We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Luna

La Luna
Playa Pelada, Nosara 4, Costa Rica
506 26820122
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 40 Restaurants in Nosara
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Terrific Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

This restaurant is absolutely fantastic food. The wine was the first decent bottle of wine we found on the town; apparently importing wine from CA is not common there which I think is a shame (2 good vineyard contacts and a place could make a fortune in Nosara and the surrounding areas). We thoroughly enjoyed the Mediterranean appetizer (warning the Foccacia is hard, not soft as I expected, but still very good), the hummus was better than most and the baba ganoush was very unique. The Quinoa salad was also tasty and hearty. We could have stopped there because we were already full, but we had already ordered 2 entree's since the menu looked so good! The Tuna was cooked to perfection and the filet was fork tender. We skipped dessert...The atmosphere was warm and inviting. We didn't come for sunset, but the person who advised us to try this place said to. I could tell from the sounds and set up that it would have been beautiful. The vendors at the entry (while they confused us on where to go) are tasteful and worth a look over as well.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    76
    17
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Fresh FOOD and brick oven pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Great location right on the beach and at night the ambiance is beautiful , sea food is delicious and the pizza was nice and thin and tasted awesome, overall amazing food and experience!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This place is right on the beach. Beautiful views, amazing food and great music. The food was so good for dinner that we went back the next day for lunch. It has both indoor and outdoor seating. For lunch, we sat outside on the "lawn" on comfy chairs and couches. Full bar and a fun variety of mixed drinks. Dress up or wear your bathing suit- all is acceptable.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxford, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Costa Rican fare, the classy way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stumbled into La Luna late at night, and all of us left raving about some of the best food we'd ever had. The style is classic Costa Rican with Mediterranean influences, and the atmosphere of the restuarant is chic and lovely. The outside patio seating is mere meters away from Playa Pelada, one of the loveliest white-sand beaches around, and the ocean air is quite refreshing.

We started with a deliciously fresh passionfruit juice, which was served in a large glass bottle big enough to share around the table. I tried the Shrimp and Avocado Salad, which was huge even by my US standards, and quite filling, with delicious pan-seared shrimp that tasted unbelievably fresh. It was my companion's pizza, however, that left us all in wonder: thin, crispy crust and complex, smoky flavors led him to name it the best pizza he'd ever had (and we've been to Italy, so that's saying something).

In short, if you're looking for non-traditional food in a trendy, Euro-chic atmosphere catering to English-speakers, stop in to La Luna! You won't walk away unsatisfied.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious meal in a fabulous setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

A gem of a place with excellent food and a beautiful view. The fresh fish in the coconut lime broth was delicious!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.