We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Spiritual Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Spirit

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Spirit
Save Saved
You added Blue Spirit to your Saves list
Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty lodging in Nosara
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Spiritual Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at Blue Spirit in Feb.'13 as a participant in an Omega workshop. Omega holds workshops at Blue Spirit for 6 weeks during the winter. I stayed in an eco lodge but there are a range of accommodations from hotel rooms to nature suites to tents. Meals were included and are vegetarian oriented with eggs and fish. No meat. Staff was friendly and very accommodating to my food allergies. The terrain is hilly so it is a hike to get from place to place or to the beach on the spacious and beautiful property. Great views and quiet nooks. The buildings and landscape are well designed. The atmosphere is very welcoming. I felt like I was back in camp. The cafe/ bar serves beer and wine and a limited menu. The programs/teachers I attended were excellent. The price which included the workshops was reasonable.Blue Spirit is a little isolated, probably not suited for the casual tourist, but provided me with the perfect spiritual retreat I was seeking.

Room Tip: Look at website for variety of room selection. Howler members start at dawn esp in the more natural...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    4
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
9
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Meeting yourself in daily life, and having some quality time with yourself is pretty hard… If you are looking for a perfect place to take a break from the habits of being worried about future and past, to be surrounded in nearly unaffected nature, quiet neighborhood with like-minded people whose main interest is the wellbeing of all/meditation/yoga/peaceful living…. stop looking and just book yourself a stay/workshop at blue spirit-Nosara.

I have been participating in a yoga retreat few weeks ago… I was mesmerized from the very first moment till the end… The main hall/building is located on a hill, with perfect ocean view. The building itself is just breathtaking. No matter wherever you stand, it’s pure beauty which is reflected back to you. You can also see, that the founders took their best effort to leave nature unaffected as much as possible. Wherever you walk, you are surrounded by beauty of nature.
From the main building, it’s just a 3 minute walk downhill to the beautiful beach, where every day I was enjoying the most beautiful sunsets.
I spent in a room 3rd floor as well with perfect ocean view. The whole staff is working hard with a very warm and friendly attitude in supporting you having the best time you can.

The perfect place to get close again to yourself.
Thank you all at Blue Spirit!
See you soon….

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We visited Blue Spirit in December 2012, and while the resort itself is decent we found the location to be less than we expected.

We have been to Costa Rica many times, and one of the things we most enjoy is being able to experience the culture and wildlife while we were there. We found both of these to be a bit underwhelming in the area of Blue Spirit. There is a strong touristy surf vibe in the surrounding area, but other than surfing there isn't a whole lot to do outside of the in-resort activities of sitting by the pool or sitting on the beach. The excursions listed on their site are literally the only ones available in the area. The Nosara peninsula is also rather devoid of wildlife, and we didn't see much other than the howler monkeys around the resort.

As far as the resort itself, the food was above average and the staff was very nice. The Hermitage room we had was extremely small, but the suites and rooms with AC are much more comfortably-sized. The resort property is clean and well-maintained.

The road leading up to Blue Spirit is a ~45km dirt road full of ruts and potholes, which makes traveling around the area rather unappealing and expensive. Cabs into Guiones (the "shopping" village) are $15USD each way, but Blue Spirit offers a free shuttle service on Wednesdays. You can also reach Guiones by walking down the beach during low tide.

The beach outside of Blue Spirit is generally rocky, but has some nice sandy areas when the tide is out. Further down the beach turns to sand and is quite nice and generally very clean with none of the "wash-up" trash you see in other areas of central america or the caribbean.

Overall, if you are visiting Blue Spirit for a retreat you will probably find it very nice and enjoyable. If you are visiting it to experience the country or to use it as "home base" for your own travel or excursions you'd probably be better off going elsewhere.

Room Tip: Hermitage rooms are small. Other rooms seem to be decently sized, and the Nature Suite we visited wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I suppose you go on a yoga retreat to get back to the present and to stop sweating the small stuff. Well, Blue Spirit will give you ample opportunity to put that attitude into practice!
First, I must say, the property itself is stunning. Beautifully located on the Guanacaste coast of Costa Rica the property sits on a hill with water surrounding you from almost every angle. The rooms are very simple but that was the one thing that I did find to be as advertised. As an eco retreat you're not going to find a lot of creature comforts but they're clean, nicely decorated and well maintained (be aware however, there are no hair dryers in the rooms).
So, why is this just an average hotel. Because of all of the things they don't tell you. Here's what you need to "know before you go". If you are using the hotel's transport, keep a keen eye out when you exit customs at Liberia. The drivers are there but you have to find them. And they might actually leave without you so don't linger at the airport. It is most definitely a two hour drive and the last twenty minutes or so is on a dirt road. You won't see a paved road again until you return to the airport. The charge for the transport will be on your bill when you leave.
That brings up the subject of money. You need money, lots of it. The website suggests you bring $500 USD and I think that's about right. You have to tip the drivers and the spa therapists in cash. If you do any excursions, you have to pay the driver in cash. If you buy anything in the gift shop you will get charged 13% tax, unless you pay in cash. You can charge the cafe/bar items to your room but you sign the ticket at the beginning of the evening and don't really know what ends up being charged by the end of the night, so I would suggest cash.
If you are staying in an eco lodge, you are going camping. They're very nice, but you are camping, you will walk up to the shared bathroom in the dark, at night back in the woods. You are also 300+ stairs away from the lodge so pack your things for the day!
I think the most shocking element was that this is not an adults only resort. There were kids running around all week. Not at all what I expected at a yoga retreat. Also, the staff is as much a guest at the hotel as you are, eating the meals with you, using the pool and other facilities.
To end on a positive note, the food was excellent, the excursions were well done and it is a beautiful and relaxing place. I would go back, it would have just been helpful to know a little more what I was getting into. But if luxury and service are what you're looking for, you should look somewhere else.

Room Tip: The rooms really are on a sliding scale of luxury (a/c, views, etc) to economy (roughing it). All a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I needed to get away and simply "be" and this beautiful place met every expectation. The meals are simple, local fare. The staff friendly, caring and not intrusive. The views -amazing. The beach, breathtaking any time of the day. The divine massage in a tent tent surrounded by jungle? Once I figured out that the howler monkeys were part of the charm, I tuned my body to their rhythms (sleep early, wake early) and all was fine. Blue Spirit is not for everyone, but as a single woman traveling alone I felt safe, totally able to let it all go and just be. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I went here for an acupuncture seminar and had one of the best travel experience ever. The ocean is clean and warm and the beaches are so beautiful. I can say enough good things about the staff and locals. Everyone was very friendly and helpful I have a VERY POSITIVE experience of the shuttle to Liberia. Somehow our driver safely managed to get around a national bike race on the only road to Liberia, getting us to the airport on time. The food was very healthy and mostly delicious - the highlight was the fish 3 times per week and the fruits are amazing! The accommodations are simple, but very clean with nice finishes. The staff was extremely helpful in setting up excursions, such as horseback riding (right along the beach!) and zipline capopy tours. Overall I would totally recommended Blue Spirit and go again myself.

Room Tip: The hermitage rooms are affordable, but I recommend the floor above for more space and a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed here for a week long yoga training course. The hotel is really beautiful and the staff was great. I was with an organized group and everything ran very smoothly. Extremely peaceful and nestled in raw nature. Our stay was vegan which was new for me and was very impressed with the food. Didn't know what to expect and I certainly did not go hungry. The hotel had excellent WiFi and since there were no televisions I was able to use my laptop with no problem. This area of Costa Rica is rustic and not commercialized. The closest beach community was great- about a 40 minute walk down the beach. Took a great surf lesson at Chacos Surf.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Spirit

Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty lodging in Nosara
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Spirit Costa Rica provides an extraordinary setting to all who are dedicated to spiritual transformation, personal development, and environmental sustainability. Perched on a hilltop that overlooks the Pacific Ocean and a three-mile long white sand beach that is protected as a turtle refuge – Blue Spirit offers an extraordinarily beautiful and natural setting on one of Costa Rica’s renowned beaches, supporting your retreats, workshops, and trainings to be a deeply nurturing and unforgettable experience.Blue Spirit is located in one of the world’s Blue Zones© which inspired the name Blue Spirit. According to author Dan Buettner, the Nicoya Peninsula is one of five Blue Zone’s in the world: a Blue Zone is an area where people live the longest and report the highest levels of well-being. While visiting Blue Spirit, you will feel the resonance of a vibrant, inspiring, and healing energy, because of the rich subtropical environment, and the cultural lifestyle.Your stay at Blue Spirit offers you a comfortable and elegant accommodation of your choice, delicious gourmet vegetarian cuisine, a salt-water infinity pool, koi pond, café, gift shop, spa and longevity services, outdoor excursions, and complimentary wireless service.Blue Spirit was founded by Stephan Rechtschaffen who also co-founded the renowned Omega Institute in Rhinebeck, NY. He is a nationally recognized holistic physician who lectures on health, wellness, nutrition, longevity, and time. These interests have drawn him to living and working in the more mindful and slower paced environment of Blue Spirit in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Spirit Hotel Nosara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Spirit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.