this protected area that is not exploited by beach chairs and bars. And, super fun to Stand Up Paddle Board out in the ocean.

At the cafe I purchased several fresh juices (green goddess my favorite) I also highly recommend the spicy cacao smoothie.

Because the resort is located on a peak of a hill, there are many opportunities to walk up and down the hill. You walk down the beach, up to the rooms, and further up to the yoga spaces and dining room. I loved the beautiful scenery that was in every walk, there were always monkeys, iguanas, and beautiful birds to entertain every walk. I personally found this to be just another way to experience nature and feel healthy. I left feeling more fit than I arrived.

The Nature Suite Room I stayed in had air conditioning. I did appreciate this as temperatures were in the 90s consistently. My room was spacious and very comfortable.

This is an amazing destination for a yoga retreat, for those of us interested in pausing from the rush of life. You will feel saturated in nature, healthy from living and eating clean, and warmed by great service.

Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I led a retreat to Blue Spirit in January 2015. The grounds were luscious, the food was delicious, and the staff were super friendly and attentive. Blue Spirit has clearly discovered what it takes to provide the ideal setting for a retreat. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for a yoga retreat and had a wonderful time. But be sure to read the other reviews and understand the practicalities of staying at a remote "eco" resort. Dirt road, soap & TP restrictions, stairs and true medical help is 1.5 hr away in Nicoya are all facts to know so you are not disappointed. And also there are mosquitoes and DEET chemicals are not allowed here so you have to use essential oils which might work (try citronella - forget others) Stayed in Mountain View room and glad we did. It was good to have a window and little deck; others in our group had Heritage room and said they had just walls, no windows. It was good to have real AC since it was very hot. Walking to Playa Guiones via the beach is better than the road and cheaper than taxi, but it was a 30-45 minute walk in the hot sun with no shade, so pick your timing.
If your expectations on all of the above are OK, the food is wonderful...fresh, variety is good - vegan cakes at breakfast were wonderful altho not sure why it was at breakfast and not dinner...but good whenever! (and I am not a vegetarian, but eating here all week was not difficult and I didn't miss other food).
The pool is wonderful. The treatments are wonderful. Wish I could have tried more.
Blue Spirit is truly a unique experience... Just go forewarned and if the restrictions are not to your liking - DO NOT GO! Otherwise, get ready for a week where you can unplug and relax!

Room Tip: Mountain or Ocean Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Blue Spirit is truly a sanctuary. The staff is warm and friendly; the location is beautiful; the food is exceptional; the attention to environmental concerns is unparalleled. Go! (Note - (1) leave your usual shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and other soaps at home; the eco-conscious setup only allows for biodegradable products. (2) the rooms are sparsely decorated and quite warm; prepare to immerse yourself in the tropics)

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I found a new home at Blue Spirit. Living in New York with all the hustle and busle,noise and pollution, I look forward to a place of peace and tranquility. The place that fulfilled all of my needs was Blue Spirit. For the last 3 years, I looked forward to spend my winter months at Blue Spirit in Costa Rica. To be in nature, take unlimited classes, exercising, eating healthy food, walking the beautiful beaches, learning from motivational speakers, meeting great people from all over the world, relaxing and clensing on such a beautiful property at Blue Spirit. I always leave their, starting my new year refreshed, feeling healthy, happy and in a good place by the time I return to the U.S. I often wonder why I always feel wonderful when I leave Blue Spirit and hate returning back home, I found out where Blue Spirit is located on the Nicoya, Peninsula in Costa Rica, it is one out of the 5 places that people live longer, and are the healthiest and happy. Blue Spirit offers everything you need to live a healthier, happier life so it will and has become my home away from home. D. Moore

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We finally arrived at Blue Spirit after 2 days of travel. They arranged for our transport from the airport and we arrived mid afternoon very tired and hungry. Check in was rapid and the staff efficient in getting us situated into our room. Our first disappointment was discovering that there were no food options for guests at this hour of the day. We went to the "cafe" and found they only had cookies, cakes and health drinks. As we had barely eaten in 2 days we were not happy with the lack of options. It would have been so easy and hospitable of them to keep a large pot of soup and bread in the dining room for their travel weary guests. So instead we went to the pool and back to the room to nap until dinner. Dinner was vegan, plentiful, healthy but not a wow. Salads, pasta, mushy vegetable dishes, soup and fresh breads. For desert? Fruit. OK, but you'd think with their cafe bakery they would put out a plate of cookies. So we ventured back over to the cafe and ordered 2 oatmeal cookies and couldn't believe the cost, 3 USD each for a standard size cookie. Really? Ouch. Note to guests, bring your own snacks with you. And so it is at Blue Spirit, you pay a lot to be in a very remote location where you are a captive audience victim to their prices and options. Any trip into town costs 15-20 USD each way. Why don't they offer a shuttle service into town once a day, a drop off and pick up? For anyone with mobility issues, stairs stairs and more stairs. Wifi only good for looking at the internet, we could not stream news or videos. The in-room safe instructions tell you to input a 4 digit code - WRONG - it took a maintenance request after our dozen failed attempts to tell us that it actually requires a 6 digit code. How hard is it to update the in-room instruction card?? It's a beautiful location, in a beautiful country, but lacks the details we've come to expect from retreat/resorts such as this. Just a lot of little things that didn't leave a good impression, and as they say, it's the little things that count.

Room Tip: Choose carefully as stairs, AC and proximity to the main house vary immensely, along with the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Spirit

Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Nosara
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Spirit Costa Rica provides an extraordinary setting to all who are dedicated to spiritual transformation, personal development, and environmental sustainability. Perched on a hilltop that overlooks the Pacific Ocean and a three-mile long white sand beach that is protected as a turtle refuge – Blue Spirit offers an extraordinarily beautiful and natural setting on one of Costa Rica’s renowned beaches, supporting your retreats, workshops, and trainings to be a deeply nurturing and unforgettable experience.Blue Spirit is located in one of the world’s Blue Zones© which inspired the name Blue Spirit. According to author Dan Buettner, the Nicoya Peninsula is one of five Blue Zone’s in the world: a Blue Zone is an area where people live the longest and report the highest levels of well-being. While visiting Blue Spirit, you will feel the resonance of a vibrant, inspiring, and healing energy, because of the rich subtropical environment, and the cultural lifestyle.Your stay at Blue Spirit offers you a comfortable and elegant accommodation of your choice, delicious gourmet vegetarian cuisine, a salt-water infinity pool, koi pond, café, gift shop, spa and longevity services, outdoor excursions, and complimentary wireless service.Blue Spirit was founded by Stephan Rechtschaffen who also co-founded the renowned Omega Institute in Rhinebeck, NY. He is a nationally recognized holistic physician who lectures on health, wellness, nutrition, longevity, and time. These interests have drawn him to living and working in the more mindful and slower paced environment of Blue Spirit in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Spirit Hotel Nosara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Spirit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.