We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Spirit

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Blue Spirit
Save Saved
You added Blue Spirit to your Saves list
Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 20 Specialty lodging in Nosara
Detroit, MI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Truly Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed here for a week long yoga training course. The hotel is really beautiful and the staff was great. I was with an organized group and everything ran very smoothly. Extremely peaceful and nestled in raw nature. Our stay was vegan which was new for me and was very impressed with the food. Didn't know what to expect and I certainly did not go hungry. The hotel had excellent WiFi and since there were no televisions I was able to use my laptop with no problem. This area of Costa Rica is rustic and not commercialized. The closest beach community was great- about a 40 minute walk down the beach. Took a great surf lesson at Chacos Surf.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    4
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
9
17
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My wife and I spent a week at this magical place. Located on a hill overlooking a long pacific beach, surrounded by trees inhabited by howler monkeys, a gentle breeze - one of the nicest spots on earth. This hotel is wonderfully constructed blending into its surroundings. Good vegetarian food and helpful staff. The course we took on Stress Reduction using Mindfulness was much less important in healing our frazzled psyches than the hotel itself in it's amazing setting.

Room Tip: The very best rooms are 3rd floor, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My fiance and I had the privilege of a week long devotional music, chant and tantra workshop with Deva Premal, Miten, Manose and Rafia in March 2012. AWESOME!!! The grounds are immaculate and teeming with local flora, trees, critters (yes, even some loud monkeys that do tend to party in the wee hours, but their chatter was entertaining, not annoying!). We stayed in a nature cottage complete with outdoor shower. It is a bit away from the main building, so plan on about 160-200 stairs each trip up. Good exercise!! It was wonderful!! The food is vegetarian with fish added frequently. It was VERY satisfying and VERY tasty!! The staff is equally attentive and always ready to help in any way they can. Our luggage was lost for over 4-days and Jose, of the office staff literally gave me the sandals off his feet!!

The beach (during low tide) is outstanding with swimming in many areas). The sunsets: PHOTO PERFECT!! The Spa services equally very professional and diverse. Yes, the location is a bit isolated, but if you can live without a swim-up bar and disco and instead just enjoy the peace and quiet with a significant other, then this place is for you!! Just plain wonderful (although it could be a bit lonely if you're not involved in a workshop or program as most of the folks were with others in workshops or yoga camps). I loved this place!! D. Bratt, Truckee, CA

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I love this place! I have not been so relaxed and at peace in a long time. Beautiful setting, great organic food and one of the most amazing yoga spaces I've ever seen.
But don't come here if you like to stay up late partying. There is no night life, no music, no televisions and no phones. I understand it was designed as a yoga retreat center (which is why I am here,) so it is for those seeking peace and quiet.
I will definitely come back!

Room Tip: I have heard a lot of people complaining about the howler monkeys waking them up at 2 or 3 AM. Stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Beautiful resort with outstanding yoga facilities, delicious organic healthy food and unbelievable treatments. It is a true place of healing. Expensive though :-(

Room Tip: great list of options for rooms from ac rooms in main builiding to tents on grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

A bit isolated but that is part of the charm. Lovely property with ocean views, an infinity pool, meditation pond, wild life, and howling monkeys outside your window. Vegetarian food is tasty and well prepared. You will have to BYOB. Yoga retreat with open air studios. There are other activities to sign up for such as zip-lining, surfing, kayaking, etc. Not much night life but you are up at dawn with the monkeys anyway. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: If you get an open air room, be prepared to wake up with the monkeys pre-dawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Let me get some basics out of the way. Room...we stayed in large, well designed, private and clean cabin. It had an outdoor shower where I get in some great bird photos. Food...I happen to really like vegetarian food and the selection was great. I loved the natural teas. Building...a truly well designed space for eating, sleeping and taking classes. The design incorporates elements from the surrounding environment into this Indonesian styled gem, with views of the Pacific. The Grounds...this is where I spent my time while my wife took classes. I went for the birding and I got more than I hoped for. While the surrounding area is a dry tropical forest, they keep this beautiful property well watered and with a great selection of flowers and plants. I'm going to post a couple photos of the birds and 1 of a Margay I found. Add photo option not working, to bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Spirit

Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Specialty lodging in Nosara
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Spirit Costa Rica provides an extraordinary setting to all who are dedicated to spiritual transformation, personal development, and environmental sustainability. Perched on a hilltop that overlooks the Pacific Ocean and a three-mile long white sand beach that is protected as a turtle refuge – Blue Spirit offers an extraordinarily beautiful and natural setting on one of Costa Rica’s renowned beaches, supporting your retreats, workshops, and trainings to be a deeply nurturing and unforgettable experience.Blue Spirit is located in one of the world’s Blue Zones© which inspired the name Blue Spirit. According to author Dan Buettner, the Nicoya Peninsula is one of five Blue Zone’s in the world: a Blue Zone is an area where people live the longest and report the highest levels of well-being. While visiting Blue Spirit, you will feel the resonance of a vibrant, inspiring, and healing energy, because of the rich subtropical environment, and the cultural lifestyle.Your stay at Blue Spirit offers you a comfortable and elegant accommodation of your choice, delicious gourmet vegetarian cuisine, a salt-water infinity pool, koi pond, café, gift shop, spa and longevity services, outdoor excursions, and complimentary wireless service.Blue Spirit was founded by Stephan Rechtschaffen who also co-founded the renowned Omega Institute in Rhinebeck, NY. He is a nationally recognized holistic physician who lectures on health, wellness, nutrition, longevity, and time. These interests have drawn him to living and working in the more mindful and slower paced environment of Blue Spirit in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Spirit Hotel Nosara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Spirit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;